AYC U20 S/F: NIGERIA 1 vs MALI 1 (3-4 PKs AET)

Re: AYC U20 S/F: NIGERIA 1 vs MALI 1 (3-4 PKs AET)

Looking forward to watching Senegal, I hear they are hot!!

Hopefully, they'll roast SA
Re: AYC U20 S/F: NIGERIA 1 vs MALI 1 (AET)

maceo4 wrote:Hopefully they improve A LOT for the WYC...
They just need a little bit of tinkering...
And the horrendous pitch was ill-suited to a passing game.

Otherwise, defense looked solid all through the tournament (letting in only 1 goal), and midfield was serviceable. The only place the team really requires significant improvement is in the final third.

DIMKA76 wrote:Looking forward to watching Senegal, I hear they are hot!!
Senegal played us off the park in the WAFU U20 final game...
At this point, they are favorites to go on and win this tournament as well

Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

DIMKA76 wrote:Looking forward to watching Senegal, I hear they are hot!!
Why have you not watched them?

Meanwhile, congrats again to the FE for WYC qualification...
Coach Paul should use next month’s Suwon Tournament in Korea to look at new players (esp forwards).

Otherwise, defense looked solid all through the tournament (letting in only 1 goal), and midfield was serviceable. The only place the team really requires significant improvement is in the final third.
I like your optimism, but I think they need more work especially in keeping possession of the ball, passing accuracy and like you said creating in the final third. But they don’t look as coordinated as our prior successful U-17s for example (Success and Iheanachos set etc) that I saw playing in Africa, you could see they were special.
Last edited by maceo4 on Wed Feb 13, 2019 7:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

You do not just hope.
You identify and correct what the team is lacking; from coaches & coaching, to players and form of play.
And that has to be mandatory with a panel review.

I believe this team needs a whole lot more than that.
For one, the bulk of the front line and midfielders were far too individualistic to positively impact the team (Amunike somewhat alluded to this also). Their decision making left a lot to be desired.
No one on the front line impressed. Not one!
In the midfield, #15 Mohammed and perhaps #8 Al Hassan were okay. All the others, I'll get rid of.
In defense, that right back Zaruma was atrocious. Needs to go.

Aigbogun has his work cut out for him if he plans on making a meaningful impact at the World Cup.

maceo4 wrote:I like your optimism, but I think they need more work especially in keeping possession of the ball, passing accuracy and like you said creating in the final third. But they don’t look as coordinated as our prior successful U-17s for example (Success and Iheanachos set etc) that I saw playing in Africa, you could see they were special.
If BEiN has a replay, re-watch he first 20 minutes...

The team started off great passing the ball around, carving up the Malian defense and creating decent enough chances, so we already know that they have those qualities in them. As the match progressed, and the pitch seemingly got bumpier, the team started to resort to the longer ball option, and when they fell behind the coaches threw in 2 forwards and basically the team lost shape which made the game wider open. We get another chance to see the team in South Korea next month where the pitch should be much better and the opposition should presumably be tougher - and then we can better judge.
Last edited by Gotti on Wed Feb 13, 2019 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tfco wrote::D
Kai, hater :rotf:
Still 7 times champion.......
Black Meatballites 0.... :tic: :taunt:

Otitokoro wrote:I believe this team needs a whole lot more than that.
For one, the bulk of the front line and midfielders were far too individualistic to positively impact the team (Amunike somewhat alluded to this also). Their decision making left a lot to be desired.
In the midfield, #15 Mohammed and perhaps #8 Al Hassan were okay. All the others, I'll get rid of.

Aigbogun has his work cut out for him if he plans on making a meaningful impact at the World Cup.
Difficult to properly assess the team on that pitch...
That’s why I think the Suwon Tournament will be a better measure.

Nonetheless, I think Aremu’s baffling loss of form (to the point that he was dropped from the starting team and did not make an appearance at all today) affected midfield cohension. At the same time, Jamil (#15) had a very good tournament and his emergence almost from nowhere has been a positive (though it did not compensate for Aremu’s poor performance). Furthermore, Bournemouth’s Nnamdi Oforboh (as well as Watford’s Jayden Bennetts) should available for WYC consideration.

