Page 2 of 3

Re: Eberechi Eze: the young playmaker with the X factor at Q

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:00 am
by oloye
heavyd wrote:Spot on Damunk
However we need to factor in the pressure these guys are under, not only from the English FA authorities but from their clubs as well. Ever since missing out on Victor Moses and more recently Wifred Zaha, England are now much more aware of talented young kids who have more than England as an option and actively court them and encourage them not to make any quick decisions. See the furore over WestHam's Decland Rice (who i do not think is anything special at all) as a case in point.

Naija need to be a bit more proactive in approaching these guys Specifically Ejaria, Eze and Lookman. They are already good enough to play for Nigeria in my opinion. Eze is a bright prospect who is already dominating regularly in a tough league like the Championship. as much as i like Ejaria I think Eze might be a better prospect!

@Oloye Obafemi was rushed into the team because Ireland are Cr@P sorry to say. The boy doesnt play regularly for Southampton so he is definitely not ready.
My broda no need to be sorry, me sef I am sorry for myself for calling that team my team. They are an embarrassment. Even the fans are fed up with the rubbish. All of a sudden England is capping all the Irish prospects or promising them caps... The result the Irish pool of talents has dried up. So they are ready to cap anything....

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 6:58 am
by Damunk
However we need to factor in the pressure these guys are under, not only from the English FA authorities but from their clubs as well. Ever since missing out on Victor Moses and more recently Wifred Zaha, England are now much more aware of talented young kids who have more than England as an option and actively court them and encourage them not to make any quick decisions. See the furore over WestHam's Decland Rice (who i do not think is anything special at all) as a case in point.

Naija need to be a bit more proactive in approaching these guys Specifically Ejaria, Eze and Lookman. They are already good enough to play for Nigeria in my opinion. Eze is a bright prospect who is already dominating regularly in a tough league like the Championship. as much as i like Ejaria I think Eze might be a better prospect!

@Oloye Obafemi was rushed into the team because Ireland are Cr@P sorry to say. The boy doesnt play regularly for Southampton so he is definitely not ready.
My broda no need to be sorry, me sef I am sorry for myself for calling that team my team. They are an embarrassment. Even the fans are fed up with the rubbish. All of a sudden England is capping all the Irish prospects or promising them caps... The result the Irish pool of talents has dried up. So they are ready to cap anything....
Oloye, from the little you've seen of Eze, what's your view?

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:19 am
by oloye

Like I said Damunk, he has potentials, but experience has since shown that no matter how huge a potential might be at this stage of his career one needs to wait until he is able to push it through the final barrier and do it at senior level. A couple of years ago we were singing Nwakali brothers today they are struggling to break it. Can't believe what Nigerians are now saying about Nacho, we have been waiting for Seyi and Ejaria to transform those massive potentials into the real deal.. And a certain Ibe or Aibe is nowhere to be found.

Unril I see him play for Crystal place as a senior team member I ain't gonna subscribe to the hype that he is SE material. Note the emphasis on SE.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:11 am
by Damunk

Like I said Damunk, he has potentials, but experience has since shown that no matter how huge a potential might be at this stage of his career one needs to wait until he is able to push it through the final barrier and do it at senior level..
I agree. But in all fairness, The Championship is 'senior' level though not necessarily 'elite' level. Many say it is a far more grueling league than even The Premiership and has little time for 'luxury players' which Eze is seen by many to be. But your point is taken.
Being just 20 years old, I believe he is holding his own well against seasoned profesionals.

A couple of years ago we were singing Nwakali brothers today they are struggling to break it.
True, but many of us, including you, warned against getting overly excited about the future of youth players shining amongst their peers. The adult game is a huge step up, but peeps like Ayo Akinfe remain totally oblivious to that fact.
Can't believe what Nigerians are now saying about Nacho, we have been waiting for Seyi and Ejaria to transform those massive potentials into the real deal.. And a certain Ibe or Aibe is nowhere to be found.
Kpom. Hopefully they have their own individual trajectories and will come of age in their own time.
Unril I see him play for Crystal place as a senior team member I ain't gonna subscribe to the hype that he is SE material. Note the emphasis on SE
Fair enough, but I would grab him now and try him out.
England is going to be on this guy's case in no time.
I can't handle another Alaba situation - and this could become one.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:18 am
by oloye
I will have to keep an eye on QPR, they have been struggling for some time so I stopped watching them.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:50 am
Not another lower level English based Niaja player touted by UK CEs....nah real wah.hmmmm Something is fishy

