Is Nigeria Africa's Best?

Re: Is Nigeria Africa's Best?

gochino wrote:Good point! ANC 2000 and 88. We all know what happened.
ANC Final 2000 was the infamous Ikpeba penalty matter, but what was the issue in '88?
Nwosu had a disallowed goal.

A clear goal was disallowed for no reason...And guess who our opponents were?

And Also the Abacha saga in 96 and 98. We were definitely the best African team then and I didn't see any team stopping us!

gochino wrote:A clear goal was disallowed for no reason...And guess who our opponents were?
Yeah, Cameroon.
But I can't remember the disallowed goal. Maybe e go dey Youtube.

In 17 AFCONS this is Nigeria's record:

*16 quarter-finals (i.e. they get to the QF nearly 95% of the time).
*14 times they have finished in the top 3 places (i.e top three 82% of the time).

*7 times they have been in the final.
*They have not failed to qualify for the quarter-finals for over 32 years.

More here:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=230832&hilit=consis ... C&start=23

gochino wrote:A clear goal was disallowed for no reason...And guess who our opponents were?
Yeah, Cameroon.
But I can't remember the disallowed goal. Maybe e go dey Youtube.
Found it.
I remember it now.

(Very end of clip)

Henry Nwosu was not offside.....but were the offside rules different back then?
A Nigerian player was offside further out, though not interfering with play.

any conclusions from this thread?
....or the ongoing match against the world ranked Seychelles?
camex

Post by camex »

Damunk wrote:This thing is easy.
Draw up a league table drawing from AFCONs, World Cups and Olympics (optional) over 30 or 40 years and see which country comes tops.
I suspect it will be Nigeria. :idea:
We'll be close to the top but Cameroon has more AFCONs a better WC placing, and Olympic gold and a Confed Cup final appearance.
You may be right but the table will give points for games won and drawn just like any other table. Not based solely on appearances.

A draw would be given for any penalty shoot out win rather than 3 points.
A World Cup finals point could be 'weighted' slightly more than an AFCON point.

That should give a pretty accurate picture of who has been the best over time.
Actually, I've just found the AFCON All-time table. :D
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Africa_Cu ... time_table

1. Egypt (7 titles) Played 96 Points 179
2. Ghana (4 titles) Played 95 Points 176
3. Nigeria (3 titles) Played 86 Points 159
4. Cameroun (5 titles) Played 80 Points 145
5. Ivory Coast (2 titles) Played 90 Points 141
I was just looking at that page too, looks like you're right regarding World Cup too.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/African_n ... am_records
Thanks!
Regarding Ghana, they are up there on the AFCON league table, but if one adjusts to reflect form rankings over the last 30 or even 40 years, I'm pretty sure they will drop.
Their AFCON years were in the 60s & 70s with their last win in 1982.
And if you count the last 30 or 40 years, Cameroon, I bet would be higher than Ghana and Nigeria.