The Greatest African player of all time is...

Tough one. I am temped to say JJ Okocha but where are the accolades?
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"
Chimurenga Rebel
Re: The Greatest African player of all time is...

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

Bamenda you are looking for trouble. :biggrin:
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

Djemba Djemba, was so good they named him twice. :sneaky:

Every time the commentators say "Djemba, Djemba", naija fans reply "how many times did he call you" :tic: :taunt:

AN1

Roger Miller!

Jay Jay Okocha a close second.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu
Alategun

Post by Alategun »

George Weah

For me personally it’s DROGBA or Eto’o. Okocha didn’t achieve enough to be considered a Goat and Weah despite winning wpoy in 1995 statistics wasn’t the best

Nkume wrote:Roger Miller!

Jay Jay Okocha a close second.

:shock:

Roger Miller
Weah Opong
Thomas Nkono

George Weah
Didier Drogba

john12 wrote:For me personally it’s DROGBA or Eto’o. Okocha didn’t achieve enough to be considered a Goat and Weah despite winning wpoy in 1995 statistics wasn’t the best
Someone won the WPOY and you are still talking of statistics not being enough.... Are you sure you know the meaning of statistics?

Uncle oloye yes he won the Wpoy but overall boss I feel that drogba and Eto’o was more consistent at the top and their longevity supersede George Weah at the top. The likes of drogba and Eto’o would had won Wpoy based on their 2007 to 12 stats if they were playing in 1995. I mean Weah never scored more than 20 league goals in that 1995 season sef or even win any champions league that year

Uncle oloye his statistics wasn’t better than Eto’o or Drogba and you cannot just make him The Goat because of 1 WPOY you have to consider his overall performance club/country to make a judgement

john12 wrote:Uncle oloye yes he won the Wpoy but overall boss I feel that drogba and Eto’o was more consistent at the top and their longevity supersede George Weah at the top. The likes of drogba and Eto’o would had won Wpoy based on their 2007 to 12 stats if they were playing in 1995. I mean Weah never scored more than 20 league goals in that 1995 season sef or even win any champions league that year
God forgive him,Drogba is not in Africa top 5 and you compare longevity to Weah?Do you know when this giy start play proffessional football before Boss Wenger sign him?

How is it Drogba, someone humor me.

I’m talking about longevity at the top. Drogba performed for country and club. He is IVC top scorer of all time. 4 epl, champions league, FA Cup and he was one of Chelsea best at all these tournaments. Weah never won a cup, never won an ANC, never qualified his country for ANC, you can’t keep using the same 1995/1996 Wpoy as only a yardstick. If you don’t include drogba at your top 5 then who will you include

john12 wrote:I’m talking about longevity at the top. Drogba performed for country and club. He is IVC top scorer of all time. 4 epl, champions league, FA Cup and he was one of Chelsea best at all these tournaments. Weah never won a cup, never won an ANC, never qualified his country for ANC, you can’t keep using the same 1995/1996 Wpoy as only a yardstick. If you don’t include drogba at your top 5 then who will you include
Weah took his country to two ANCs..Drogba played with his county's most talented generation but ZERO TITULI. In fact the first tournament post his international career, they won...makes you think who was holding them back.
skillful

Post by skillful »

jules Bocande Papa Camara and Yekini
"I first saw David Rocastle play in 1983 for the youth team. I remember coming home excitedly from the match and telling my family, "I've just watched the nearest thing to a Brazilian footballer you are ever likely to see - and he comes from Lewisham." - David Dein on Rocky Rocastle
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

Moderators please delete thread.
This has reared its ugly head again

john12 wrote:Uncle oloye yes he won the Wpoy but overall boss I feel that drogba and Eto’o was more consistent at the top and their longevity supersede George Weah at the top. The likes of drogba and Eto’o would had won Wpoy based on their 2007 to 12 stats if they were playing in 1995. I mean Weah never scored more than 20 league goals in that 1995 season sef or even win any champions league that year
My friend when someone wins the WPOY all arguments about who is the greatest African player stops right there. The rest is sound bytes.

Alategun wrote:George Weah
Case closed. :clap: :clap:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
bepanda

Post by bepanda »

Michael Essien, Francois Omam Biyick, Riyah Mahrez, Mo Salah

bepanda wrote:Michael Essien, Francois Omam Biyick, Riyah Mahrez, Mo Salah

:shock: