Africa Cup of Nations: Comoros lodge Cameroon complaint

camex

Post by camex »

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/47040434

Comoros must beat Cameroon in their final Africa Cup of Nations qualifier to reach the finals in Egypt
The Comoros Football Federation (FFC) has lodged a case at the Court of Arbitration for Sport (Cas) over Cameroon's participation at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

A post on social media from the general manager of the Comoros team, Ben Amir Saadi, confirmed the move.

The Comoros believe that Cameroon should be excluded from the 2019 finals after having the hosting rights for the tournament withdrawn from them.

Comoros are in the same qualifying group as Cameroon, whom they face in March.

The FFC claims that Caf has failed to implement its own regulations concerning the action to be taken.

Caf rules (Article 92.3) state that if a nation withdraws from hosting or has the rights taken away one year before the finals, 'a fine of five hundred thousand (500,000) U.S. dollars and a suspension of the next edition of AFCON of it's A national team, without considering the concerned edition.'

The latter words would suggest that Cameroon's participation in the 2019 finals should not be affected.

However, it remains to be seen how the FFC's claim will impact, if at all, upon Cameroon's hosting of the 2021 Nations Cup, which it is now set to stage.

As things stand, the Nations Cup qualifier in March between Cameroon and the Comoros will decide who joins already-qualified Morocco in reaching the finals in Egypt, with the fourth team in Group B - Malawi - no long able to go through.

With Morocco on 10 points, Cameroon 8 and the Comoros 5, a draw in Cameroon will be enough for the Indomitable Lions to advance - while the Comoros must win to advance.
Re: Africa Cup of Nations: Comoros lodge Cameroon complaint

I jus dey laff for dis kin complain. :rotf: I will be surprised if Comoros win this. They better focus on winning on the field.

The circumstance that led to withdrawing the rights from Cameroon was not solely attributable to Cameroon. For instance, just a year to the tourney, CAF increased number of participating countries from 16 to 24 while Cameroon had bid to host only 16 and were forced very late to prepare additional venues, accommodation, etc. In such circumstance, where CAF was indeed also culpable, how realistic is it for them to punish Cameroon with exclusion?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote:I jus dey laff for dis kin complain. :rotf: I will be surprised if Comoros win this. They better focus on winning on the field.

The circumstance that led to withdrawing the rights from Cameroon was not solely attributable to Cameroon. For instance, just a year to the tourney, CAF increased number of participating countries from 16 to 24 while Cameroon had bid to host only 16 and were forced very late to prepare additional venues, accommodation, etc. In such circumstance, where CAF was indeed also culpable, how realistic is it for them to punish Cameroon with exclusion?
CAF bailed out on Cameroon after a heavily guarded contingent of CAF inspectors drove through a hail of bullets from rebels in the Anglo-Cameroon region.

Kabalega wrote:
Enugu II wrote:I jus dey laff for dis kin complain. :rotf: I will be surprised if Comoros win this. They better focus on winning on the field.

CAF bailed out on Cameroon after a heavily guarded contingent of CAF inspectors drove through a hail of bullets from rebels in the Anglo-Cameroon region.
not true.
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

Kabalega wrote:

Chief Kabalega, how correct is this as written by you?
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

camex wrote:https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/47040434

Comoros must beat Cameroon in their final Africa Cup of Nations qualifier to reach the finals in Egypt
The Comoros Football Federation (FFC) has lodged a case at the Court of Arbitration for Sport (Cas) over Cameroon's participation at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

A post on social media from the general manager of the Comoros team, Ben Amir Saadi, confirmed the move.

The Comoros believe that Cameroon should be excluded from the 2019 finals after having the hosting rights for the tournament withdrawn from them.

Comoros are in the same qualifying group as Cameroon, whom they face in March.

The FFC claims that Caf has failed to implement its own regulations concerning the action to be taken.

Caf rules (Article 92.3) state that if a nation withdraws from hosting or has the rights taken away one year before the finals, 'a fine of five hundred thousand (500,000) U.S. dollars and a suspension of the next edition of AFCON of it's A national team, without considering the concerned edition.'

The latter words would suggest that Cameroon's participation in the 2019 finals should not be affected.

However, it remains to be seen how the FFC's claim will impact, if at all, upon Cameroon's hosting of the 2021 Nations Cup, which it is now set to stage.

As things stand, the Nations Cup qualifier in March between Cameroon and the Comoros will decide who joins already-qualified Morocco in reaching the finals in Egypt, with the fourth team in Group B - Malawi - no long able to go through.

With Morocco on 10 points, Cameroon 8 and the Comoros 5, a draw in Cameroon will be enough for the Indomitable Lions to advance - while the Comoros must win to advance.
This is the most ridiculous protest ever...

Disqualify Cameroun after they played the qualifiers?

This protest belongs in the trash-bin...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

Kabalega wrote:

It was in a thread on CE, a few weeks before CAF made their announcement.
Apparently, someone in Biya's government notified the rebels of the CAF convoy's itinerary and they fired shots over the heavily guarded convoy. The CAF contingent promptly relayed their experience to HQ, who contacted Biya. But Biya stubbornly wanted to forge ahead.

CAF, still reeling from the Cabinda, Angola wahala, decided not to take any chances.
camex

Post by camex »

Kabalega wrote:

Apparently, someone in Biya's government notified the rebels of the CAF convoy's itinerary and they fired shots over the heavily guarded convoy. The CAF contingent promptly relayed their experience to HQ, who contacted Biya. But Biya stubbornly wanted to forge ahead.

CAF, still reeling from the Cabinda, Angola wahala, decided not to take any chances.
There are a lot of fake news on whats happening in Cameroon at the moment. Please post the dates and location of the attack so we can cross check the info.

camex wrote:
Kabalega wrote:

There are a lot of fake news on whats happening in Cameroon at the moment. Please post the dates and location of the attack so we can cross check the info.
If memory serves me right, you were a "vibrant" contributor to that thread. So please do some homework and dig up the CE thread.
I'm not going to do it for you!

I do see their point though. Cos before regardless of results against Cameroon you figured you could finish third below Cameroon and still qualify. Am I right?

So that could've affected your strategy for the qualifiers.

Since Egypt is now hosting, and they already qualified on the field, why don't they just leave things as is. Cameroon retains the hosts spot since Egypt don't need it?

This was how Nigeria was jobbed out of the last AFCON when Chad withdrew. It's so unfair on teams that had nothing to do with the withdrawal.

comoros head no dey house ..I donot want to watch comoros vs madagascar come june

I do see their point though. Cos before regardless of results against Cameroon you figured you could finish third below Cameroon and still qualify. Am I right?

Since Egypt is now hosting, and they already qualified on the field, why don't they just leave things as is. Cameroon retains the hosts spot since Egypt don't need it?

This was how Nigeria was jobbed out of the last AFCON when Chad withdrew. It's so unfair on teams that had nothing to do with the withdrawal.
I concur with you on this sha.

What about the 3rd team in Egypt's group?
They will make noise especially if they still have a game to play regardless of whether the group standings will change.

Kabalega wrote:

What about the 3rd team in Egypt's group?
They will make noise especially if they still have a game to play regardless of whether the group standings will change.
They already played the qualifiers under the assumption that they needed to finish in the top two to qualify. Comoros on the other hand played it under the assumption that they needed to finish third.

theYemster,

As I recall it, only one team was initially expected to qualify from Cameroon's group because as host (regardless of finish on the table), Cameroon would qualify as the second team. With Cameroon no longer host, that rule is then applied to Egypt's group. In essence, the rule for Cameroon's group is now switched to Egypt's group. Therefore, applying the rule that was initially designated for Egypt's group (as well as all other groups bar the group with the host country), two top teams now qualify from Cameroon's group. I hope this is clear.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I no be lawyer but can the Ogbonge CE lawyers like Chief Ogbunigwe, Gotti etc answer this question free of charge

Is being stripped of an ANC hosting rights same thing as withdrawing from hosting the tournament?

Cmoke wrote:I no be lawyer but can the Ogbonge CE lawyers like Chief Ogbunigwe, Gotti etc answer this question free of charge

Is being stripped of an ANC hosting rights same thing as withdrawing from hosting the tournament?
Usually the former host gets banned, that's what happened in 2000.

But did Cameroon withdraw?

Cmoke wrote:But did Cameroon withdraw?

No, but neither did Zimbabwe, CAF took away the rights.

I don't know what people are talking about. There was never any rule that the 3rd place team in Cameroons group could qualify. Comoros are talking nonsense. The only team that could finish third and qualify was Cameroon. Cameroon being stripped of hosting changed nothing for Comoros calculations. Either way they would at least need to finish second to have any chance. Garbage complaint. The rules are clear and not hard to understand. Same way some people thought Ghana would not qualify.
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

Kabalega wrote:

Fiction
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

VE,

Could u pls explain the rules especially re Midgetville!

Cmoke :D :D :D :D :D

vancity eagle wrote:I don't know what people are talking about. There was never any rule that the 3rd place team in Cameroons group could qualify. Comoros are talking nonsense. The only team that could finish third and qualify was Cameroon. Cameroon being stripped of hosting changed nothing for Comoros calculations. Either way they would at least need to finish second to have any chance. Garbage complaint. The rules are clear and not hard to understand. Same way some people thought Ghana would not qualify.

What was the point of Cameroon even being in the qualifiers? CAF may be run worse than any African govt.