LET US TALK ABOUT IHEANACHO

I think it is time we must discuss Nachos relevancy to this team at the current moment.

I cannot believe we are actually discussing this because just over a year ago this guy was on fire scoring at the highest goals per game rate we have seen in decades. Yet we must discuss because Nachos game has regressed so bad.

His first touch is poor. This has been evident for those who watch Leicester, and today it was evident as Musa picked him out with a lovely pass in which he should have controlled and finished yet his poor touch let him down. Much has also been made of his one footedness and also he does not have the greatest pace or work ethic. His best attribute is finishing and he is perhaps the best finisher we have, (Musa would have something to say about that) but other than finishing and his football IQ which is certainly above average for SE, I see little he brings to the table.

With the emergence of Oshimen, Success, Chukwueze, Kalu, Onyekuru, and the reinvention of Musa and Ighalo, I honestly see no place for Nacho in a 23 man squad. I just don't see it. He cannot play the wings, he cannot play as a top striker, and he has failed woefully as an AM.

There are just so many better options at the moment especially if we want to play quick and aggressive ball with players who put in a work shift.

Then add in the likes of Ojo, Lookman, Bazee, I honestly see no space for Iheanacho.

He needs to improve his game. Watching his uselessness on the pitch for 70 minutes today was an absolute disgrace.
Re: LET US TALK ABOUT IHEANACHO

vancity eagle wrote:I think it is time we must discuss Nachos relevancy to this team at the current moment.

I cannot believe we are actually discussing this because just over a year ago this guy was on fire scoring at the highest goals per game rate we have seen in decades. Yet we must discuss because Nachos game has regressed so bad.

His first touch is poor. This has been evident for those who watch Leicester, and today it was evident as Musa picked him out with a lovely pass in which he should have controlled and finished yet his poor touch let him down. Much has also been made of his one footedness and also he does not have the greatest pace or work ethic. His best attribute is finishing and he is perhaps the best finisher we have, (Musa would have something to say about that) but other than finishing and his football IQ which is certainly above average for SE, I see little he brings to the table.

With the emergence of Oshimen, Success, Chukwueze, Kalu, Onyekuru, and the reinvention of Musa and Ighalo, I honestly see no place for Nacho in a 23 man squad. I just don't see it. He cannot play the wings, he cannot play as a top striker, and he has failed woefully as an AM.

There are just so many better options at the moment especially if we want to play quick and aggressive ball with players who put in a work shift.

Then add in the likes of Ojo, Lookman, Bazee, I honestly see no space for Iheanacho.

He needs to improve his game. Watching his uselessness on the pitch for 70 minutes today was an absolute disgrace.

I must have missed it; Rohr drafted you into the technical team or his advisory board.
You failed woefully on Musa now its onto Nacho.
All aside I think Rohr needs no more questioning on why he stuck with these band of players. He sees something you don't see. I would agree Nacho is his old self. I think it is an impulsive drive rather than a technical default. Still fresh in mind was that intercept in opening minutes of that encounter against the aggies in Russia; how he indecisively fumbled and wasted crucial seconds until he got bossed off the ball. He has gotten too fat for his frame perhaps without equal muscle tone. He is yet to become fully professional and realize that his body is his stuck in trade. He is seeing too much money too soon & hasn't quite got the discipline to go with it.
Last edited by jette1 on Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:38 am, edited 3 times in total.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

There was lots of hype surrounding the game.. The 9JA players went in with the mindset of avenging the home loss. Nacho simply got too excited and was already anticipating a shot that he failed to control the ball. Some call it inexperience...y'all need to cut him some slack. If you've ever played the game as a striker you'll understand what happened there...

Nacho is not a complete player...yet and there's no telling if he ever will but this your jagbajantis is over the top. Abeg chill...besides who told you Lookman wants to play for Nigeria? Thought his people said he was holding out for the people way no dey baff.

vancity eagle wrote:I think it is time we must discuss Nachos relevancy to this team at the current moment.

I must have missed it; Rohr drafted you into the technical team or his advisory board.
All aside I think Rohr needs no more questioning on why he stuck with these band of players.
great grand uncle jette ..Not questioning player selection is what led that your Seattle 9ja team to a winless season in spite spotting the cleanest looking jerseys.. :taunt:

How long are you going to keep harassing us with daft threads like this? It's been 10yrs bro! Pls stop.

Iheanacho is the most over-hyped Nigerian footballer since Pius Ikedia.

Benedict Iroha wrote:Iheanacho is the most over-hyped Nigerian footballer since Pius Ikedia.
Wouldn’t say overhyped just hasn’t improved on his obvious shortcomings. Objective folks mentioned these issues when he was hot scoring goals for Man City and got told to put a lid on it. His poor touch and lack of strength holding onto the ball are his main weaknesses. He’s improved a little but not nearly enough. His obvious lack of confidence at the moment makes his shortcomings even more obvious.

Benedict Iroha wrote:Iheanacho is the most over-hyped Nigerian footballer since Pius Ikedia.
Wouldn’t say overhyped just hasn’t improved on his obvious shortcomings. Objective folks mentioned these issues when he was hot scoring goals for Man City and got told to put a lid on it. His poor touch and lack of strength holding onto the ball are his main weaknesses. He’s improved a little but not nearly enough. His obvious lack of confidence at the moment makes his shortcomings even more obvious.
Lack of stamina is making all these things more obvious now that he's starting games versus when he was playing a couple of minutes off the bench at city

No one would say anything about his game if the goal he had wasn't wrongfully disallowed. His key pass led to that goal. I thoyhe had a decent first half. He needs to work on his first touch and work rate though.

