Wow! Rangers Goal v Enyimba Certainly Among the best......

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Wow! Rangers Goal v Enyimba Certainly Among the best....

Is there a concerted effort to try to devalue this site with all these posts about low level teams? Just asking!

1naija wrote:Is there a concerted effort to try to devalue this site with all these posts about low level teams? Just asking!
You mean the Arsenal posts? :???:
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Lovely build up play. The goal started with the goalie being able to pick out a player in the opposing half. Maybe that's why the likes of Pep and Klopp are in love with keepers that can distribute the ball.

like butter... :clap: :clap: :clap:

1naija wrote:Is there a concerted effort to try to devalue this site with all these posts about low level teams? Just asking!
:clap: :clap: :clap: or the united threads.. it is so pathetic, now the mods are merging threads of Nigerian players all into one thread,, leaving multiple epl threads.. all over the forum..They can have their forum and enjoy the epl 24/7....

Bigpokey24,

They can't have the forum. The Forum belongs to Nigerian football and not EPL. We are not leaving this place!

I have given up, They've merged all the last threads i opened, so i just went and deleted the thread for them.. many of us don complain tire, let them enjoy the forum ..Once beaten twice shy.. left to me they should call this section EPL nest

:rotf: don't take our resident ocho passenger seriously abeg.

Beautiful goal! :clap:

ukwala

Post by ukwala »

:clap: :clap: :clap: . Gbenga Ogunbote is proving to be the real deal.

That's my Rangers :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: .................That's my beloved Team. :clap: :clap: :clap:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

I hate to disappoint you by telling you the truth but lets face it - these so called Rangers are not really 'Rangers'; they don't really command the same sentiments even remotely close to Real Rangers. Yes I get it its all generational and can be transformational but you can never extrapolate history hence there 's really no reason for them to be great except trying to fit into shoes they will never fit into

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

...poor boy :sad: :sad:
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

jette1 wrote:I hate to disappoint you by telling you the truth but lets face it - these so called Rangers are not really 'Rangers'; they don't really command the same sentiments even remotely close to Real Rangers. Yes I get it its all generational and can be transformational but you can never extrapolate history hence there 's really no reason for them to be great except trying to fit into shoes they will never fit into
Sir, please pardon my slowness but I don't quite understand this. Please be so kind to explain who the Real Rangers are, and why you think there is a disconnect between the 'Real Rangers' and 'these so called Rangers'. What is the difference between Rangers and other historical clubs around the world who do not see this disconnect between the present and past.

ukwala wrote:
jette1 wrote:I hate to disappoint you by telling you the truth but lets face it - these so called Rangers are not really 'Rangers'; they don't really command the same sentiments even remotely close to Real Rangers. Yes I get it its all generational and can be transformational but you can never extrapolate history hence there 's really no reason for them to be great except trying to fit into shoes they will never fit into
Sir, please pardon my slowness but I don't quite understand this. Please be so kind to explain who the Real Rangers are, and why you think there is a disconnect between the 'Real Rangers' and 'these so called Rangers'. What is the difference between Rangers and other historical clubs around the world who do not see this disconnect between the present and past.
You asked a number of valid rational questions but here is the most glaring one; Rangers amassed the kind of followership they did for completely diffrent reasons which have been exhausted in many writings other than football even though their success in football became an added weapon. That followership was generational and could have been transformed in ways so that succeeding generations continue the followership as you find with many European teams irrespective of succeeding generational differing life philosophies & time. Funding and infusion of capital with ultra modern stadia etc ensure people have reasons to buy season tickets. You have to incentive modern followership. Don't forget people even walked for miles back in the day to get to stadium even with no guarantee they would get into the stadium. That is the kind of fanaticism Rangers of old commanded. No body is going to do that in 2019 hence you have to find creative ways to generate a different kind of fanaticism. Just look at that empty stadium and I'm sure the players after watching old Rangers stadium footages must say to themselves - are we really Rangers.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

ukwala wrote:
You asked a number of valid rational questions but here is the most glaring one; Rangers amassed the kind of followership they did for completely diffrent reasons which have been exhausted in many writings other than football even though their success in football became an added weapon. That followership was generational and could have been transformed in ways so that succeeding generations continue the followership as you find with many European teams irrespective of succeeding generational differing life philosophies & time. Funding and infusion of capital with ultra modern stadia etc ensure people have reasons to buy season tickets. You have to incentive modern followership. Don't forget people even walked for miles back in the day to get to stadium even with no guarantee they would get into the stadium. That is the kind of fanaticism Rangers of old commanded. No body is going to do that in 2019 hence you have to find creative ways to generate a different kind of fanaticism. Just look at that empty stadium and I'm sure the players after watching old Rangers stadium footages must say to themselves - are we really Rangers.
I think I get your point now. As you noted, the circumstance of Rangers birth and the cult followership by the locals was unique. Rangers represented much more than a football club; it was the heart, soul and voice of the people at the time. That situation does not exist today. The general apathy of fans to the NPFL is however a concern and yes, the NFF, LMC, and club owners should find innovative ways to stimulate interest in the league.