Page 1 of 3

Cardiff City record signing on missing aircraft

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 11:41 am
by Coach
Doesn’t bode well.

Fears are growing that Cardiff's new Argentine striker Emiliano Sala was on board an aircraft which went missing near the Channel Islands on Monday evening

Sky Sports News understands the club were expecting their new £18m signing to travel back to Cardiff on Monday night.

In the early hours of Tuesday, emergency services reported that a small plane travelling from Nantes in France to Cardiff had gone missing near the island of Alderney.

French news agency AFP is reporting it has been informed by police sources that the 28-year-old was on board.

Cardiff chairman Mehmet Dalman told the Mirror: "We are very concerned by the latest news that a light aircraft lost contact over the Channel last night.”

"We are awaiting confirmation before we can say anything further. We are very concerned for the safety of Emiliano Sala."

Authorities say the Piper Malibu aircraft, which is believed to have had two people on board, disappeared from radar near the Casquets lighthouse at about 8:30pm on Monday.

In a statement, Guernsey Police said: "Guernsey Coastguard received an alert at 20:23 from Jersey ATC, that a light aircraft had gone off their radar approximately 15 miles north of Guernsey, initiating a major search and rescue operation involving both St Peter Port and Alderney lifeboats. Air Search 1 and 2 HM Coastguard helicopters are also involved in the search.

"The PA 46 Malibu, a single turbine engine aircraft was on route from Nantes in France, to Cardiff in Wales, with two people on board when it was lost off radar as Jersey ATC was attempting to make contact.

"A search model was created on SARIS, based on the likely ditching position, and all search and rescue assets were tasked to the area.

"The search was terminated at 02:00, with all search and rescue assets being stood down, due to strengthening winds, worsening sea conditions and reducing visibility.

"At this time no trace of the missing aircraft had been found.

"The aircraft departed Nantes at 1915 for Cardiff. The aircraft was flying at 5000 feet. The aircraft on passing Guernsey requested descent. Jersey ATC lost contact whilst it was flying at 2300 feet.

Sauce: skysports

Re: Cardiff City record signing on missing aircraft

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 11:47 am
by Coach
Tragic news, with the inevitable, worst fears, to be confirmed in due course. Thoughts go out to all those affected. Is there need for inquest into private/non-commercial aviation services?

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 1:50 pm
by balo
That is a sad development.
Just signed too.

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:12 pm
by maceo4
Wow scary stuff!

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:14 pm
by Benedict Iroha
Sad times.

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 10:40 pm
by Man Ataye
Scary. Only 2 9n plane, but looks grim. Sad indeed.

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 2:01 am
by Coach
Coach wrote:Tragic news, with the inevitable, worst fears, to be confirmed in due course. Thoughts go out to all those affected. Is there need for inquest into private/non-commercial aviation services?
News of an audio message to friends and family, whilst on board the plane, has emerged:

Sala says: “Hello, little brothers, how are you crazy people?

"Brother, I’m dead, I was here in Nantes doing things, things, things, things and things, and it never stops, it never stops, it never stops.

"I’m here on a plane that looks like it’s about to fall apart, and I’m going to Cardiff, crazy, tomorrow we already start, and in the afternoon we start training, boys, in my new team…

"Let’s see what happens, so, how are you brothers and sisters, all right?

"If in an hour and a half you have no news from me, I don’t know if they are going to send someone to look for me because they cannot find me, but you know … Dad, how scared am I!”
walseonline.co.uk

Yes, there is need for inquest, regulation moving forward and without doubt, accountability in this instance. Who, if anyone, guaranteed the air-worthiness of the plane?

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 4:09 am
by Otitokoro
Sad. Looks like its now a recovery effort, as opposed to a rescue.

The plane in question (N264DB) is a Piper PA-46-310P Malibu (310 HP Continental Piston Engine - which was known to be notoriously problematic and the root cause of many crashes in the US). This particular plane is said to be 35 yrs old. Apparently, the pilot supposedly requested to fly lower that the assigned 5000 ft (quite strange, flying this low altitude for an over-the-water flight). It could be a Weather phenomena, Mechanical problems or Spatial disorientation that caused it, but its really tough trying to speculate on the root cause.

Also, why Cardiff's $15M record signing felt compelled to fly in a piston engine plane is befuddling, especially when people signed for less fly in jets.

Coach wrote: News of an audio message to friends and family, whilst on board the plane, has emerged:

"Brother, I’m dead, I was here in Nantes doing things, things, things, things and things, and it never stops, it never stops, it never stops.

"I’m here on a plane that looks like it’s about to fall apart, and I’m going to Cardiff, crazy, tomorrow we already start, and in the afternoon we start training, boys, in my new team…

"If in an hour and a half you have no news from me, I don’t know if they are going to send someone to look for me because they cannot find me, but you know … Dad, how scared am I!”
walseonline.co.uk

Yes, there is need for inquest, regulation moving forward and without doubt, accountability in this instance. Who, if anyone, guaranteed the air-worthiness of the plane?

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 8:21 am
by Kabalega
Maybe they had no money left so they put him on a cheap flight.
Otitokoro wrote:Sad. Looks like its now a recovery effort, as opposed to a rescue.

The plane in question (N264DB) is a Piper PA-46-310P Malibu (310 HP Continental Piston Engine - which was known to be notoriously problematic and the root cause of many crashes in the US). This particular plane is said to be 35 yrs old. Apparently, the pilot supposedly requested to fly lower that the assigned 5000 ft (quite strange, flying this low altitude for an over-the-water flight). It could be a Weather phenomena, Mechanical problems or Spatial disorientation that caused it, but its really tough trying to speculate on the root cause.

Also, why Cardiff's $15M record signing felt compelled to fly in a piston engine plane is befuddling, especially when people signed for less fly in jets.

Coach wrote: News of an audio message to friends and family, whilst on board the plane, has emerged:

walseonline.co.uk

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 9:59 am
by bepanda
My body shook reading these messages.
It took the plane 4 take-off tries to get in the air. I would have gotten off that plane.
Fly a single engine at 5,000 feet? must have been shaking like madness.
Bepanda
Coach wrote:
Coach wrote:Tragic news, with the inevitable, worst fears, to be confirmed in due course. Thoughts go out to all those affected. Is there need for inquest into private/non-commercial aviation services?
News of an audio message to friends and family, whilst on board the plane, has emerged:
walseonline.co.uk

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 7:41 pm
by Siddonlook11
bepanda wrote:My body shook reading these messages.
It took the plane 4 take-off tries to get in the air. I would have gotten off that plane.
Bepanda
Coach wrote:
walseonline.co.uk

Nothing more to say - my the souls of the departed RIP, hopefully this loss is not in vain and better care is taken next time ..4 tries to take off !! Thats really really sad.

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 8:56 pm
by Bell
bepanda wrote:My body shook reading these messages.
Bepanda
Coach wrote:
walseonline.co.uk

I COULD HAVE MISSED IT, BUT...

...where did it say there were four failed attempts? BTW, all incidents like his are automatically investigated.

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 9:07 pm
RIP to the guy, it's been 3 days, no one can survive in those difficult freezing water conditions, the question is why did they use that yeye plane?

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:03 pm
by mcal
...sad that this club will invest such huge money and expose it so badly, and on a rickety aircraft.
Why not commercial passenger plane on a first class at least, many flights between France and the UK daily.
Very bad logistical choice.

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:26 pm
by Siddonlook11
I COULD HAVE MISSED IT, BUT...

...where did it say there were four failed attempts? BTW, all incidents like his are automatically investigated.
Bell[/quote]

Source..

https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer ... r-13894572

Emiliano Sala remains missing and feared dead after the plane he was travelling in disappeared over the English Channel on Monday night.

And as frightening details about the tragic flight continue to come to light, reports say the plane needed four attempts to successfully take off.

According to The Sun, the plane failed to properly leave the ground on three occasions in Nantes before eventually setting off on the flight which was taking Sala to Cardiff to link up with his new club.

The new Bluebirds signing, 28, and the pilot were travelling in a small Piper Malibu aircraft which eventually reached heights of 5,000ft before descending to 2,300ft when it vanished at 8:30pm.

It was 7:15pm when the plane took off at the fourth attempt, and in the time he was in the air before disappearing, Sala sent messages to pals expressing his fears regarding the flight.....

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:59 pm
by Bell
Siddonlook11 wrote:I COULD HAVE MISSED IT, BUT...

Source..

https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer ... r-13894572

Emiliano Sala remains missing and feared dead after the plane he was travelling in disappeared over the English Channel on Monday night.

And as frightening details about the tragic flight continue to come to light, reports say the plane needed four attempts to successfully take off.

According to The Sun, the plane failed to properly leave the ground on three occasions in Nantes before eventually setting off on the flight which was taking Sala to Cardiff to link up with his new club.

The new Bluebirds signing, 28, and the pilot were travelling in a small Piper Malibu aircraft which eventually reached heights of 5,000ft before descending to 2,300ft when it vanished at 8:30pm.

It was 7:15pm when the plane took off at the fourth attempt, and in the time he was in the air before disappearing, Sala sent messages to pals expressing his fears regarding the flight.....[/quote]

OK...

...thanks.

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2019 7:47 am
by Mr. Piffington
mcal wrote:...sad that this club will invest such huge money and expose it so badly, and on a rickety aircraft.
Why not commercial passenger plane on a first class at least, many flights between France and the UK daily.
It wasn't the club that paid for his trip, from what I understand Cardiff wanted to book him on a commercial flight but he declined and made his own arrangements. I'm hearing it was his agent that booked this plane for him.

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:02 am
by marko
life too short!

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:07 pm
by mcal
Mr. Piffington wrote:
mcal wrote:...sad that this club will invest such huge money and expose it so badly, and on a rickety aircraft.
It wasn't the club that paid for his trip, from what I understand Cardiff wanted to book him on a commercial flight but he declined and made his own arrangements. I'm hearing it was his agent that booked this plane for him.
...well that's sad. Another yeye agent, made a good deal signing him but poor decision to put him on that kind plane.
Could it be the club insisted he has to be in Cardiff at a certain time (urgent that is) so as to join the club.
According to his messages to friends, said he was "yawning and tired" and looking forward to practice.

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:22 pm
by Sir V
Mr. Piffington wrote:
...well that's sad. Another yeye agent, made a good deal signing him but poor decision to put him on that kind plane.
Could it be the club insisted he has to be in Cardiff at a certain time (urgent that is) so as to join the club.
According to his messages to friends, said he was "yawning and tired" and looking forward to practice.
Yep. And was the only plane available to take him to Cardiff at the time.

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:45 pm
by bepanda
Apparently the pilot did not have commercial license and therefore shouldn't have been allowed to fly another passenger.
In addition he was a Plumber, a DJ trying to make a leaving ... with lots of debt.

Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:56 am
by Nkume
bepanda wrote:Apparently the pilot did not have commercial license and therefore shouldn't have been allowed to fly another passenger.
In addition he was a Plumber, a DJ trying to make a leaving ... with lots of debt.

Poor guy (Sala), his life has just been wasted.

Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:23 am
by jette1
ol boi don't you think its wrong time to blame people for a such a tragic incident; the human loss here is what counts because the contract means nothing now