100%Naija wrote:If you've ever played the game as a striker you'll understand what happened there...
:D :D I just hope you are not trying to tell us that you played the game as a striker?

YemiBrazil wrote:
100%Naija wrote:If you've ever played the game as a striker you'll understand what happened there...
:D :D I just hope you are not trying to tell us that you played the game as a striker?

YemiJubrin! You're on faya!

Polly

Post by Polly »

Nacho remains relevant in the first 25, but certainly not in the starting 11. VE is absolutely correct in starting this thread; I was going to do it. The truth is that he has regressed in the past year, and in the next, runs the risk of falling outside that first 25.
Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

YemiBrazil wrote:
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942

YemiBrazil wrote:
YemiJubrin! You're on faya!
:lol: :lol: Sai Jubrin!

I watched the replay of the game on super sports last night and lheanacho actually had a far better game than I thought initially.

If it weren't for poor officiating he would have had a goal from the fantastic splitting pass he made to Musa which Musa passed back to him and he scored in the first disallowed goal.

He hustled hard and could not be "kwaked" off the ball, which was clearly one of South Africa strategies. The commentator nailed it when he his positioning was strategic. He was played in a withdrawn position to provide some support in the midfield, which he did superbly. The only real mistake he made was not being able to controll that pass from Musa that would have given him a clear one on one situation with the SA goalie.

The person I think needs to be talked to by Rohr is Iwobi. He is excellent when he makes one touch passes, but often in that game he tried to dribble when a simple pass would have sufficed and each time he lost the ball like Okocha. Okocha must be kept far away from Iwobi or he won't make it as a serious playmaker.

Where Nigeria still has major issues is the defence, especially in the 3 man formation used yesterday. But even with all the errors, we scored 3 clear goals in a game South Africa could not afford to lose at home.

1naija wrote:I watched the replay of the game on super sports last night and lheanacho actually had a far better game than I thought initially.

If it weren't for poor officiating he would have had a goal from the fantastic splitting pass he made to Musa which Musa passed back to him and he scored in the first disallowed goal.

He hustled hard and could not be "kwaked" off the ball, which was clearly one of South Africa strategies. The commentator nailed it when he his positioning was strategic. He was played in a withdrawn position to provide some support in the midfield, which he did superbly. The only real mistake he made was not being able to controll that pass from Musa that would have given him a clear one on one situation with the SA goalie.

The person I think needs to be talked to by Rohr is Iwobi. He is excellent when he makes one touch passes, but often in that game he tried to dribble when a simple pass would have sufficed and each time he lost the ball like Okocha. Okocha must be kept far away from Iwobi or he won't make it as a serious playmaker.

Where Nigeria still has major issues is the defence, especially in the 3 man formation used yesterday. But even with all the errors, we scored 3 clear goals in a game South Africa could not afford to lose at home.
:agree: :agree: :agree:
soma

Post by soma »

I agree with Kelechi being overhyped but Ikesia if not
For injuries wasn’t overhyped. He was a baller

3. Thomas Sankara
4. Patrice Lumumba
5. Robert Mugabe
6. Murmar "the Lion" Ghaddafi....

Iheanacho is still a young player, and he scored a legit goal against SA that was disallowed by the ref.

Nacho has regressed,and if he doesn't start pulling up his weight, he will lose his position or possibly be dropped from the squad.

Drogba was a late bloomer.

Salah couldn't make it at Roma and Chelsea before he went to Liverpool.

iheanacho is young.

What he needs is encouragement. I think he needs to go to a club where is playing 90 minutes every game. A loan move to France or Holland could be a good move for him.

ohenhen1 wrote:Drogba was a late bloomer.

Salah couldn't make it at Roma and Chelsea before he went to Liverpool.

iheanacho is young.

What he needs is encouragement. I think he needs to go to a club where is playing 90 minutes every game. A loan move to France or Holland could be a good move for him.
Moving to another club to do what? Nacho needs to improve on his ability to control the ball.

All aside I think Rohr needs no more questioning on why he stuck with these band of players. He sees something you don't see. I would agree Nacho is his old self. I think it is an impulsive drive rather than a technical default. Still fresh in mind was that intercept in opening minutes of that encounter against the aggies in Russia; how he indecisively fumbled and wasted crucial seconds until he got bossed off the ball. He has gotten too fat for his frame perhaps without equal muscle tone. He is yet to become fully professional and realize that his body is his stuck in trade. He is seeing too much money too soon & hasn't quite got the discipline to go with it.
Please stop this "Rohr sees something we don't see" Those who watch Leicester City in the premiership every week have seen enough to come to a fair and logical conclusion on his abilities in regards to his first touch. Your other assertions are at best speculative. Nacho has grown has grown physically. After watching him countless times, His first touch makes him look like he never learned the basics properly. It is surprising as players either spend time learning it or have the natural gift of first touch. Nacho is a head scratch case. Some here say this is the reason Man City offloaded him.

YemiBrazil wrote:
lol that one na your toro. But if you get doubt bring ball make we play. I challenge you take one post..

Yeye woman wrapper :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: