Is Nigeria Africa's Best?

This question often arises because of the frequency of Nigeria’s representation of Africa at the World, its performance at the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON), and the claim that it is a country brimming with talented players. At one time, an Italian journalist made a claim that Nigeria would have long won the World Cup in the 1990s if Giovanni Trappatoni was Nigeria’s coach.
Nigeria, Ghana and Senegal are often favorites at the AFCONs but some teams win the competition without having players in the top 5 European leagues. For instance, the Zambian team that won the Africa Cup in 2012 had only four players playing outside outside Africa and none of those was in the Top 5 league. Their opponent – Ivory Coast – had 11! In fact, not a single member of that Ivorien squad was playing in Africa, let alone in Ivory Coast. Yet, it was Zambia that took the trophy.
For details click on the link below:

https://eaglecity.blogspot.com/2019/03/ ... -best.html
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Is Nigeria Africa's Best?

Nigeria is amongst the most consistent African footballing powers I.e 7 Afcon finals 3 titles and multiple
Semi finals in that tournament and have only missed 1 World Cup tournament since 1994, in terms of players Nigeria tend to produce a lot of players that make a name abroad but is most likely due to its population.I personally think Nigeria has been amongst Africa’s top 5 teams for at least 3 decades and that shows real consistency but to say Africa’s best is incorrect because despite Nigeria being regulars and even winning 3 Olympic medals within the last 3 decades other African nations have won more titles on the continent than them during that time I.e Cameroon and Egypt.

Nigeria is no doubt one of the most successful African teams ever. That's why Rohr looks stupid saying we are not among the favourites to win AFCON.

We are among the top African teams today, However we aren't the best .

As long as we’re talking about Africa the bar remain low. A truth is that 80% of European and South American teams would be the best in Africa. Nigeria has consistently produced some of the best talents in Africa but we’ve also consistently not lived up to the level of talent produced.

With Rohr now in charge for about 3yrs we’re just now in real development program that’s showing results. No we’re not the best but we now have the dest program.

Nigeria are only always favorites because people are too lazy to study teams before tournaments. Three trophies from spread apart in 20 year increments from a biennial competition, negro please.

No, definitely not.

We are a lot of bark with little bite. I was young in the 70s and heard people drop names. When we won the cup in 1980 I was stunned to find out that we had won for the first time and when qualifying for the world cup 2 years later was equally stunned that we had not qualified for it before. We are consistent that's about it

it must be another slow spell/season on ce

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

This thing is easy.
Draw up a league table drawing from AFCONs, World Cups and Olympics (optional) over 30 or 40 years and see which country comes tops.
I suspect it will be Nigeria. :idea:

Damunk wrote:This thing is easy.
Draw up a league table drawing from AFCONs, World Cups and Olympics (optional) over 30 or 40 years and see which country comes tops.
We'll be close to the top but Cameroon has more AFCONs a better WC placing, and Olympic gold and a Confed Cup final appearance.

Top teams in Africa currently (No order)

Morocco
Nigeria
Senegal

I also predict a resurgence of Ivory Coast, if that coach of there's does not sabotage the team.

Ghana really seems to be on a downward spiral and is not producing any top talent anymore.

What Nigeria needs to make our team more complete are a few more solid 2 way midfielders.

Good technical midfielders who can attack, defend , and hustle.

That and a proper goalkeeper.

Yes!

vancity eagle wrote:Top teams in Africa currently (No order)

Morocco
Nigeria
Senegal

I also predict a resurgence of Ivory Coast, if that coach of there's does not sabotage the team.

Ghana really seems to be on a downward spiral and is not producing any top talent anymore.

What Nigeria needs to make our team more complete are a few more solid 2 way midfielders.

Good technical midfielders who can attack, defend , and hustle.

That and a proper goalkeeper.

Didn't u also predict Morrocco would beat Spain at the wc? :laugh:

We'll be close to the top but Cameroon has more AFCONs a better WC placing, and Olympic gold and a Confed Cup final appearance.
You may be right but the table will give points for games won and drawn just like any other table. Not based solely on appearances.

A draw would be given for any penalty shoot out win rather than 3 points.
A World Cup finals point could be 'weighted' slightly more than an AFCON point.

That should give a pretty accurate picture of who has been the best over time.

You may be right but the table will give points for games won and drawn just like any other table. Not based solely on appearances.

Actually, I've just found the AFCON All-time table. :D
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Africa_Cu ... time_table

1. Egypt (7 titles) Played 96 Points 179
2. Ghana (4 titles) Played 95 Points 176
3. Nigeria (3 titles) Played 86 Points 159
4. Cameroun (5 titles) Played 80 Points 145
5. Ivory Coast (2 titles) Played 90 Points 141

I was just looking at that page too, looks like you're right regarding World Cup too.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/African_n ... am_records

gochino wrote:Nigeria is no doubt one of the most successful African teams ever. That's why Rohr looks stupid saying we are not among the favourites to win AFCON.
Being humble doesn’t make one stupid,mouthing off before a defeat is pathetic so knowing what needs to be done to win doesn’t even need a explanation it needs an exacution!

I was just looking at that page too, looks like you're right regarding World Cup too.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/African_n ... am_records
Thanks!
Regarding Ghana, they are up there on the AFCON league table, but if one adjusts to reflect form rankings over the last 30 or even 40 years, I'm pretty sure they will drop.
Their AFCON years were in the 60s & 70s with their last win in 1982.

why is this even a debate?
Naija is without a doubt, the best team in Africa

Mak una stop dis useless debate.
Let's discuss why Naija players can't make it in Europe's top clubs these days.

The number one factor responsible for Nigeria only wining 3 ANC titles is poor officiating

Good point! ANC 2000 and 88. We all know what happened.

gochino wrote:Good point! ANC 2000 and 88. We all know what happened.
ANC Final 2000 was the infamous Ikpeba penalty matter, but what was the issue in '88?