AHEAD SOUTH AFRICA: SUPER EAGLES CAMP NEWS

Re: AHEAD SOUTH AFRICA: SUPER EAGLES CAMP NEWS

Obong wrote:
BigMuze wrote:Bro as much as we love football, common sense should still prevail. All these unnecessary promises of of gifts need to stop. At whose expense is the $25k per goal, is it the governors own purse? What is the plan for recouping the cash? Is it not enough they have bankrolled and hosted SE and the upcoming friendly? Abeg these ppl should grow up jor
Thank you - Sir! :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Odas, BigMuze et al,

The source of the funds is the almighty Security Fund or Security Vote. It is a non-budgetary allocation to the office of the Governor, President and Vice- President. It is reportedly 10% of the monthly allocation to the state and there is no reporting or oversight by the State House of Assembly. It is simply a do-as-you-wish sum of money to the Governor. Akwa Ibom receives the highest allocation and average about N28 Billion naira monthly(in months the oil prices rise, it could go up to N40 Billion!). Delta State is not far from that amount, so Okowa gets about N2 Billion monthly. The Governors of the other oil producing states are the envy of their counterparts which is why you see the deference within the party for the Governors of Rivers, Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Delta, Imo and even Cross River and Ondo. Thus, the Governors of those states tend to do a little more donating and sponsoring. See why Super Eagles matches have been at Uyo, Port Harcourt and Asaba? It stands to reason that they can also put up good stadia.
...there should be a sensible use for it.

ohenhen1 wrote:They can't pay 30K minimum wage. But a Governor can offer $25 K per goal to the SE.
Let’s imagine for a moment that the SuperEagles go hog wild and score 10 goals. That adds up to $250,000.

In 2015, the Delta State government has a workforce of approximately 60,000. That figure is probably slightly higher in 2018 but let’s stick with the 2015 number, for argument’s sake. With a minimum wage of 30,000N, the state government’s minimum monthly salary expenditure would stand at $5,000,000.

Let’s not compare apples to oranges :!:

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:They can't pay 30K minimum wage. But a Governor can offer $25 K per goal to the SE.
Let’s imagine for a moment that the SuperEagles go hog wild and score 10 goals. That adds up to $250,000.

In 2015, the Delta State government has a workforce of approximately 60,000. That figure is probably slightly higher in 2018 but let’s stick with the 2015 number, for argument’s sake. With a minimum wage of 30,000N, the state government’s minimum monthly salary expenditure would stand at $5,000,000.

You may be right.

But let the Delta state government allow an independent auditor to look at the books. Lets see where they can cut waste and where they can raise more revenue.

...such a crucial upcoming match yet the build-up news is so quiet by CE standard. abi I dey miss something :???: :???:

Not really a crucial match. 1 point in the next 2 games will be good enough.

ohenhen1 wrote:Not really a crucial match. 1 point in the next 2 games will be good enough.
...ok o! na so na so, and na siddon dey look :bored: :sleep: :sleep:

Ahh so Onyekuru dey camp sef.

metalalloy wrote:Ahh so Onyekuru dey camp sef.
Yep, seems IG embedding is not working anymore on CE, I would have posted bunch of images, all the boys are there and having fun in Asaba even the customary hazing singing routine the likes of Osimhen, Afelokhai, Samuel Chukwueze had to go through it, very funny stuff. BTW, Chuckuweze don dey wear Mikel's no. 10 and Osimhen no. 9, these small boys no dey fear person :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Please share, thanks.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

And all the while I thought I was doing something wrong....

Thanks for getting this thread back on track. Hopefully, CE admin folks will fix the problem so folks can share accordingly. :thumb:

Make una no mind the technology ..please just gist us wetin dey happen for the camp if you dont mind.

Thanks in advance

The problem is not the apple and oranges.. It is the simplistic analysis done to make the gesture look inconsequential. The problem here is the mindset behind the gesture... The mindset that says you can simply dip your hands into state coffers. You will be amazed how much is wasted by the time it is all summed up. There is a reason states are struggling to pay salaries... This is one of the reasons. These things when not checked, they add up.

Just a few years back (2015) these two were running circles around fellow U17s in Chile... 8-)

Picture courtesy of Owngoal.com

just imagine if na local coach we get; if Rohr no dey charge them for still no go even smell camp

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Gotti wrote:Just a few years back (2015) these two were running circles around fellow U17s in Chile... 8-)

Picture courtesy of Owngoal.com
why is that guy with mop on his head wearing the number 10 jersey? pure disrespect

We have too many wide players

Rohr should pick the best on current form, no sentiments. Chukwueze should start, he is a nice combo of messi and robben, The SE will be dominating African football for mad years. :thumbs:

Abeg just STFU his a good talent but his definitely not starter material ahead of musa, Kalu or even success. This is how you guys were claiming onyekuru as the best thing since slice bread

The problem is not the apple and oranges.. It is the simplistic analysis done to make the gesture look inconsequential. The problem here is the mindset behind the gesture... The mindset that says you can simply dip your hands into state coffers. You will be amazed how much is wasted by the time it is all summed up. There is a reason states are struggling to pay salaries... This is one of the reasons. These things when not checked, they add up.
Yes indeed, states are struggling to pay salaries but it isn’t because Okowa promised the SuperEagles a cash reward. First of all, the assumption that the reward will come from state coffers is rather premature. Governors do have a personal allocation with which they can do whatever they please. Secondly, it isn’t that big a secret that the vast majority of states are not viable economic entities and that’s just the plain truth :!:

john12 wrote:Abeg just STFU his a good talent but his definitely not starter material ahead of musa, Kalu or even success. This is how you guys were claiming onyekuru as the best thing since slice bread
John12, just take it easy.
Sometimes your passion for Musa gets the better of you.
If Samu scores 2 goals on his debut, u nor go happy?
Na wa

john12 wrote:Abeg just STFU his a good talent but his definitely not starter material ahead of musa, Kalu or even success. This is how you guys were claiming onyekuru as the best thing since slice bread
You couldn't think straight when all you were interested in was a mud fight.