AFCON 2019: CAF strips Cameroon

Tunisian Gooner
Re: AFCON 2019: CAF strips Cameroon

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

mcal wrote:...2019 is around the corner and Africa does not have caf host country, and some are suggesting we bid for world cup :sad:
They do. It's morocco, everyone knows it's Morocco. CAF simply had to go through formality of final evaluation.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

What took them so long?CAF should have done this 6 months ago!

so funny Morocco and Cameroon are even in the same group :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Did any of the Congo countries qualify with Ebola doing the rounds again? We know how Morocco feels about Ebola.
Morocco just can't catch a break

must morocco host everything and every time in a confederation of over 54 nations

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jette1 wrote:must morocco host everything and every time in a confederation of over 54 nations
When was the last time Morocco hosted AFCON?
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

jette1 wrote:must morocco host everything and every time in a confederation of over 54 nations
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

Tunisian Gooner wrote:
Thanks. I was hoping jette will answer my question? :D
bepanda

Post by bepanda »

Only people who don't know Cameroon are surprised.
After 50 years in the most powerful positions, Biya has turned Cameroon into a massive S*&^ hole.
Biya has probably spent twice as many days living abroad than in Cameroon. What does that tell you about a country, when the President doesn't even live there?

Here is a typical example:
The Cup of Cameroon (similar to the FA Cup), which is held every year (December) has never had a fixed date known in advance. Because Biya is the one to decides on the date and he does so ... 2 days before.
It happens every year. Nobody knows the data of anything until Biya decides.
Biya believes the whole world functions like that. And his supporters always try to justify it.
He recently "won re-election" of the presidency with 70+ % of the votes. Of course everyone knows that it is a lie. But, what can people do? NOTHING.

bepanda wrote:Only people who don't know Cameroon are surprised.
After 50 years in the most powerful positions, Biya has turned Cameroon into a massive S*&^ hole.
Biya has probably spent twice as many days living abroad than in Cameroon. What does that tell you about a country, when the President doesn't even live there?

Here is a typical example:
The Cup of Cameroon (similar to the FA Cup), which is held every year (December) has never had a fixed date known in advance. Because Biya is the one to decides on the date and he does so ... 2 days before.
It happens every year. Nobody knows the data of anything until Biya decides.
Biya believes the whole world functions like that. And his supporters always try to justify it.
He recently "won re-election" of the presidency with 70+ % of the votes. Of course everyone knows that it is a lie. But, what can people do? NOTHING.
People can always do something. If they are not ready to die then they are not ready to live.

But in August the chairman of Caf's Nations Cup Organising Committee, Amaju Pinnick, said "nobody is going to take it away from Cameroon".
:blink: :blink:
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/46407474

Kabalega wrote:
But in August the chairman of Caf's Nations Cup Organising Committee, Amaju Pinnick, said "nobody is going to take it away from Cameroon".
:blink: :blink:
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/46407474
Nobody didn't take it away from Camelruin. It was CAF :D

Least surprising news. I posted this photo two months ago.

http://lionsdelatlas.ma/28069-can-2019- ... e-a-garoua

The country has bigger concerns.

Initially, I felt CAF was intent on taking the rights from Cameroon as revenge for CAF decisions on hosting rights of some countries in East and Southern Africa. However, I really have no problems with this decision given the crisis that is ongoing in the country. Let's now see if Cameroon will react by withdrawing its team from the AFCON 2019. Hope they do not pull that trigger.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
icee

Post by icee »

I think this is partly a cameroon issue and also partly symptom of a bigger issue - i.e CAF and how the cup of nations has been restructured via the primary lens of politics and a secondary lens of revenue.
The nations cup did need restructuring and review to strengthen its brand. If you compare the 1994 edition to the 2017 edition across key areas you'll notice an overall decline (quality, pitch, brand). there is one exception - winning prize has increased but then again, when you account for inflation , it really hasn't increased and one will argue that in inflation adjusted terms, winning prize is flat or has decreased compared to 20 years ago. I think may agree that the 24 team idea is just awful!. I would have expected CAF to hold this tournament every 4 years or even 3 years , negotiate an even better sponsorship with Total, and pay out more to the winners AND also more to the footballing nations needing development (as this is the reason for a 24 person tourney)

pajimoh wrote:Bloody plantainians. Can't even grow grass talk less of infrastructure. Who next?
Just the real truth. No hotels, no roads, no reliable internet for journalists, no credible stadiums, on top of all of that insecurity all over.

Why not move it to Europe or US?
Africa is a big joke .....

I suggest US - we can use the college stadiums :tic::
  • Group A: New York (Ghana, ...)
    Group B: Philly (Egypt....)
    Group C: Chicago (Morocco...)
    Group D: New Jersey (Tunisia ....)
    Group E: Houston (Naija,.....)
    Group F: LA(Cameroon ....)
or Europe
  • Group A: Hamburg ( .... ...)
    Group B: Brussels (Egypt....)
    Group C: Madrid (Morocco...
    Group D: Marseille (Tunisia, Algeria, Mali, Guinea ....)
    Group E: London (Naija, Ghana, Zimbabwe, Uganda)
    Group F: Paris (Cameroon, Senegal, Madagascar, Togo)

pajimoh wrote:Did any of the Congo countries qualify with Ebola doing the rounds again? We know how Morocco feels about Ebola.
Morocco just can't catch a break
Ebola is in confined to east DRC, very far from Congo B.

Great job CAF. Now is time for them to address their domestic issues.
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

Rawlings wrote:Why not move it to Europe or US?

or Europe
Must you be an ID10T all your life? Can't you just take a week off? msshhhheewwww :curse:

or Europe
Must you be an ID10T all your life? Can't you just take a week off? msshhhheewwww :curse:
what is idiotic about my suggestion?
We Africans are not able to even organize the most simple sports event that we so dearly love
No wonder a low IQ #$%@^&* like Trump calls our countries sh*tholes.
He probably has a point.

or Europe
what is idiotic about my suggestion?
We Africans are not able to even organize the most simple sports event that we so dearly love
No wonder a low IQ #$%@^&* like Trump calls our countries sh*tholes.
He probably has a point.
Naija man pretending to be Ghanaian :rotf:

Enugu II wrote:Initially, I felt CAF was intent on taking the rights from Cameroon as revenge for CAF decisions on hosting rights of some countries in East and Southern Africa. However, I really have no problems with this decision given the crisis that is ongoing in the country. Let's now see if Cameroon will react by withdrawing its team from the AFCON 2019. Hope they do not pull that trigger.
It is why I believe they waited till now. They gave Cameroon every chance. It is the right call.