Mikel Quits China

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:11 pm
https://owngoalnigeria.com/2019/01/04/s ... ree-agent/

Hope El capito can give us at least 1 more Afcon. Even WC sef. :thumb:

Re: Mikel Quits China

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:16 pm
by marko
can still do a job for the likes of West ham, Watford, newcastle, mid-table premiership sides but i do agree, go to middle east and earn a fat pension!

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:34 pm
marko wrote:can still do a job for the likes of West ham, Watford, newcastle, mid-table premiership sides but i do agree, go to middle east and earn a fat pension!
Abeg go siddon on top Suya pit. Mikel should go to Spain and enjoy the beautiful game for his last years as a pro. Epl is played out.

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:46 pm
by marko
marko wrote:can still do a job for the likes of West ham, Watford, newcastle, mid-table premiership sides but i do agree, go to middle east and earn a fat pension!
Abeg go siddon on top Suya pit. Mikel should go to Spain and enjoy the beautiful game for his last years as a pro. Epl is played out.
maybe true, thanks to Mourinho, made Mikel a bonifide sideways passer, Pogba was having none of it!

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:50 pm
by achuzia-the-air-raid
marko wrote:
maybe true, thanks to Mourinho, made Mikel a bonifide sideways passer, Pogba was having none of it!

KPOM!!!

Difference in mentality.

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:54 pm
by marko
be a wise man, do not listen to what Mourinho has to say, especially if you are a skillful player, Mikel was an attacking midfield player but used as a defensive midfielder at Chelsea, Mourinho did not see him as an ideal attacking midfielder, same as he tried to change Pogba into, since Mourinho philosophy is about defence and maintaining your position

dont i wish Mikel played for united instead under Sir Alex, hmmm

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:55 pm
by oloye
Should not have gone to China of you are not planning to retire there. Oh well ego inspires

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:25 pm
by Odas
marko wrote:be a wise man, do not listen to what Mourinho has to say, especially if you are a skillful player, Mikel was an attacking midfield player but used as a defensive midfielder at Chelsea, Mourinho did not see him as an ideal attacking midfielder, same as he tried to change Pogba into, since Mourinho philosophy is about defence and maintaining your position

I have always wondered what he would have been, or become had he gone to ManU, instead of Chelsea

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:34 pm
by marko
marko wrote:be a wise man, do not listen to what Mourinho has to say, especially if you are a skillful player, Mikel was an attacking midfield player but used as a defensive midfielder at Chelsea, Mourinho did not see him as an ideal attacking midfielder, same as he tried to change Pogba into, since Mourinho philosophy is about defence and maintaining your position

I have always wondered what he would been or become had he gone to ManU, instead of Chelsea
dot really know but knowing Sir Alex, he would have made Mikel the number 10, no way Mikel will be made to defend like he did for Chelsea, well he won things at Chelsea so had a good career there anyway but i believe Sir Alex would have made Mikel a beast of a player and probably will be still in the set up

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:56 pm
by tfco
marko wrote:
and what did the other Chelsea managers do with JMO?

How many trophies did he win as a 'sideways passer'?

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:02 pm
by Its a Goal
He should return to Nigeria and help out a local football team thereby give the league a high profile.

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:18 pm
by chif456
A noble thought but how does that help his family
Its a Goal wrote:He should return to Nigeria and help out a local football team thereby give the league a high profile.

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:36 pm
Its a Goal wrote:He should return to Nigeria and help out a local football team thereby give the league a high profile.

Just like you have, abi?

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:52 pm
by maceo4
achuzia-the-air-raid wrote:
marko wrote:

KPOM!!!

Difference in mentality.
Nah, difference is Pogba has played AM at a high level before so we know he's capable and was being neutered by Mourinho, but I don't understand why we keep thinking Mikel was/is capable of playing AM at any high level, we've seen him attempt at NT level and once the quality level is upped he can't hang just like in the WC he had to be moved back to DM position and you can't blame Mourinho for that. His biggest achievements with the NT have been with him playing deeper, dude is just not an AM regardless of Mourinho...

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:53 pm
by kalani JR
How much can he raise the profile by?

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 3:02 pm
by wale1974
Where is Pokey

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 3:23 pm
by marko
marko wrote:

KPOM!!!

Difference in mentality.
Nah, difference is Pogba has played AM at a high level before so we know he's capable and was being neutered by Mourinho, but I don't understand why we keep thinking Mikel was/is capable of playing AM at any high level, we've seen him attempt at NT level and once the quality level is upped he can't hang just like in the WC he had to be moved back to DM position and you can't blame Mourinho for that. His biggest achievements with the NT have been with him playing deeper, dude is just not an AM regardless of Mourinho...
At the under 21s world cup, he played a more attacking midfield role, when he got to chelsea, Mourinho had over plans for him, tried to turn him to a box-to-box midfielder, same as he tried with Pogba, well Mikel won the champions league with Di Matteo so he had more than a decent career at Chelsea! 10 years

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 3:35 pm
by maceo4
marko wrote:

KPOM!!!

Difference in mentality.
At the under 21s world cup, he played a more attacking midfield role, when he got to chelsea, Mourinho had over plans for him, tried to turn him to a box-to-box midfielder, same as he tried with Pogba, well Mikel won the champions league with Di Matteo so he had more than a decent career at Chelsea! 10 years
U-20's is not senior level though and he didn't play AM, he played CM with Kaita more defensive in Siasia's 4-2-4. Even in the useless Chinese League he had been playing DM and Defense.

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 3:39 pm
by pajimoh
What makes you think Nigeria football wants help? Some if not most of our people will frustrate you almost to the grave trying to help them. How about his family - should he take them along or keep leaving them behind?

Let Mikel decide what he wants to do :D

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 3:43 pm
by marko
What makes you think Nigeria football wants help? Some if not most of our people will frustrate you almost to the grave trying to help them. How about his family - should he take them along or keep leaving them behind?

Let Mikel decide what he wants to do :D
you want to give those kidnappers a field day right? Nigeeia does not have the type of money the likes of Mikel will command

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:02 pm
by balo
He should come back to Chelsea and show how it's done. Jorginho needs help.

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:28 pm
Ighalo should be quitting soon too

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:48 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Mikel and VM need to go to Arsenal. he is MUCH better than Xhaka.