FALCONS 3 vs THAILAND 0 (FT)

Seventh-place game at the Cyprus Women’s Cup...

Scorers are Oshoala (23d min) and Onome (29th min).
Last edited by Gotti on Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:57 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Re: FALCONS 2 vs THAILAND 0 (2H)

7th place? Holy Spirit :shock: :shock: :shock:

Na how many team dey inside competition sef? Abeg no answer that one... :arrow:

pajimoh wrote:7th place? Holy Spirit :shock: :shock: :shock:

Anam Imo adds a third in the 74th minute...

Re: FALCONS 3 vs THAILAND 0 (2H)

this team, will just be at the worldcup just to make up numbers

Re: FALCONS 3 vs THAILAND 0 (FT)

3-0 at full-time...

Our involvement in the Cyprus Women’s Cup is over...
Meanwhile, Bayana Bayana lost 0-3 to Finland to finish 10th.

12; And we finished ahead of Banana Bayana. We are the top of the bottom half of the competition.

Also, I officially declare you funnier than PaJ. You've been giving us laffs on the forum lately, & PaJ has been silent.

Bigpokey24 wrote:this team, will just be at the worldcup just to make up numbers
Our group is really tough.
It almost makes no sense for that type of group to be possible in a 24 team World Cup. Almost like 'they' designed it to make sure we don't advance.

Anyway, no shaking. It is 11v11 on the day, and the girls may just surprise us.

truetalk wrote:

12; And we finished ahead of Banana Bayana. We are the top of the bottom half of the competition.

Also, I officially declare you funnier than PaJ. You've been giving us laffs on the forum lately, & PaJ has been silent.
TT, I was hoping someone won't mention Banyana Banyana as a yardstick or feel good factor.

It's like using Somalia or Yemen as a yardstick for Nigeria.

The Falcons have never heard of 1st to 3rd? Come on

20 scrub teams

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
sarkin doya

Post by sarkin doya »

Thank-you Gotti. Did anyone watch the games? How did they play in this game with Thailand?

Thailand is ranked #29 by FIFA - how did they get so high? Belgium, Austria and Slovakia are ranked #21, #23 and #45 while the Falcons are ranked #39.

In the 4Nations tournament held in China in January, the Falcons lost to China (#15) and beat Romania (#41)

On the basis of the above, the Falcons may possibly be ranked higher once the world cup starts but looking at the teams in the top 20 of the FIFA ranking, on the basis of the current performances, it's tough to argue that the Falcons belong in this group of ranking - but maybe among the top 30?

The Falcons WC group includes France, Norway and Korea Republic (the 3rd, 13th and 14th ranked teams in the world).

Hopefully the Falcons can squeeze in 3 or 4 more friendly games before the WC.

BTW for all those discussing the current or other coaches (and I have no opinion on which coach is a better or worse), the Falcons have not been in the top 20 of the FIFA ranking in the last 15 years. In fact, since 2011, the super falcons have had a FIFA ranking below 30. Admittedly while some of the ranking can be attributed to the fewness of games that they play against non-African opposition (Falcons are the highest ranked AFrican team), certainly, the ranking appears to reflect the reality of the state of affairs for the Falcons in the 21st century.
Gotti wrote:3-0 at full-time...

Our involvement in the Cyprus Women’s Cup is over...
Meanwhile, Bayana Bayana lost 0-3 to Finland to finish 10th.

All things considered and notwithstanding my initial criticisms, I give them a low pass mark for their overall 7th place finish. The 4-1 defeat to Austria probably sounds a lot worse than it really is, considering that they were down a man very early. I think the games against Belgium and Slovakia are much better indications of there state of readiness. Clearly, they don’t have too much difficulty scoring however, they need to improve drastically defensively and in ball retention. Against Thailand, they demonstrated that they can put a complete game together. There’s a lot of work left to be done, though, before they can be deemed ready for the World Cup :!:

Last edited by TonyTheTigerKiller on Thu Mar 07, 2019 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

All things considered and notwithstanding my initial criticisms, I give them a low pass mark for their overall 7th place finish. The 4-1 defeat to Austria probably sounds a lot worse than it really is, considering that they were down a man very early. I think the games against Belgium and Slovakia are much better indications of there state of readiness. Clearly, they don’t have too much difficulty scoring however, they need to improve drastically defensively and in ball retention. Against Thailand, they demonstrated that they can put a complete game together. There’s a lot of work left to be done, though, before they can be deemed ready for the World Cup :!: