Chelsea vs Manchester city 2-0 (N’Golo, DL) FT

Re: Chelsea vs Manchester city 2-0 (N’Golo, DL) FT

Re: Chelsea vs Manchester city 1-0 (N’Golo) 2H

txj wrote:@ G4L

Too much respect for City in England
Yep but with good reason now. They’ve been dominating all comers so far. Let’s not develop amnesia suddenly because Chelsea won today. Klopp pretty much played them the same way too - at Anefield.

bepanda wrote:Unai Emery i sonly 7 points behind the leaders. I think Arsenal has a shot at this EPL title thing.
Let's go Gunners.
Same odds as ManU making top 5. :taunt:

bepanda wrote:Unai Emery i sonly 7 points behind the leaders. I think Arsenal has a shot at this EPL title thing.
Let's go Gunners.
Same odds as ManU making top 5. :taunt:
Assanal spammers sure likes to be counted..smh

Let's go Gunners.

you are funny. Did you see how serious players balled in this game, while Arsenal is parading junks like Xhaka?

Re: Chelsea vs Manchester city 1-0 (N’Golo) 2H

txj wrote:@ G4L

Too much respect for City in England
Yep but with good reason now. They’ve been dominating all comers so far. Let’s not develop amnesia suddenly because Chelsea won today. Klopp pretty much played them the same way too - at Anefield.
They are not worth that stratospheric level of respect, and I don't say that simply cus of this result. They are not that level of good.

And at Anfield, Pep admitted he slowed the game down and played cautiously to avoid the LFC counterpress...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

They were warned.

Let's go Gunners.
Sssshhh, they won't see it coming.
spastic

Post by spastic »

City lost today. Guess I have to show my face here before some dolt starts claiming I only show up when we win :(
spastic

Post by spastic »

Good game for Chelsea. Didn't deserve the lead, but deserved the win.

spastic wrote:Good game for Chelsea. Didn't deserve the lead, but deserved the win.
Fortune favors the brave. You deserve what you work for. Good game by both teams. The key to get a result from this sort of game is to score first. That said, one injury too many may have caught up with City today.

spastic wrote:City lost today. Guess I have to show my face here before some dolt starts claiming I only show up when we win :(
:mrgreen:

Sore loser. :D

spastic wrote:City lost today. Guess I have to show my face here before some dolt starts claiming I only show up when we win :(

where were you when you are in the lower division

spastic wrote:Good game for Chelsea. Didn't deserve the lead, but deserved the win.
Fortune favors the brave. You deserve what you work for. Good game by both teams. The key to get a result from this sort of game is to score first. That said, one injury too many may have caught up with City today.
I think the key to this kind of game is a psychological one and that basically brings us back to Txj's point about too much respect.
That's what Chelsea were doing in the first half. When you have too much respect for a team, you forget your own strengths and even lose them - which makes your opponent even stronger and the vicious circle continues.
Fortunately, Chelsea broke that circle, probably undeservedly, but they built on it and the rest is now history. :thumb:

I think the key to this kind of game is a psychological one and that basically brings us back to Txj's point about too much respect.
That's what Chelsea were doing in the first half. When you have too much respect for a team, you forget your own strengths and even lose them - which makes your opponent even stronger and the vicious cycle continues.
Fortunately, Chelsea broke that cycle, probably undeservedly, but they built on it and the rest is now history. :thumb:
Chelsea reverted to their default mode for big games. I am happy to see that they can still defend when it matters most. It has served them very well over the last 10+ seasons so old habits will creep up when up against it. Liverpool played pretty much the same way at Anefield and were lucky to escape with a goalless draw. I don’t know what ‘too much respect’ means when facing this City team. What you need is a pragmatic approach that ensures to get a result. Also, events don’t occur in a vacuum. This Chelsea team hasn’t been playing well the last 4 or 5 games and were far from their highest level of confidence. They just lost 1-2 to wolves playing without giving them much respect and you expect them to play the same way against City and expect to win? Really? :lol:

A good manager will device a plan to allow his team steadily grow into the game. Therefore Sarri has the right approach and it paid off.

