AYC U20 S/F: NIGERIA 1 vs MALI 1 (3-4 PKs AET)

Our lads are balling early in the game...
They should make it count before the Malians find their feet.
Last edited by Gotti on Wed Feb 13, 2019 7:15 pm, edited 8 times in total.

Re: AYC U20 S/F: NIGERIA 0 vs MALI 0 (1H)

First 15 minutes have been played in the Malian half...
But worried about the proverbial “goal against the run of play.”

Meanwhile, the bumpy pitch is simply ATROCIOUS! :oops:

Game is on beinsports4 in the US.
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

Gotti wrote:Meanwhile, the bumpy pitch is simply ATROCIOUS! :oops:
Like a polo ground. Africa, my Africa.
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

For me the standouts, so far are the CB's and the full backs. Team needs to be padded up, if they want to shake up things at the world cup. A couple of the midfielders are also bright.

Joined in the 24th minute, been a boring affair involving two wack teams if we are being honest.
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

maceo4 wrote:Joined in the 24th minute, been a boring affair involving two wack teams if we are being honest.
I have never ever read you, being even remotely positive. The fact that they are producing anything at all, on that atrocity of a pitch is a miracle. If nothing else, give them the benefit of doubt.

Half-time...

Great double save in the 44th minute by the Malian GK (first off a close header and then a shot off the rebound) essentially keeps scores even at the half.

Re: AYC U20 S/F: NIGERIA 0 vs MALI 0 (HT)

Nigeria 63% possession in the first-half...

Total territorial dominance in the first 20-25 minutes, and then Mali started to come into the game and carved out 1 or 2 decent chances. The Flying Eagles created a handful of decent chances early on in the game, but as the half wore on they started losing their way in the final third (the awful pitch did not help, but it appears we are lacking a sharp arrowhead/scorer in attack) but still had the better chances.

okidoki wrote:For me the standouts, so far are the CB's and the full backs. Team needs to be padded up, if they want to shake up things at the world cup. A couple of the midfielders are also bright.
Those two lads in central defense has been stalwarts all through the tournament thus far...

Re: AYC U20 S/F: NIGERIA 0 vs MALI 0 (HT)

Gotti wrote:Nigeria 63% possession in the first-half...

Total territorial dominance in the first 20-25 minutes, and then Mali started to come into the game and carved out 1 or 2 decent chances. The Flying Eagles created a handful of decent chances early on in the game, but as the half wore on they started losing their way in the final third (the awful pitch did not help, but it appears we are lacking a sharp arrowhead/scorer in attack) but still had the better chances.
If we no get sharp arrowhead, sharp cutlass nko? I go even take peppery koboko sef. Make Dem score o
Re: AYC U20 S/F: NIGERIA 0 vs MALI 0 (2H)

Mali misses a very good chance to take the lead early in the 2H off a poor FE turnover... :oops:

Looks like Nigeria's dominance is still intact. Scoring just seems to be the issue. 52nd minute in.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

61st min: we benefit from poor officiating?
Because that looked suspiciously like a PK against us. :D

Gotti wrote:61st min: we benefit from poor officiating?
Because that looked suspiciously like a PK against us. :D
Yep but it looked like the Malian overran the ball and the clash of legs looks accidental . Seen them given

Our 17 is u20? Olodumare, Olorun mimo :shock: Anyway sha I no get proof

Almost the first goal from Nigeria. Header just wide.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Mali should have scored there

Nigeria escape a scare there.

Poor touch there from Nigeria although in an offside position.

Abeg if we dey play European football na African decision we still dey make

Delivery of the final ball is often a letdown.