Green Eagles vs Kenya 1985.. Shofoluwe playing at right back

eyan
Re: Green Eagles vs Kenya 1985.. Shofoluwe playing at right

Post by eyan »

FATHER TIKO wrote:
truetalk wrote:
FATHER TIKO wrote:
truetalk wrote:
FATHER TIKO wrote:
nanijoe wrote:Looks almost as if they are playing in slow motion
:rotf: No let Gotti and co catch you o, they will talk your head off about how all these 70's and 80's players who couldn't make a WC and only won one ANC with home advantage are better than the ones that followed.
Don't worry...20yrs from today, some wide-eyed kids shall refer to grainy video clips and tell you JJ Okocha & Kanu were rubbish...

BTW, have you watched Pele's films..or Maradona's videos...compared to, say, the high-octane clips of Kylian Mbappe...?
Pele & Maradona were crap, compared to Mbappe, abi..?
But Kanu was rubbish for the Super Eagles. He had a great junior career that culminated with the Olympic gold though.

JayJay was really good, especially in the latter stages of his career for the SE. He exploded onto the scene vs Algeria (I was in the Stadium live) and despite sometimes having more fun than purpose in the early days, he almost always showed his class and was the 'main man' in the team between 2000 and 2005.
Nothing wey person no go hear for here...

So...according to you...Kanu (by any conceivable measure) na rubbish player..?
:???: :???:
Na wa for you o...
No. He was excellent for Ajax, Good for Inter, and sometimes exceptional for Arsenal.

He had a great Junior career (especially U-17 & U-23) for Nigeria.

He was rubbish for the Super Eagles.

He may have played over 20 tournament games as a forward (Nations Cup & World Cups) without scoring a goal as a forward, and he wasn't having the impact of say an Amokachi that was bossing games and not scoring.
My bro, where did this myth about Kanu being rubbish for SEagles originate from..?

Off the top of my head, without needing to jog my memory, I can give you several crucial games where Kanu was exceptional for the SEagles:
AFCON 2000 Opening Game v Tunisia: Deadlocked at 1-1...Tunisia growing steadily into the game...Kanu 'assisted' 2 second half goals for Ikpeba...those assists were vintage Kanu (laid on a plate for the scorer, virtually unmissable) FT score: 4-2

2002 WCQ penultimate game v Sudan at Omdurman: Kanu was a stand-out performer as support striker to the Yak & Aghahowa...assisted 2 goals in a 0-4 away win, that gave Nigeria the WCup ticket...

2004 AFCON QFinals v Cameroun: who can forget the stupendous 30m pass from deep that eliminated 5 Cameroun defenders and carved open the path to the winning goal for Utaka..?

These are just the few I can instantly recall...there are certainly more...

I no understand the myth about Kanu non-performance for SEagles...He may not have 'bossed' every game & scored tons of goals as he did for the junior teams, but he was still a star performer for SEagles, abeg...
He's right. Kanu was more than rubbish for SE. Olympic is under -23. My memory of Kanu at 3 WC was losing 1-1 with keeper against Denmark, and ordinary Her on taking him out in 2002. ANC 2004 or so I think, after the normal penalty shoot out and still a stale mate, every team member was taking the penalty until we had yusuf ayila, obinna nwaneri and Kanu left. The whole stadium was clamouring Kanu but he was scared to death that he wanted the scared Yusuf or Obinna to take the shoot out before him....he didn't show up as a senior player. Only thing he did well is the pass to Utaka the attacker against Cameroon. There's a reason Kanu doesn't have any YouTube video from 5 ACNs and 3 WCs because he was useless in those competition.
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

eyan wrote: He's right. Kanu was more than rubbish for SE. Olympic is under -23.
Na wa for una o...
This Kanu myth with the SEagles is another of those falsehoods that have been circulated so widely that it has assumed some semblance of truth...
It is patently inaccurate because it targets Kanu's few failings, while reducing Kanu's many contributions...
Oya...
My memory of Kanu at 3 WC was losing 1-1 with keeper against Denmark
You conveniently forget Kanu was out of football for close to 2yrs preceding the 1998WCup...
Blame Kanu's inclusion in the SEagles WCup squad on Coach Bora & some misplaced romanticism by some influential NFA big-wigs...
Kanu was far short of tournament fitness (he'd just completed rehab in US and hadn't played any serious football even though he was registered for Inter Milan)...
This is the player you're criticising for not rounding Schmeichel in a crucial WCup game...
ANC 2004 or so I think, after the normal penalty shoot out and still a stale mate, every team member was taking the penalty until we had yusuf ayila, obinna nwaneri and Kanu left. The whole stadium was clamouring Kanu but he was scared to death that he wanted the scared Yusuf or Obinna to take the shoot out before him....he didn't show up as a senior player.
You're referring to AFCON2006 SF v Tunisia...
Kanu abdicated responsibility as senior player because he had an unconvincing record with penalties...(no shame in that; at least he was honest)...history is replete with elite strikers who abdicated taking penalties (Van Basten, Suarez, Fernando Torres, Higuain...)
Its harsh to criticise Kanu for being reluctant in stepping up to the penalty spot...the crowd might have had their reasons, but the team ought to have recognised there were more competent dead-ball takers...Right from his Enyimba days, Obinna Nwaneri was a penalty specialist...God knows why Coach Eguavoen didn't sort his penalty shoot-out roster and avoided that Kanu drama...
BTW Kanu still scored from his penalty in that shoot-out...
Only thing he did well is the pass to Utaka the attacker against Cameroon. There's a reason Kanu doesn't have any YouTube video from 5 ACNs and 3 WCs because he was useless in those competition.
Agreed, Kanu had modest record at AFCONs, hence the scarcity of Youtube highlights...but performances for SEagles didn't begin & end with AFCONs, abi?