Defense was good enough (probably the best in the tournament), although I agree that Zaruma is a weak link at RB (he is supposed to be terrific going forward, but frankly I did not see that in this tournament) and should be subject to competition at the spot. Even the skipper at LB looked uncertain at times and might not be a starter by the WYC (according to Coach Paul, there’s a lot of competitive depth at that position). The 2 CDs were however the top 2 players in the team.

The weakest link remains in the final third. The team lost a couple of forwards before the tournament - to injury and trials overseas - and Peter Eneji, who was expected to be the star forward on the team, did not even make the cut at all. Considering however that the forward line also performed poorly at the WAFU U20, it does look like a significant (perhaps systemic) problem. Hopefully, Coach Paul would be able to dig up a few prospects between now and the WYC.
Last edited by Gotti on Thu Feb 14, 2019 11:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

title does not say who qualified for the finals

DIMKA76 wrote:Omo, can't lose sleep over age group competition. It's pointless
why? They are the "future"

Rawlings wrote:title does not say who qualified for the finals

Ghana did. Congrats!

Otitokoro wrote:I believe this team needs a whole lot more than that.

Difficult to properly assess the team on that pitch...
That’s why I think the Suwon Tournament will be a better measure.

Nonetheless, I think Aremu’s baffling loss of form (to the point that he was dropped from the starting team and did not make an appearance at all today) affected midfield cohension. At the same time, Jamil (#15) had a very good tournament and his emergence almost from nowhere has been a positive (though it did not compensate for Aremu’s poor performance). However, Bournemouth’s Nnamdi Oforboh (as well as Watford’s Jayden Bennetts) should available for WYC consideration.

Defense was good enough (probably the best in the tournament), although I agree that Zaruma is a weak link at RB (he is supposed to be terrific going forward, but frankly I did not see that in this tournament) and should be subject to competition at the spot. Even the skipper at LB looked uncertain at times and might not be a starter by the WYC (according to Coach Paul, there’s a lot of competitive depth at that position). The 2 CDs were probably the top 2 players in the team.

The weakest link remains in the final third. The team lost a couple of forwards before the tournament - to injury and trials overseas - and Peter Eneji who was expected to be the star forward on the team did not even make the cut at all. Nonetheless, the forward line also performed so-so at the WAFU U20, so it looks like a significant (perhaps systemic) problem. Hopefully, Coach Paul would be able to dig a few prospects between now and the WYC.

Aigbogun's team is a flawed bunch and much work needs to be done before the World Cup. Nonetheless I'm thankful that we've unearthed two legit central defense prospects for the Super Eagles. Those two Centrebacks as well as the DM, Jamil Muhammed are the Flying Eagles' standouts.
Thunder

Post by Thunder »

So both Brazils didn’t qualify for the U20 World Cup. :D
WHATEVER, WHEREEVER, & WHENEVER, FOREVER ARSENAL! I am an ARSENALIST!
"Wise men talk because they have something to say, fools talk because they have to say something." - Plato

I think FIFA should make an exception and allow Ghana to begin qualify for stuff via Oceania group..

Gotti wrote:Meanwhile, congrats again to the FE for WYC qualification...
Coach Paul should use next month’s Suwon Tournament in Korea to look at new players (esp forwards).

Gotti, abeg.....
Why is Channels TV reporting that they've "crashed out" of the WYC?
Whats going on?

You might want to visit a more credible source FIFA U20 - Poland 2019, instead of relying on fake news outlets.

Gotti, abeg.....
Whats going on?

Otitokoro wrote:You might want to visit a more credible source FIFA U20 - Poland 2019, instead of relying on fake news outlets.

Gotti, abeg.....
Whats going on?
Thanks. :thumb:
Channels are usually quite reliable hence the confusion.

Oguleftie wrote:
You do not just hope.
You identify and correct what the team is lacking; from coaches & coaching, to players and form of play.
And that has to be mandatory with a panel review.
He's speaking as a fan, not a team official. That's all we can do, hope.