Page 1 of 2

Brahim Diaz: Guardiola's Failure in the Flesh

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:17 pm
Brahim Diaz came to City with promises that he will be developed and promoted. He has fantastic skills and ability. He was sent on loan and he did well. He came back and asked to be promoted. Yet, Guardiola refused. Instead, Guardiola was more interested in spending tens of millions to bring in ready-made players. Diaz was shut out of the first team with no prospect. Now, Diaz has moved to Real Madrid and the kid has been showing his ability.

Like Sancho, why did Guardiola refuse to use him and get rid of him? We talk of a one-off (Sancho), but this is clearly a pattern of top young players, whom the City hierarchy has spent millions in trying to develop and Guardiola refuses to use youth players. Instead, he insists on buying a ready-made player like Mahrez, scared to develop young players.

Why does Guardiola hate young players?

Re: Brahim Diaz: Guardiola's Failure in the Flesh

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:24 pm
by marko
Thats a question only Guardiola can answer, is it pressure to deliver trophies? The same already made players were once academy and youth players, well guess he will learn the hard way then

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:25 pm
Is he Nigerian? Pls stop spamming us with irrelevant news, I believe city has many forums u can join.

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:26 pm
marko wrote:Thats a question only Guardiola can answer, is it pressure to deliver trophies? The same already made players were once academy and youth players, well guess he will learn the hard way then
But, do you think this taints his legacy?

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:26 pm
the bobo just dey force himself with useless threads about city and pep... trying so hard .I think the mods should merge this to the city season thread as well as the jordan shanco thread

the OP was in court , look at him

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:46 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote:the bobo just dey force himself with useless threads about city and pep... trying so hard .I think the mods should merge this to the city season thread as well as the jordan shanco thread

How come Brahim Diaz is doing well at Real Madrid, yet, Guardiola refused to give him a chance at a more inferior club (City)?

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:11 pm
by cic old boy
danfo driver wrote: How come Brahim Diaz is doing well at Real Madrid, yet, Guardiola refused to give him a chance at a more inferior club (City)?
One league appearance??? Doing well???

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:13 pm
by metalalloy
Bigpokey24 wrote:the bobo just dey force himself with useless threads about city and pep... trying so hard .I think the mods should merge this to the city season thread as well as the jordan shanco thread

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:18 pm

How come Brahim Diaz is doing well at Real Madrid, yet, Guardiola refused to give him a chance at a more inferior club (City)?
nah which kind of question , you dey ask me? Ok what were you doing in court in that video?

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:28 pm

nah which kind of question , you dey ask me? Ok what were you doing in court in that video?
But if Guardiola had given Brahim Diaz the opportunity he deserves, isnt it true that City wouldnt have to pay hundreds of millions for replacements, when they had a fantastic player in their youth system?

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:28 pm
by tfco

i wanna meet BP one day

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:34 pm

i wanna meet BP one day
This is like a black man saying he wants to meet David Duke one day. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:44 am
by kajifu
But oga danfo how come this Diaz is not starting and just one appearance for Real and you call that doing well?

Pep is not actually good with youth like Wenger and others,in another word since his barca days he has been a check book master ,never a fan of him but a fantastic coach when money is there to spend for ready made players

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:44 am
kajifu wrote:But oga danfo how come this Diaz is not starting and just one appearance for Real and you call that doing well?

Pep is not actually good with youth like Wenger and others,in another word since his barca days he has been a check book master ,never a fan of him but a fantastic coach when money is there to spend for ready made players
How you dey Kajifu?

This is Brahim Diaz's career this season:

Man City (5 months)

Played 4 games (3 as substitutes)
Unused substitute 2 games

Real Madrid (1 month)

Played 3 games (3 as substitutes)
Unused substitutes 2 games

Posted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:15 pm
by kalani JR
hmm.

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 11:35 pm
the kid starts for Real Madrid again.

playing for a much bigger club, after pep tried to ruin his career :oops:

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 12:20 am
by kalani JR
He's probably getting loaned out next season.

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 12:59 am
kalani JR wrote:He's probably getting loaned out next season.
okay.

who will pep destroy next season?

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 1:22 am
by kalani JR
okay.

Rodri and Bruno Fernandes.

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 1:25 am
okay.

Rodri and Bruno Fernandes.
nice! the English will mess him up if he dares try to destroy one of their own again.

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 8:54 am
by Coach
Or give him the key of the city for his "work" with, "just following his natural trajectory", Raheem Sterling.

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 9:33 am
by Coach
@Danfo, cliche aside, Gael too, one need not be privy to the Anglo-Emirati board meetings to assume the units by which failure and success will be measured, with regard to Peperempe. En route to establishing the global brand and building the fortress desired, one doubts the Fodens, Brahims et al, were high on the list. Guardiola was appointed to win trophies and more than likely, deliver the Champions League to Manchester City. In the latter objective he has certainly failed. The evolution of Brahim Diaz is highly unlikely to have ever appeared on any template for appraisal. As rose tinted as the eyes maybe when looking upon the local lad, clad in home town jersey, hurrying towards the home end, ball at feet, 'tis no more than a romanticism. Should City win honours this season, not a drop of bubbly will be spilt, no silence held, for the talented youth players lost to Europe's more youth friendly establishments. It is what is is. All the starts for McTominay didn't spare Mourinho the sack. For all the McNairs, Tylers, Rashfords and alike, Van Gaal was still jettisoned for the "guaranteed title winner".

The game has changed.

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 9:47 am
by Damunk
I remember this kid.
Used to play alongside 'Nacho in the Man Cty youth ranks even though a little younger and smaller. But extremely gifted and I always felt he was going far. I even thought he was one of those rare English gems.

Then he disappeared and I started wondering what happened to him.
Ashay, Pep came into being and the Man City youth academy which is said to be one of the most advanced and expensive (i.e. 'the best') in the world seems to be mass-producing rejects solely for 'export'.
Who can blame 'Nacho and Nwakali for thinking they'd made the perfect choice?

Has it produced any regular first teamer yet?
Where are the emerging homegrown superstars?
Off the top of my head, I can't think of any.