World cup or Uefa Champ League, which one.....

The real deal
World cup or Uefa Champ League, which one.....

Post by The real deal »

.....is more difficult to win ?
Which one would you watch if you have to pick one?
Cujus esqulum, ajus es usqui ad inferos
Re: World cup or Uefa Champ League, which one.....

The World Cup is more difficult to win. You have to gather the best starting 11 and 3-5 best subs in nation to compete in a tournament, whereas, in the Champions League you field the best starting 11 and 3-5 best subs in the Globe with best money can buy.

The real deal wrote:.....is more difficult to win ?
How about you share your POV instead of always sucking other's info while providing no value in return.
Try it in life and you will be amazed ....

The World Cup is more prestigious and difficult to win because of multiple reasons like 1) time (every 4 years) 2) summer (people are tired) 3) only few nations has ever won 1. Overall, there are lots of politics involved in winning the World Cup

You can’t compare the pressure of wining a World Cup that comes once in 4 yrs to the annual event of CL. It’s like differentiating oil and water.
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

The World cup, because you have to overcome different football styles and strengths from the different continents to win it.
To God be the glory

To win as a player or a nation/ club or just in theory?Its a question that's obviously been asked before but both are elite competitions!

You can’t compare the pressure of wining a World Cup that comes once in 4 yrs to the annual event of CL. It’s like differentiating oil and water.

Its the english speaking media again miseducating fans...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Some lousy teams have won the Champions League like Porto, Red Star Belgrade and Borussia Dortmund. How many lousy countries have won the World Cup? The World Cup is won by the top footballing countries--minnows don't wangle their way to the cup as sometimes happens in the Champs League.

The World Cup becomes serious business after the round of 16, a time when the best nations calmly brush aside the pretenders. The winning countries generally have the best defenders and defences--look at the central defence partnership of Umtiti and Varane: what Champions League team would not want to have that? The winning countries are usually capable of stopping Messi, and they stop him quite easily (same goes for Ronaldo). Champs League defences cannot.

I'd pick the World Cup anytime.

Skylolo wrote:The World cup, because you have to overcome different football styles and strengths from the different continents to win it.
I agree but the most compelling reason is that WC players are together for a very short time. They meet on average about 6 times a year unless they have major tournaments like Euros, AFCON, e.t.c where they meet for a at least 3 weeks before the tournament and also the month before the WC proper.
Not enough time to build a solid team and the footie on the green grass shows.

Teams also have limited talent pools.
But the overall the tournament is better! You can literally see country's psyche by the way they play in a WC.
For example, Croatians are warriors while Russians are tough talking pus$ies. :)

The CL is only good for a few group games, half the round of 16, the quarter finals and semis. The finals are a hit and more miss.

Messi and C Ronaldo can't win the world cup.

The Champions League is clearly the better quality of the two. You will without question see the very best players in the world on showcase. Unlike the world cup where the likes of Uchebo and other useless players from Oceania and other regions can play. The CL is basically the World cup minus minnows. I would obviously rather watch the world cup because its happens less often and it is a global spectacle. But thers is no denying the quality of football in the CL is far higher than watching Saudi Arabia v Honduras or other such matchups.
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

World Cup is more difficult to win for several reasons:

-its once every 4 years (scarcity factor)

-you have less room for error. During qualifiers, you typically play 6-12 games depending on your confederation. 1-2 untimely losses and you could be out. For example, during 2018 WC qualifiers, I think Switzerland wast 9-0-0 and then lost their last game vs Portugal and had to play in UEFA playoffs. Then when you get to the WC, you can only afford to lose 1 game (during the group stage). You only have 90-120 minutes to win each KO stage game; if you give up one goal you might be out. Now compare this to the CL. You have 38 games to qualify in your league. You have 6 group stage games which gives you more wiggle room to advance in case you slip up. In the KO stage you have up to 210 minutes to defeat each of your first three opponents; even if you lose the first leg you can still advance.

-the most important factor is that there is only so much each country can do to build a strong national team. This is why there are only 8 WC winners in history (I'd say that realistically this number could only be as high as 10; Holland deserved at least 1 WC and the Hungary team of 1954 was very strong). To build a strong NT you need a good FA to create a strong league and professional NT setup. Money will only take you so far since if you have weaknesses in certain areas (e.g. you are strong across the pitch but you're short one LB and one good CM) then you obviously can't buy upgrades. In today's game you can build a competitive CL club by spending a lot of money. Look at the likes of City and PSG who have only become competitive in the CL in recent years due to exorbitant spending, but also look at Real Madrid, Chelsea, and even Barcelona (despite the players they've developed they remain competitive due to their free spending ways).

bushboy wrote:The Champions League is clearly the better quality of the two. You will without question see the very best players in the world on showcase. Unlike the world cup where the likes of Uchebo and other useless players from Oceania and other regions can play. The CL is basically the World cup minus minnows. I would obviously rather watch the world cup because its happens less often and it is a global spectacle. But thers is no denying the quality of football in the CL is far higher than watching Saudi Arabia v Honduras or other such matchups.
Really? What do you call Porto, Lyon, Schalke and Tottenham? What are they doing in the final 16?

ohsee wrote:
bushboy wrote:The Champions League is clearly the better quality of the two. You will without question see the very best players in the world on showcase. Unlike the world cup where the likes of Uchebo and other useless players from Oceania and other regions can play. The CL is basically the World cup minus minnows. I would obviously rather watch the world cup because its happens less often and it is a global spectacle. But thers is no denying the quality of football in the CL is far higher than watching Saudi Arabia v Honduras or other such matchups.
Really? What do you call Porto, Lyon, Schalke and Tottenham? What are they doing in the final 16?
You forgot ManU

I cant believe you guys falling for the thread starter trap....
He is looking for reason to say Messi is the greatest since he never win the world cup.
He wants to used the CL to say he has won it many times so he is the greatest,Pele never win it,dam how you guys fall for his trap but thank god no one is picking Cl over world cup and he has not post since open the thread.

ohsee wrote:
My senior, dis ya comment get as e be o. The WC is still the pinnacle of football but the likes of Spurs, Lyon etc full of international players are still far better than some WC teams

ohsee wrote:
Oga! I meant minnows in terms of player quality. Or are you telling me the likes of Harry Kane, Fekir, Reus, Gotze, Erikson, Rudy, Naldo, Brahimi, Herrera and so on are not world cup standard players? You focus on the club nanes, I m talking about quality of football. Did we not see Lyon play Man City off the park? Or Dortmund trash Athletico 4-0?
At the world cup, you see many, many players from who would never in their lifetime get close to the champions league because they are NOT good enough for that level. But they are good enough for the world cup as they are the best their nation can produce. Its a no brainer the CL is the higher quality. The WC is the bigger spectacle.

kajifu wrote:I cant believe you guys falling for the thread starter trap....
He is looking for reason to say Messi is the greatest since he never win the world cup.
He wants to used the CL to say he has won it many times so he is the greatest,Pele never win it,dam how you guys fall for his trap but thank god no one is picking Cl over world cup and he has not post since open the thread.
You noticed it too?
All his threads are similar traps.
toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

ohsee wrote:
Wash out your dirty mouth with bleach :evil: :evil:
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
about going out to beat the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."
Danny Blanchflower

kajifu wrote:I cant believe you guys falling for the thread starter trap....
I thought it was just me who realized it. There's one thing about Messi fanboys I can't stand is that they're trying to do anything to convince the everybody that he's the greatest of all time even if it means belittling the prestigious World Cup. I can't wait for the 2026 World Cup when Messi is an old bench player and Argentina wins it with little input from him for them to tell us about that glorious World Cup he won.

Benedict Iroha wrote:The World Cup is more difficult to win. You have to gather the best starting 11 and 3-5 best subs in nation to compete in a tournament, whereas, in the Champions League you field the best starting 11 and 3-5 best subs in the Globe with best money can buy.
So Iranian National team can compete in EPL?

Do you know what it takes to qualify for CL? and then to maintain your status in the CL and the domestic league?

ohsee wrote:
Besides Spurs have you actually watched the rest played before?