Page 1 of 2

Akpoguma gives SE the middle finger

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 2:39 pm
https://owngoalnigeria.com/2019/01/10/r ... a-reveals/

He would rather play 2 games for Germany than switch to Nigeria. Opar....go tell your pastor that one. :laugh:

Re: Akpoguma gives SE the middle finger

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:19 pm
by maceo4
Rohr is busy begging all these defenders who have no chance with the German team, but people are here telling us how our current defenders are world class...

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:22 pm
by airwolex
maceo4 wrote:Rohr is busy begging all these defenders who have no chance with the German team, but people are here telling us how our current defenders are world class...
If we didn't recruit the Oyinbo wall were would we be? You need to save some people from themselves. :D

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:44 pm
by fabio
You mean after the disgrace Tammy dished to a certain individual, The NFF is still begging some people to play for SE. Either Low-self esteem or no shame.

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:55 pm
by Damunk
fabio wrote:You mean after the disgrace Tammy dished to a certain individual, The NFF is still begging some people to play for SE. Either Low-self esteem or no shame.
Which one is 'begging' again?
Is it like the begging you were begging that girl to give it up last year? :oops:
I don't understand this begging you people are talking upandan the whole place.

Why should anybody beg for anything?

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:55 pm
by Damunk
fabio wrote:You mean after the disgrace Tammy dished to a certain individual, The NFF is still begging some people to play for SE. Either Low-self esteem or no shame.
Which one is 'begging' again?
Is it like the begging you were begging that girl to give it up last year? :oops:

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:02 pm
by fabio
Damunk wrote: Which one is 'begging' again?

He said, No. They went back. What is that, it's pleading? Pleading, not begging.
She no gree :tic: I carry myself waka :D no shakin' better persin don agree :thumbs:

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:07 pm
by Eaglezbeak
Can we move on?

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:11 pm
by fabio
Eaglezbeak wrote:Can we move on?
No. We must keep pleading....

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:35 pm
by airwolex
Again if people like Keshi hadn't reached out (and had yeye pride like some) to Leon Balogun and some others where would we be? Nobody is begging. This is serious business for serious people. If the guy no wan play no p, on to the next.

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:45 pm
by The YeyeMan
airwolex wrote:Again if people like Keshi hadn't reached out (and had yeye pride like some) to Leon Balogun and some others where would we be? Nobody is begging. This is serious business for serious people. If the guy no wan play no p, on to the next.
Been saying this. Nobody is begged to play.

It reveals something about the mindset of those who think begging takes place.

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:03 pm
by airwolex
airwolex wrote:Again if people like Keshi hadn't reached out (and had yeye pride like some) to Leon Balogun and some others where would we be? Nobody is begging. This is serious business for serious people. If the guy no wan play no p, on to the next.

Thank you my bro. Keshi was a SE legend. Won everything, and still called an unknown German Nigeria out of the blue and asked him to consider playing for Naija. Balogun said he was shaking when he got the call. He could have said no and that would have been that. Thank God he said yes because he is a stalwart for us.

Yet we have guys on CE who think that we should have pride (on top nothing) and wait for people to contact us. Like you say, it says a lot about some people that they think reaching out to potential players is begging and beneath Nigeria...as if we are Belgium and have Hazards and Lukaku everywhere.

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:14 pm
by Eaglezbeak
Eaglezbeak wrote:Can we move on?
No. We must keep pleading....
In that case we have no definitive arrangements or plans of what players or what our team should look like as we seem to believe that players who where brought up in more organised footballing nations with definite security and measurable progress are going to join in and serve Nigeria just because of their second names,it’s bad enough that the NFF don’t know how good their own players are until they leave the country,to live in vain is just not the way forward!

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:15 pm
by niyi

It's a bit nauseating when a player says no 5 times and qe keep trying to convince him

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:46 pm
by TonyTheTigerKiller
Under this administration, Nigerian football has stagnated and will continue to stagnate unti either the incumbents adopt a new mindset or a new set of admistrators who understand the simple truth about football development come in. The idea that recruiting, at best, average foreign born players is preferred to nurturing home grown talent is not only infantile but detrimental. Yet, that remains the cornerstone of the current administration’s policy. No matter how appealing the idea of foreign born players is, it cannot be a substitute for developing grass roots football. The primary objective should be to upgrade the environment and facilities in which our youngsters are being developed. I imagine it costs a significant amount of money to engage with these foreign interests. Some of the travel money alone would go a long way in refurbishing play grounds and providing initial instructions and support. Mind you, if a highly rated player comes along who could possibly make a big difference, I’m not averse to making the approach. In the eighties, players like John Chiedozie and Tunji Banjo actually provided significant added value to the team but we didn’t focus on going after just anyone who had a Nigerian heritage. That’s just bad policy :!:

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:47 pm
by The YeyeMan
niyi wrote:

It's a bit nauseating when a player says no 5 times and qe keep trying to convince him
Totally agree.

And I was against Ameobi playing for Nigeria after he rejected us.

I don't know how many times Rohr has spoken to Akpoguma but judging by the comments in the article Rohr should move on - it's a polite no (not a middle finger).

But like I've said, nobody is begged, places in the first team aren't guaranteed. "Please, please, please, play for us! Pleeeeeeeease! I promise to play you in every game! Please." It just doesn't happen. It's just a discussion.

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:50 pm
by The YeyeMan
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:The idea that recruiting, at best, average foreign born players is preferred to nurturing home grown talent is not only infantile but detrimental.
Is this a stated policy of the NFF - to recruit foreign-born talent ahead of nurturing home grown talent?

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:11 pm
by TonyTheTigerKiller
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:The idea that recruiting, at best, average foreign born players is preferred to nurturing home grown talent is not only infantile but detrimental.
Is this a stated policy of the NFF - to recruit foreign-born talent ahead of nurturing home grown talent?
Does it really have to be stated to be obvious? If it walks like a dog, eats like a dog and barks like a dog then it probably is a dog :!:

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:48 pm
by txj
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
Does it really have to be stated to be obvious? If it walks like a dog, eats like a dog and barks like a dog then it probably is a dog :!:

Has it ever occured to you that both could be going on simultaneously?

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:22 pm
by Eaglezbeak

So they should!

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:23 pm
by Eaglezbeak

So they should but that doesn’t mean one shouldn’t be a priority,development of the game in your own country should be paramount!

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:54 pm
by txj

So they should but that doesn’t mean one shouldn’t be a priority,development of the game in your own country should be paramount!

And it is. But you can always prove me wrong....

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:32 pm
by The YeyeMan

Thank you. And again, this is something else I've been saying for a while.