Awoniyi Set To Lead Nigeria U23s Attack Against Libya

Liverpool-Owned Striker Set To Lead Nigeria U23s Attack In AFCONQ Against Libya

Allnigeriasoccer.com has been informed that Liverpool-owned striker Taiwo Awoniyi has been summoned by the Nigeria Football Federation for the U23 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Libya this month.

Barring any unforeseen circumstances, the in-form Royal Excel Mouscron man will get the nod of the coaching staff to lead the Olympic Eagles attack against the North Africans on March 20.

Awoniyi previously collected caps for the Dream Team and was on the roster for the 2015 U23 Africa Cup of Nations.

A year later, the 21-year-old was named to the provisional roster for the Olympic Games but could only make the standby list despite his goals qualifying the team for the competition.

It would be Awoniyi's first international appearance for Nigeria in about three years if he gets game time against the North Africans.

He has scored in each of his last five games for Royal Excel Mouscron in the Belgian First Division A.

Ifeanyi Emmanuel

https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=31353
Re: Awoniyi Set To Lead Nigeria U23s Attack Against Libya

How is he still U23?

bushboy wrote:How is he still U23?
Biko - I thought you said you don read anything Awoniyi ?

He was born on August 12, 1997, making him 21(22 in August). Played in the 2015 under-17 World Cup. That was just four years ago. It adds up.

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/taiwo-a ... ler/295313

[quote="bushboy"]How is he still U23?[/quote

He was born in 1997. Do the math.

Obong wrote:
He was born on August 12, 1997, making him 21(22 in August). Played in the 2015 under-17 World Cup. That was just four years ago. It adds up.

He was one of the youngest members of that team as is Uzoho, Musa Yahaya and one or two others.

Ol boy...the guy snatch ya gf?

airwolex wrote:

Ol boy...the guy snatch ya gf?
For bushrat, if you're pro Success Isaac then you must automatically be anti Awoniyi

Well it seems they are taking no risks and are calling up a strong olympic squad. I may even be more interested in watching this U23 set of matches against Libya than the SE itself .

So far the following seem to have been called

Taiwo Awoniyi
David Okereke
Samuel Chukwueze
Azuibikwe Okechukwu
Kingsley Michael
Kelechi Nwakali
Sadiq Umar
Tosin Kehinde

I really hope that Rohr is monitoring these players because I think that many here are better than the players in his SE squad.

There is no room for mediocre 30 plus year old players like John Ogu.

Anybody have the full list of U23 invitees.

vancity eagle wrote:Well it seems they are taking no risks and are calling up a strong olympic squad. I may even be more interested in watching this U23 set of matches against Libya than the SE itself .

Taiwo Awoniyi
David Okereke
Samuel Chukwueze
Azuibikwe Okechukwu
Kingsley Michael
Kelechi Nwakali
Sadiq Umar
Tosin Kehinde

I really hope that Rohr is monitoring these players because I think that many here are better than the players in his SE squad.

Why would Rohr be monitoring? Who do you think allowed guys like Chuckwueze to go to U-23? This is all done with a plan behind it. Just like Rohr monitored the U-20 and invited their big CB as we are a little light in that position as far as players Rohr trusts.

vancity eagle wrote:Well it seems they are taking no risks and are calling up a strong olympic squad. I may even be more interested in watching this U23 set of matches against Libya than the SE itself .

Taiwo Awoniyi
David Okereke
Samuel Chukwueze
Azuibikwe Okechukwu
Kingsley Michael
Kelechi Nwakali
Sadiq Umar
Tosin Kehinde

Why would Rohr be monitoring? Who do you think allowed guys like Chuckwueze to go to U-23? This is all done with a plan behind it. Just like Rohr monitored the U-20 and invited their big CB as we are a little light in that position as far as players Rohr trusts.
Like u said this was coordinated between Rohr and U23 coach

Taiwo Awoniyi
David Okereke
Samuel Chukwueze
Azuibikwe Okechukwu
Kingsley Michael
Kelechi Nwakali
Sadiq Umar
Tosin Kehinde

Rohr will not be able to personally scout the team since the Super Eagles proper will be in action at the same time. However, his assistant coach Imama Amakapabo is in charge of the U23 team, so those who deserve the attention of national team coaches will get it.

Obong wrote:

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/taiwo-a ... ler/295313
2013. :idea: