AKPEYI TO START AGAINST SOUTH AFRICA!

The exclamation point in the title is deliberate. Other than Buhari vs Atiku, I doubt if there is any other current polarizing Nigerian debate with almost equal haters and supporters (albeit, reluctant).
Re: AKPEYI TO START AGAINST SOUTH AFRICA!

Obong wrote:The exclamation point in the title is deliberate. Other than Buhari vs Atiku, I doubt if there is any other current polarizing Nigerian debate with almost equal haters and supporters (albeit, reluctant).

TBH, Obong I do not think this decision is a major surprise. I leaned in that direction in my write up here:

https://eaglecity.blogspot.com/2018/11/ ... erias.html

However, Akpeyi better come with his A game because if not, he will be roasted by Nigerian fans who have been on his case for a long while. Notably, he is yet to have a clean sheet in any of his games for Nigeria. I think, however, that fans have really never given the guy his due. He is much better than what the fans lead you to believe.

BTW, I read the piece where Rohr is reportedly unsure on whether to use Iheanacho or Success alongside Musa up front. Here, it seems that Rohr's reluctance to let go with his previous choices is about to get the better of him. He has started Iheanacho there previously but IMHO Success will be the better choice for tomorrow's game because his game complements Musa's game much better. One will provide pace and the other an important physicality upfront. In any case with both Musa and Iwobi up front, there will be passes and chances cutting through South Africa's defense. Bet on it.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

guys expect basket performance, this guy was in goal in leg 1

No Problem:

We go score more than them.

4-0, 3-0, 3-1 or 4-1 to the Eagles. No hiding place for Bafana

Need to start giving some of the other young bright GK prospects a look in.

Oh hell no, not this junk Akpeyi again? Hypertension football? Thunder fire Rohr
asabatex

Post by asabatex »

:shock: Please, Dear Lord.....help us. :(

Akpeyi starting means Pinnick has done a deal with SA :idea: :!:

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:Akpeyi starting means Pinnick has done a deal with SA :idea: :!:

Why not the German coach?

9jaMan wrote:Oh hell no, not this junk Akpeyi again? Hypertension football? Thunder fire Rohr
Mmm? :shock: :shock: Na wa-o! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

asabatex wrote::shock: Please, Dear Lord.....help us. :(
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Bros relax, it might be the best. Besides, it seems it's the best option for us for now.

Or it could be that Akpeyi is the better keeper in camp amongst the 3 options available.
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:Akpeyi starting means Pinnick has done a deal with SA :idea: :!:

I am holding my head in my hands...

:scared:

asabatex wrote::shock: Please, Dear Lord.....help us. :(
Igugu

Post by Igugu »

Bigpokey24 wrote:guys expect basket performance, this guy was in goal in leg 1

Akpenyi has no spring in his feet. Short as he is and over weight, he needs to lose weight and paractise springing on his feet; or strength diving.
But Nigerians don't know how to improve on themselves.
What a shame.

Nigeria's no.1 goalkeeper is back!!!!

:thumbs: :thumbs:

A t what time is this game?
I want tell my pickin where I was when this went down. :thumbs:
Last edited by Kabalega on Sat Nov 17, 2018 10:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Igugu wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:guys expect basket performance, this guy was in goal in leg 1

Akpenyi has no spring in his feet. Short as he is and over weight, he needs to lose weight and paractise springing on his feet; or strength diving.
But Nigerians don't know how to improve on themselves.
What a shame.
Ezenwa is the short keeper, not Akpeyi who is significantly taller.

1naija wrote:Nigeria's no.1 goalkeeper is back!!!!

:thumbs: :thumbs:
Yes. Don't know where he is receiving so much negativity.

He is better than Uzoho. Fact

This Rohr sef with his love for tall keepers and choosing players because they are based in the host country. Since I no dey camp, I'll give him the benefit of the doubt. Akpereyi on the other hand has been handed a huge chance to Ighalo-ize his haters. If he fails once again, then Hmmm

Just heard from Owngoal Rohr has changed his mind it's now Enzenwa in goal.

Maybe Rohr didn't change his mind. Owngoal is BS.

ohenhen1 wrote:Maybe Rohr didn't change his mind. Owngoal is BS.
Ohenhen1

I do not believe Rohr changed his mind nor do I believe that Owngoal is BS.

You have to understand how Owngoal comes up with its likely lineup. It is based on how the team lineups at its final training session which often indicates match day setup. What probably happened is that Akpeyi possibly played with the first team in the final training but Rohr chose to stick with his goalkeeping hierarchy for match day OFFICIAL LINEUP.
Last edited by Enugu II on Sat Nov 17, 2018 1:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
ogiso

Post by ogiso »

Report proves incorrect. Ezenwa is preferred in goal.