Chuba Akpom declares for Nigeria - Curious case...

In a recent Owngoal Report, Chuba Akpom declared his allegiance to the Super Eagles and has made himself available for selection for the AFCON 2019 Nigerian squad.

Yes, many have claimed he was an Arsenal kid protege while at Arsenal (he did show flashes of brilliance) severally. He also has been capped dozens of times for various England youth teams. However, he never was able to make the cut at the 'big club' level, unlike Iwobi who was able to. He was loaned out by Arsenal 6 times and now he is with PAOK Thessaloniki, on a permanent deal.

I honestly struggle to see what value proposition he will bring to the SE at this time, considering he is yet to be fully settled at PAOK (scoring 2 goals in 12 appearances). He is 6.0 ft tall and has the bulk to withstand the African game and most of all is quite pacy and a highly intelligent player. However, I am stumped on this one...

Thoughts?

Goal Interview

Re: Chuba Akpom declares for Nigeria - Curious case...

Me too. I declare for Nigeria :laugh:
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

Otitokoro wrote:In a recent Owngoal Report, Chuba Akpom declared his allegiance to the Super Eagles and has made himself available for selection for the AFCON 2019 Nigerian squad.

Yes, many have claimed he was an Arsenal kid protege while at Arsenal (he did show flashes of brilliance) severally. He also has been capped dozens of times for various England youth teams. However, he never was able to make the cut at the 'big club' level, unlike Iwobi who was able to. He was loaned out by Arsenal 6 times and now he is with PAOK Thessaloniki, on a permanent deal.

I honestly struggle to see what value proposition he will bring to the SE at this time, considering he is yet to be fully settled at PAOK (scoring 2 goals in 12 appearances). He is 6.0 ft tall and has the bulk to withstand the African game and most of all is quite pacy and a highly intelligent player. However, I am stumped on this one...

Thoughts?

Goal Interview

Each time POAK is shown to play he is on the bench & usually does not get to play. Yesterday same thing; you get tired of waiting for him to be called to play.

Otitokoro wrote:In a recent Owngoal Report, Chuba Akpom declared his allegiance to the Super Eagles and has made himself available for selection for the AFCON 2019 Nigerian squad.

Thoughts?

Goal Interview

Unlike the popular and cynical view that there are those who want any "hey you!' playing in England or abroad to walk into the SE, it is obvious that the benchmark for quality of eligible Super Eagles players is rising by the day.
Akpom cannot compete at the level currently being displayed by the Kanus, Chukwuezes, Iwobis. Isaacs and Osimhiens.
Even Kelechi, Simon Moses, Onyekuru, Bonaventure are having to justify their positions and sadly for Akpom, he probably won't even get a look in.
He is probably close to his peak already while younger guns like Eze, Ejaria and Ojo are on the rise.

Our defence is easier to 'penetrate'nowadays by newbies than our midfield and strike force.
But he could try and displace Ighalo which tbh is easier said than done.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Me too. I declare for Nigeria :laugh:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Yeah, we all have it

Chuba should be given a chance. He has the talent to succeed.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

But the question remains: why should he be given a look in, when there are 'bigger fish' out there that present a greater value proposition to be looked at? What value is there for Nigeria to invest in him, at the expense of other, more productive talent out there, who are chopping at the bit to get an SE call up and are producing at their clubs?
The fact is that he has repeatedly failed to establish himself, even at lowly Greek league team PAOK Thessaloniki (only 2 out of 12 games this season).
Nkume wrote:Chuba should be given a chance. He has the talent to succeed.
Last edited by Otitokoro on Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

And this talent that failed to see him play for his club is to be horned in the national team.... Pleassee my ogenne maestro,it does not work that way. Let him go and get himself a good club career we will invite him based on his performance not because he made himself available

GBAM!!!!

Much welcome to play provided he can show his qualities in the Olympic team

:roll: i should get a chance too .smh

Just make yourself available and you will be fine for selection

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Me too. I declare for Nigeria :laugh:
WE NOR WANT! :mad:

Just make yourself available and you will be fine for selection
oh come on bros..we don't need another cloggy piece of isht in the stadium latrine na! :mad:

Thank you Dean :clap: :clap: :clap: ......................Nkume is a certied mugu :D in all things, this is a fellow that twice gave Rochas a 'chance' to loot his state's treasury.
Nkume = an unrepentant mugu. :lol: :lol: :lol:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Finish.

Kpom!! :clap: :clap: :clap:

Finish.
My bros...I don't think the boy is silly enough to think that he will stroll into the NT, there's nothing wrong in declaring himself "available" now the ball is in his court to prove that he is good enough.
Last edited by airwolex on Sat Dec 15, 2018 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Thank you Dean :clap: :clap: :clap: ......................Nkume is a certied mugu :D in all things, this is a fellow that twice gave Rochas a 'chance' to loot his state's treasury.
Nkume = an unrepentant mugu. :lol: :lol: :lol:
this Zee sef :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

I still remember him doing Yanga when he was first courted by Pinnick. Men see how time changes

...given a chance by who? His club or Nigeria? :?

highbury wrote:I still remember him doing Yanga when he was first courted by Pinnick. Men see how time changes
.. That says a lot about Pinnick judgement.

airwolex wrote:
Finish.
My bros...I don't think the boy is silly enough to think that he will stroll into the NT, there's nothing wrong in declaring himself "available" now the ball is in his court to prove that he is good enough.
Well to start with Wolex, if you read carefully you will notice that the post was not directed at Chuba. Secondly the post is not saying he should not be given a look. The post was an answer to Nkume's chant to give the boy a chance... Give him a chance on the basis of what?