Onyango, Africa's No. 1 Goalie has yet to concede....

Uganda Cranes skipper Onyango drops retirement bombshell

1 hour ago
by David Isabirye

Denis Onyango plans to retire from the Uganda Cranes after AFCON 2019 finals in Cameroon

Every journey has a humble beginning and an ending.

In light of the Uganda Cranes skipper Dennis Onyango, his industrious career at the helm of the national team as first choice goalkeeper could seem read red.

Moments after inspiring Uganda Cranes to the AFCON 2019 tournament, Onyango told the media that he contemplates retirement after the Cameroon tourney.

“I think this is my last Africa Cup of Nations qualifier in front of the home fans. Even if I leave, I am confident that there are good replacements who will do the job.
Dennis Onyango, first choice goalkeeper and captain, Uganda Cranes

The Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper has not conceded any goal in this campaign so far with clean sheets in five matches. :shock: :shock:
FUFA President Moses Magogo emotionally breaks down with joy in Captain Denis Onyango’s hands after realizing progression to AFCON 2019 | © JOHN BATANUDDE

I am happy for the win and delivering what we promised. I am also happy that we have kept a clean sheet in all the five games. It wasn’t me alone but the whole goalkeeping department and the rest of the team
Onyango

Onyango’s journey:

Back in the late 1990’s, Onyango had a humble journey with one of Uganda’s oldest football clubs – Nsambya FC.

He moved to Sports Club Villa in 2003, then coached by Serbian Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic.

He played at Ethiopia’s most successful club St George SC in 2005 and moved to South Africa premier side Super Sport United the following year.

He crossed to Mpumalanga Black Aces after two seasons at Super Sport and then Mamelodi Sundowns, his current pay masters.
Jamal Salim Magoola, Denis Onyango and Charles Luwkago in Uganda Cranes new goalkeepers jersey. He hailed the other goalkeepers he played with

In 2016, Onyango was named the best CAF African Player of the Year – Based in Africa.

That year, he had guided Uganda Cranes to the 2017 African Cup of Nations after 39 years of absence, won the PSL crown with Mamelodi Sundowns, the CAF Champions league and featured at the FIFA Club World cup championship.

The same year he was named among the top 10 goalkeepers in the world by the International Federation of Football History and Statistics.

Source
Re: Onyango, Africa's No. 1 Goalie has yet to concede....

BTW, in case you missed it, that is Onyango carrying 3 players on his back in my avatar. :thumbs:

He is "32" but is retiring next year. Ok o.

Kabalega wrote:BTW, in case you missed it, that is Onyango carrying 3 players on his back in my avatar. :thumbs:
Which one of the 3 is his 1st wife?

Ekorian wrote:
Kabalega wrote:BTW, in case you missed it, that is Onyango carrying 3 players on his back in my avatar. :thumbs:
Which one of the 3 is his 1st wife?
You know most people are straight?
Not everyone is like you! :taunt: :taunt:

bret- hart wrote:He is "32" but is retiring next year. Ok o.
Retiring from national duty. We have many good goalies so no biggie.

is that your national team locker room with unsafe electrical wire hanging down

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Lol at Africa's no 1. Idi Amin abeg thank you for the laugh...

Kabalega wrote:

Dude Keepers play for club and country well into their 30s. Face it Oyongo aint 32. More like 42.

jette1 wrote:is that your national team locker room with unsafe electrical wire hanging down
You've lived in the US for too long.
Those are high hanging wires attached to nothing. So they are not a danger at all.

bret- hart wrote:
Kabalega wrote:

Dude Keepers play for club and country well into their 30s. Face it Oyongo aint 32. More like 42.
Uganda has young quality keepers in waiting in line.
Onyango is taking one for the country!

Goalkeeper retiring at the age of 32? :shock: I guess I have now seen it all...Haba smh

Robbynice wrote:Goalkeeper retiring at the age of 32? :shock: I guess I have now seen it all...Haba smh
He's retiring from international duty. Still number one at his club.

He started his career in the 90s

nemi2002 wrote:He started his career in the 90s
As a teenager. Some of us were not yet born.

Kabalega wrote:
The maths doesn't add up.

Even if he started in 2000, 2000 to 2018 is 18 years. 32 minus 18 is 14. Did he start at 12 since you said he started in the 90s?

nemi2002 wrote:
Kabalega wrote:

Even if he started in 2000, 2000 to 2018 is 18 years. 32 minus 18 is 14. Did he start at 12 since you said he started in the 90s?
It is possible that he was in his early teens. Onyango has always been big for his age. I was slated to play against 9ja's finest, Yekini when I was barely 16. So anything can happen. Players are picked on merit, not age.
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Kabalega wrote:
nemi2002 wrote:
Kabalega wrote:

It is possible that he was in his early teens. Onyango has always been big for his age. I was slated to play against 9ja's finest, Yekini when I was barely 16. So anything can happen. Players are picked on merit, not age.
That means he started at 14..? :???: :???:
Wonders shall never end...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

Is "Onyango" Ugandan for "camel"? :sneaky: :twisted:

Who is this Onyango? Is he as good as Dele Ajiboye? What are his achievements?

bret- hart wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Certainly running away before he is exposed

I don't blame him for thinking about retirement after the basket of goals the bobo go chop for ANC.

jette1 wrote:is that your national team locker room with unsafe electrical wire hanging down
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: see the kind question bobo ask , kai CE