Again its harsh to criticise Kanu at 2002WCup...Kanu got injured in the opening game v Argentina...In any case, no SEagles player lit up the 2002WCup, given the events that preceded that tournament (Taribo West summed up that WCup squad as "junk players")
At 2010WCup, Kanu was in the twilight of his career, as part-playing captain(much like Keshi at 1994WCup)...

There are many examples where Kanu impacted SEagles games...you only have to keep your mind open...

Abeg, make una stop this myth...na proper fabu...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly
eyan

Post by eyan »

FATHER TIKO wrote:
eyan wrote: He's right. Kanu was more than rubbish for SE. Olympic is under -23.
Na wa for una o...
This Kanu myth with the SEagles is another of those falsehoods that have been circulated so widely that it has assumed some semblance of truth...
It is patently inaccurate because it targets Kanu's few failings, while reducing Kanu's many contributions...
Oya...
My memory of Kanu at 3 WC was losing 1-1 with keeper against Denmark
You conveniently forget Kanu was out of football for close to 2yrs preceding the 1998WCup...
Blame Kanu's inclusion in the SEagles WCup squad on Coach Bora & some misplaced romanticism by some influential NFA big-wigs...
Kanu was far short of tournament fitness (he'd just completed rehab in US and hadn't played any serious football even though he was registered for Inter Milan)...
This is the player you're criticising for not rounding Schmeichel in a crucial WCup game...
ANC 2004 or so I think, after the normal penalty shoot out and still a stale mate, every team member was taking the penalty until we had yusuf ayila, obinna nwaneri and Kanu left. The whole stadium was clamouring Kanu but he was scared to death that he wanted the scared Yusuf or Obinna to take the shoot out before him....he didn't show up as a senior player.
You're referring to AFCON2006 SF v Tunisia...
Kanu abdicated responsibility as senior player because he had an unconvincing record with penalties...(no shame in that; at least he was honest)...history is replete with elite strikers who abdicated taking penalties (Van Basten, Suarez, Fernando Torres, Higuain...)
Its harsh to criticise Kanu for being reluctant in stepping up to the penalty spot...the crowd might have had their reasons, but the team ought to have recognised there were more competent dead-ball takers...Right from his Enyimba days, Obinna Nwaneri was a penalty specialist...God knows why Coach Eguavoen didn't sort his penalty shoot-out roster and avoided that Kanu drama...
BTW Kanu still scored from his penalty in that shoot-out...
Only thing he did well is the pass to Utaka the attacker against Cameroon. There's a reason Kanu doesn't have any YouTube video from 5 ACNs and 3 WCs because he was useless in those competition.
Agreed, Kanu had modest record at AFCONs, hence the scarcity of Youtube highlights...but performances for SEagles didn't begin & end with AFCONs, abi?

Again its harsh to criticise Kanu at 2002WCup...Kanu got injured in the opening game v Argentina...In any case, no SEagles player lit up the 2002WCup, given the events that preceded that tournament (Taribo West summed up that WCup squad as "junk players")
At 2010WCup, Kanu was in the twilight of his career, as part-playing captain(much like Keshi at 1994WCup)...

There are many examples where Kanu impacted SEagles games...you only have to keep your mind open...

Abeg, make una stop this myth...na proper fabu...
The penalty was first to lose cos all the 5s from each team scored, it might be joe enarkhire (sp?) and not Obinna, can't rememeber. However, there 3 of them left to take their penalty. The 3 were obviously scared, but as a senior among them you step up. But he refused while ref was waiting for the next naija player. I see excuses everywhere. After 5 ACNs and 3WCs, the only thing you remember is the pass to Utaka and nothing else. He flopped as a super eagles player. We can agree to disagree.
Last edited by eyan on Fri Dec 07, 2018 6:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Can we at least agree that Kanu achieved more at the club level than with the SE?