KANU NWANKWO: It’s All Gone

It's all gone - Nigeria legend Kanu

Posted: 16 January 2019 Time: 11:00

Nigeria football legend Nwankwo Kanu says he's 'suffered the saddest day of his life' after the awards he amassed over a 20-year football career were stolen from his Lagos property.

Kanu, 42, is widely regarded as one of Africas' greatest ever strikers and is one of few players to have won the Premier League, FA Cup, UEFA Champions League, UEFA Cup and an Olympic Gold Medal over an iconic career.

READ: Al Ahly smash transfer record

The former Super Eagles captain spent 19-years in Europe with AFC Ajax, Inter Milan and Arsenal, before stints with West Bromwich and Portsmouth.

And the two-time African Footballer of the Year confirmed the memoirs that remain have been cruelly taken away from him.

The Lagos property, a hotel, has been at the centre of a long-running legal dispute over an alleged default in a transaction between Polaris Bank, leading to series of litigation that is still pending at the federal high court.

Shina Philips a close friend and associate to Kanu told Premium Times that the former African footballer of the year had to cut short his trip to London after being informed about the incident.

This after it's been alleged that court orders instructed that both parties within the current dispute should stay off the property.

READ: Egyptian PL not the best in Africa - Salah

"Yes, it is true, they have even made away with his football medals, trophies, plaques and other valuable items. For someone that has served and still serving this country meritoriously, he does not deserve this kind of treatment," Philips said. "He was in tears as we drove away from the hotel,"

The former Inter Milan and Arsenal striker admitted he struggled to recognise his own property after returning to the scene of the alleged crime.

"It was a rude shock to me," Kanu, was quoted as saying by TheCable. "I almost couldn't recognise the hotel as belonging to me anymore.

"This is the saddest day of my life as I cannot understand why this happen to me when the matter has yet to be settled in court.

"All the medals I have earned, in addition to the Olympic torch that I cherished are all gone, and I don’t even know who to ask for all these prized assets."

https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&source= ... 3147529248

Re: KANU NWANKWO: It’s All Gone

This is sad.
But why has he kept his valuable personal belongings in his hotel?
I visited the hotel about 5years ago and vaguely recall seeing some iconic pictures on the reception wall but nothing remotely invaluable.
He should have decorated the place with replicas of his medals, not the real things.
I hope, somehow he gets his stuff back.

I hope he insured them...

As hard as it may be for him at the moment because of his lost medals, its important for him to know that the materials will not diminish his accomplisments because it is all there in the record books. I hope for his piece of mind, he can find his medals

The police will most likely recover them if they try to sell them.

Damunk wrote:This is sad.
I visited the hotel about 5years ago and vaguely recall seeing some iconic pictures on the reception wall but nothing remotely invaluable.
He should have decorated the place with replicas of his medals, not the real things.
Doc, the story no jive at all.

Just like demolitions and evictions, court-ordered repossession does not happen overnight.

I doubt he would have kept his invaluable medals and mementos exposed in the hotel that is not his place of primary residence.

Just like demolitions and evictions, court-ordered repossession does not happen overnight.

I doubt he would have kept his invaluable medals and mementos exposed in the hotel that is not his place of primary residence.
I got the impression they were stolen rather than repossessed.
Article is confusing.

There was no "court ordered repossession". From the article, it appears the hotel and its bank were involved in a dispute over an alleged default and the bank instructed both parties to to stay away from the property while the litigation was pending. His memorabilia was stolen then. Its a sad development, and hopefully the police can recover it if the thieves try to steal it. At least he can get a replica of his gold medal from the IOC.
The Lagos property, a hotel, has been at the centre of a long-running legal dispute over an alleged default in a transaction between Polaris Bank, leading to series of litigation that is still pending at the federal high court.

Shina Philips a close friend and associate to Kanu told Premium Times that the former African footballer of the year had to cut short his trip to London after being informed about the incident.

This after it's been alleged that court orders instructed that both parties within the current dispute should stay off the property.

Abeg uncle change the thread, i start shaking thinking he don die.

Article is confusing.
...everything in Nigeria is confusing, more reason to lay low in that contraption if you have it.
My trip last fall was an eye opener.

This Kanu stories don dey tire me. Didnt they also steal hundreds of thousands of dollars cash from him in Russia?

why Nigerians why?

1naija wrote:This Kanu stories don dey tire me. Didnt they also steal hundreds of thousands of dollars cash from him in Russia?

Most life's dominant stories/experiences are essentially transactional and recursive; our world acts on us using the script we used on it. if this never happens to JAJAY and never to Da Bull nor any of his legendary peers then kanu needs to start asking himself - why always me

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

1naija wrote:This Kanu stories don dey tire me. Didnt they also steal hundreds of thousands of dollars cash from him in Russia?

Most life's dominant stories/experiences are essentially transactional and recursive; our world acts on us using the script we used on it. if this never happens to JAJAY and never to Da Bull nor any of his legendary peers then kanu needs to start asking himself - why always me
JAJAY and Da Bull are broke

JJ cant br broke. Amokachi is a known case.

no cameras?

Did this happen while you were working at the hotel in lagos?

At least I was working ...You should try it one day.

nemi2002 wrote:
I don't mean he is as broke as you :winking:
He made some bad investments and was 4-1-9'ed, which reduced his wealth considerably

nemi2002 wrote:
He made some bad investments and was 4-1-9'ed, which reduced his wealth considerably

You said he was broke. You didnt mention anything about being defrauded.

Who doesnt make bad investments?

Liar lying always to get attention.

Smh at jetted are you implying that Kanu is experiencing karma of life due to all these misfortune starting from heart surgery? My guy, remember that sometimes in life, the bad and evil progress and progress while the innocent and good die early. Never ever think that life gives you what you deserve and always remember that life is Unfair. Don’t try to guilt shame Kanu for some of his misfortune

nemi2002 wrote:

You said he was broke. You didnt mention anything about being defrauded.
Who doesnt make bad investments?
Liar lying always to get attention.
Yes, he is broke.
A Billionaire on his last million is considered broke...
My point: All "brokes" are not equal
I simply explained to you how he lost his money

john12 wrote:Never ever think that life gives you what you deserve and always remember that life is Unfair. Don't try to guilt shame Kanu for some of his misfortune
Not necessarily karma but the repeating occurrence of essentially the same kind of issue is almost always due to the person experiencing it. Life keeps replaying the same problems over and over until you learn your lessons. As others have pointed out, there is a pattern here with Kanu. There were also problems with his property in the UK. It was left in a dilapidated state and there was talk of repossession. I don't know what happened with that case. The amount of cash he carried to Russia too makes no sense. Why carry so much cash? Debit/Credit cards from western banks work pretty much everywhere in Europe now.