That's what Chelsea were doing in the first half. When you have too much respect for a team, you forget your own strengths and even lose them - which makes your opponent even stronger and the vicious cycle continues.
Fortunately, Chelsea broke that cycle, probably undeservedly, but they built on it and the rest is now history. :thumb:
Chelsea reverted to their default mode for big games. I am happy to see that they can still defend when it matters most. It has served them very well over the last 10+ seasons so old habits will creep up when up against it. Liverpool played pretty much the same way at Anefield and were lucky to escape with a goalless draw. I don’t know what ‘too much respect’ means when facing this City team. What you need is a pragmatic approach that ensures to get a result. Also, events don’t occur in a vacuum. This Chelsea team hasn’t been playing well the last 4 or 5 games and were far from their highest level of confidence. They just lost 1-2 to wolves playing without giving them much respect and you expect them to play the same way against City and expect to win? Really? :lol:

A good manager will device a plan to allow his team steadily grow into the game. Therefore Sarri has the right approach and it paid off.
Sarri just said he ask his players to watch City Lyon both games and the Liverpool game.Lyon play this city off the park

Chelsea reverted to their default mode for big games. I am happy to see that they can still defend when it matters most. It has served them very well over the last 10+ seasons so old habits will creep up when up against it. Liverpool played pretty much the same way at Anefield and were lucky to escape with a goalless draw. I don’t know what ‘too much respect’ means when facing this City team.
Simple.
It means you believe you will be second best to every ball because they are better.
It means you lack conviction in trying to beat your man because they are better.
It means you lose faith in even your own ability because things just aren't working out the way you are used to.
Its a tiny margin of performance that is lost both individually and collectively but it makes a huge, huge difference to overall team performance.
If however you've got the technical tools as Chelsea clearly have, then they can do damage with a little bit of self-belief.

What you need is a pragmatic approach that ensures to get a result. Also, events don’t occur in a vacuum. This Chelsea team hasn’t been playing well the last 4 or 5 games and were far from their highest level of confidence.
This doesn't take away from anything I've said about the mind game. Nonetheless, a pragmatic approach doesn't ensure anything if you get it wrong. Maybe it was their idea of pragmatism that got them dominated by Man City almost all of the first half

They just lost 1-2 to wolves playing without giving them much respect and you expect them to play the same way against City and expect to win? Really? :lol:
Who said that? Strawman. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I'm sure you didn't really believe I was saying that.
If anything, your argument further underlines what I'm saying about self-belief and the lack of it.
Agreed, but I'm pretty sure in addition he told them basically "you are better than this."
They obviously needed reminding. :idea:

Sarri just said he ask his players to watch City Lyon both games and the Liverpool game.Lyon play this city off the park
I didn't watch the City-Lyon games but I suspect Lyon were not overwhelmed by the Man City reputation because they don't play in the same league. Man City haven't acquired the world-wide reputation that Barca and Real have and benefit from, so its down to '11 vs 11" as we say in Naija. :)

I noticed that the European teams, even those of a lesser quality than their EPL counterparts, play much better against Man City. I believe this is partly because they are free from any 'over-respect' the EPL teams have for Man City and as a consequence suffer from.

Chelsea reverted to their default mode for big games. I am happy to see that they can still defend when it matters most. It has served them very well over the last 10+ seasons so old habits will creep up when up against it. Liverpool played pretty much the same way at Anefield and were lucky to escape with a goalless draw. I don’t know what ‘too much respect’ means when facing this City team.
Simple.
It means you believe you will be second best to every ball because they are better.
It means you lack conviction in trying to beat your man because they are better.
It means you lose faith in even your own ability because things just aren't working out the way you are used to.
Its a tiny margin of performance that is lost both individually and collectively but it makes a huge, huge difference to overall team performance.
If however you've got the technical tools as Chelsea clearly have, then they can do damage with a little bit of self-belief.

What you need is a pragmatic approach that ensures to get a result. Also, events don’t occur in a vacuum. This Chelsea team hasn’t been playing well the last 4 or 5 games and were far from their highest level of confidence.
This doesn't take away from anything I've said about the mind game. Nonetheless, a pragmatic approach doesn't ensure anything if you get it wrong. Maybe it was their idea of pragmatism that got them dominated by Man City almost all of the first half

They just lost 1-2 to wolves playing without giving them much respect and you expect them to play the same way against City and expect to win? Really? :lol:
Who said that? Strawman. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I'm sure you didn't really believe I was saying that.
If anything, your argument further underlines what I'm saying about self-belief and the lack of it.
Agreed, but I'm pretty sure in addition he told them basically "you are better than this."
They obviously needed reminding. :idea:
All this rebuttal in a game Chelsea won 2-0, handing City their first loss in forever, and with Kepa hardly having to make any proper save. That’s why I don’t get your point. :lol: