CAF Nations League

Re: CAF Nations League

Rawlings wrote:Africa just copies without thinking

We have ANC every other year
The European championship is once 4 years and that's one reason they came up with the league
The entire group stage of this competition can take place over just 3 fifa windows.
This takes place between mid 2019 all the way to 2021. There is plenty of time, and in fact if done properly this can serve as qualifying or an initial stage of qualifying for 2021 ANC.
There will eventually be a GLOBAL nations league which will feature the top teams from all confederations. The writing is on the wall, why should we be left behind.
I dont understand why more competative matches against stronger teams, which will allow African teams to climb up the fifa rankings is a bad thing.
Really?
  • 2019 - AFCON 2019 qualification & Tournament; CHAN 2020 qualifications
    2020 - AFCON 2021 qualification, CHAN 2020 qualification & tournament, World cup 2022 qualification
    2021 - World cup 2022 qualification & AFCON 2021 qualification
when do we have time?
The nations league can be used as a CHAN qualifying process for the lower teams.

Rawlings wrote:Africa just copies without thinking

We have ANC every other year
The European championship is once 4 years and that's one reason they came up with the league
FIFA are planning a Nations League that will involve the winners of each League to compete against each other so I guess Africa where going to follow sooner or later.i

https://www.independent.co.uk/sport/foo ... 49431.html

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:It’s possible there’s a plan to stage AFCON once every 4 years. I think there’s a lot if merit to the idea. One huge benefit would be the development of Africa based players :!:

It is possible that we may switch to an ACN every 4 years. Concacaf is the only other confederation that has their competition every 2 years.

Frankly we have enough time in the calander to have a competition every 2 years along with the nations league. The nations league does not take up that much time if you have a double header every window, like Uefa just did.

How will the nations league benefit the development of Africa based players ?
There’s bound to be increased participation in international matches for home based players as a result of this new tournament. That ought to translate into some measure of improved performance by home based players.

vancity eagle wrote:Cameroon would be in league A because it is based on FIFA rank so something is off.
Cameroon is in league "A" and at the same time in league "C." Is such appearance an error or what? In what group is Cameroon; therefore?

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:It’s possible there’s a plan to stage AFCON once every 4 years. I think there’s a lot if merit to the idea. One huge benefit would be the development of Africa based players :!:

It is possible that we may switch to an ACN every 4 years. Concacaf is the only other confederation that has their competition every 2 years.

Frankly we have enough time in the calander to have a competition every 2 years along with the nations league. The nations league does not take up that much time if you have a double header every window, like Uefa just did.

There’s bound to be increased participation in international matches for home based players as a result of this new tournament. That ought to translate into some measure of improved performance by home based players.

Maybe for teams in the lower leagues. I don't see how hb players from Nigeria for instance will benefit.

...they blindly copy eufa that follows fifa window and style. Well good luck on that with your b and c teams.
jus2nang

Post by jus2nang »

Not sure what the objections here are. These games will replace friendlies with competitive matches against sides of a similar level.

Note that it looks like only 36 teams will enter, so those that cannot afford to compete won't.

Simples.
Some people are simply useless in their current role, like the guy in my avatar...

jus2nang wrote:Not sure what the objections here are. These games will replace friendlies with competitive matches against sides of a similar level.

Note that it looks like only 36 teams will enter, so those that cannot afford to compete won't.

Simples.

Sometimes people just like to complain for complaining's sake.

Maybe for teams in the lower leagues. I don't see how hb players from Nigeria for instance will benefit.
You may be right but only because we have a retarded and unprogressive football management. Under the current management, tragically, lower league players will probably be preferred to the likes of Junior Lokosa who have far greater potential :!:

We are stacked in almost every position other than goalkeeper.

No homebased players (goalkeepers aside) deserve to be anywhere near the national team. In fact we have players who are doing well in Europe like Dennis Bonaventure who cannot even get a look in.

In the nations league we will be playing stronger teams than we usually play in qualification for world cup or nations cup. So why on earth would we even think of using this tournament to call up homebased players.

abeg let them shine in the CHAN.