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 11:12 am
by Zelex
One thing I will say is the NFF can't be criticized much in this regard. They have done reasonably well. Playing for the Super Eagles is not a playing ground. We are also constantly fighting to qualify for World Cups and AFCONs so we need to select the very best. We don't have space in the squad to be selecting 5 players based on "potential". Possibly 1 or 2 in my opinion.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 12:33 pm
by ohenhen1
He is okay. But I don't get the hype.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:45 pm
by heavyd
ohenhen1 wrote:He is okay. But I don't get the hype.
Guys lets not kid ourselves. The reality is if Eze was a homegrown Naija player you all will be raving about him... that is a fact. Samuel Chukwueze is in his first season of senior football and there is this much noise about him. Eberechi has played over 50 senior level games already and for me he is just as good a prospect as Samuel, probably even a little better.

the only reason there is this apathy about Eze is because if he is invited he may be seen as taking the spot of a homegrown player. For me if the FA can get him they should actively pursue it. he is a real talent.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 4:24 pm
by Obong
The young Eagles - Kalu, Chukwueze, Osimhen, prospect Eze- all need to use the u23 and the Olympics to blood themselves and step up big time to the Super Eagles. A few of them still need to be more experienced before being established at International level.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 4:44 pm
by niyi
heavyd wrote:
Guys lets not kid ourselves. The reality is if Eze was a homegrown Naija player you all will be raving about him... that is a fact. Samuel Chukwueze is in his first season of senior football and there is this much noise about him. Eberechi has played over 50 senior level games already and for me he is just as good a prospect as Samuel, probably even a little better.

the only reason there is this apathy about Eze is because if he is invited he may be seen as taking the spot of a homegrown player. For me if the FA can get him they should actively pursue it. he is a real talent.
Chukwueze plays for Villarreal in the Spanish League and the Europa League. I want Ebere invited though because I think Iwobi needs competition in the CAM role

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 4:52 pm
by Damunk
Obong wrote:The young Eagles - Kalu, Chukwueze, Osimhen, prospect Eze- all need to use the u23 and the Olympics to blood themselves and step up big time to the Super Eagles. A few of them still need to be more experienced before being established at International level.
It might just be me but I tend to feel the Olympic Soccer has dropped in quality in the last few games.
I'm not sure it still attracts the same level of interest from the top players around the world.
I might be wrong though.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 4:52 pm
by heavyd
niyi wrote:
heavyd wrote:

Chukwueze plays for Villarreal in the Spanish League and the Europa League. I want Ebere invited though because I think Iwobi needs competition in the CAM role
Yes he does and he is a good player but Eze has performed and produced this season in a very tough league. He wont be in QPR for long definitely. Hopefully he can help QPR with their promotion bid this season then we will see how he performs in the EPL.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 7:15 pm
by ohenhen1
heavyd wrote:

He is a good player, but you would expect to see an Okocha type player going by the level of hype he is getting on CE. Iwobi is better. Nwakili is better in my opinion.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 7:19 pm
by green4life
heavyd wrote:

Actually, the apathy from folks like me is he isn’t our boy and likely will go the way of Lookman once they show him small love. No need to sweat over a bird in the bush when we have one or two in our hand already. Therefore I can’t be bothered to buy into hype of an England player.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:25 pm
by Damunk
heavyd wrote:

Actually, the apathy from folks like me is he isn’t our boy and likely will go the way of Lookman once they show him small love. No need to sweat over a bird in the bush when we have one or two in our hand already. Therefore I can’t be bothered to buy into hype of an England player.
But if he comes sha, you go happi?
Thats all we need to know.
The boy is good.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:26 pm
by Damunk
heavyd wrote:

He is a good player, but you would expect to see an Okocha type player going by the level of hype he is getting on CE. Iwobi is better. Nwakili is better in my opinion.
Then explain what is holding him back please.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:30 pm
by ohenhen1
heavyd wrote:

He is 20, trying to break into the Porto first team. On the books of Arsenal.

He is not playing for QPR in the 2nd division.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:34 pm
by The YeyeMan
heavyd wrote:

If you're good enough you're old enough.

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:37 pm
by Damunk
Damunk wrote:Then explain what is holding him back please.

So why isnt he featuring regularly in the Porto B team?
Too good for them?

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:55 pm
by ohenhen1
heavyd wrote:

Didier Drogba was a late bloomer. What need to do is encourage him.

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:30 pm
by heavyd
heavyd wrote:

Didier Drogba was a late bloomer. What need to do is encourage him.
Ok - we will encourage him to bloom but in the meantime we have to win football matches.

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:39 pm
by ohenhen1
You also develop him. What happened to the U23 team?

Nigeria leaders don't believe in human development. That is why we are the worst country in the human development index.

You can't have a Harvest if you don't do the hard work of cultivating the land and planting the crops.

Nigeria officials just want to have a harvest.