SE: Ndifreke Replaces Ola Aina......

Akwa United Ndifreke Effiong Replaces Injured Aina In Super Eagles Squad For Seychelles, Egypt Games
http://owngoalnigeria.com/2019/03/17/ak ... ypt-games/
March 17, 201903

Akwa United forward Ndifreke Effiong has been handed a late call up to the senior national team of Nigeria as a replacement for injured on loan Chelsea defender Ola Aina according to the Nigeria Football Federation ( NFF) .

NFF announced the invitation of Effiong on their official twitter handle as a replacement for Aina who although made his comeback from injury last week for Torino will miss the game owing to an unspecified injury.

Aina was yesterday sent off in Torino’s 2-3 loss to Bologna in the Serie A. He was in time added on after regulation time for two bookable offence in quick succession to blot his near perfect loan spell in Italy with Torino.

Effiong joined is home town club Akwa United from Abia Warriors before the start of the current Nigeria Professional Football League ( NPFL) season and few minutes before the announcement of his call up to the Super Eagles he scored the opener for Akwa United in their 2-1 win away to Heartland FC of Owerri.

A member of the Nigeria Olympic squad to the last Olympic games in Rio, Effiong becomes the second player to be called up to the squad after Ikouwem Udoh was called up as replacement for injured Samuel Kalu two days ago.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: SE: Ndifreke Replaces Ola Aina......

Good to see local boys getting a look. The best Nigerian players have always originated in Nigeria, believe it or not. :thumb:

He has no injury, he just played this weekend, started at left wing back then right back when they switched to 4 in the back before he was sent off for talking back to the ref after getting an undeserved yellow.

maceo4 wrote:He has no injury, he just played this weekend, started at left wing back then right back when they switched to 4 in the back before he was sent off for talking back to the ref after getting an undeserved yellow.
Sharap dia.

This Ndifreke must have a godfather in the NFF. He was the worst player in the Olympics and could not even succeed in a professional career in Asia. Now he's in the Super Eagles. Unbelievable!

Dammy wrote:This Ndifreke must have a godfather in the NFF. He was the worst player in the Olympics and could not even succeed in a professional career in Asia. Now he's in the Super Eagles. Unbelievable!
Not that Rohr is collecting money to invite players?

Dammy wrote:This Ndifreke must have a godfather in the NFF. He was the worst player in the Olympics and could not even succeed in a professional career in Asia. Now he's in the Super Eagles. Unbelievable!
Not that Rohr is collecting money to invite players?

maceo4 wrote:He has no injury, he just played this weekend, started at left wing back then right back when they switched to 4 in the back before he was sent off for talking back to the ref after getting an undeserved yellow.
Sharap dia.
I was expecting you to tell us how useless this Ndifreke is, seems you are slipping these days oooo

Like I said I think there is funny business going on with this latest squad. I think it has to do with the games being "dead rubber" but this would be a perfect time to call up legitimate options and not junks.

Aina misses a lot of SE games due to injury.

Also, I have no issue with calling up NPL players. Defenders are slightly more of a risk because in the NPL, they are not accustomed to the sort of tactical discipline, regimentation, and sophisticated positioning necessary for players at international level.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Good to see local boys getting a look. The best Nigerian players have always originated in Nigeria, believe it or not. :thumb:

It is a strange choice. Would have expected Rohr to invite a RB or winger from the NPFL to replace Aina.

There needs to be an effort to establish a national "Depth Chart" for every position, so when people get injured, there is no "funny business"

Didn't Moses Odubajo declare his willingness to play for SE ?

Why is Odubajo not being called up ?

I would have thought even without AIna's "injury" that he would have been called anyways.

There has to be a rhyme and reason to what we are doing with the limited FIFA windows, this approach where we just call up random players who never amount to anything has to stop.

(Jr. Lokosa, Jr. Ajayi, Uche Agbo, Gabriel Okechukwu, Paul Onobi)

I don't recall him ever moving to Asia to play ball, and you have to take into consideration that he was not only the youngest player in that Olympic team but was also being played out of position as a defender. He's a Winger/Forward and has been in terrific form in the NPFL this season, but it's still a weird call up tbh.

My thoughts exactly! :oops:

Sunset wrote:
I don't recall him ever moving to Asia to play ball, and you have to take into consideration that he was not only the youngest player in that Olympic team but was also being played out of position as a defender. He's a Winger/Forward and has been in terrific form in the NPFL this season, but it's still a weird call up tbh.
Very weird.

But na oyibo so we can't question him... :(

did anyone ask you all that torey? amebo, eye service..my goodness , talk about parrot mouth , abi diarrhea mouth ... I will never get caught slipping around you.. you be snitch

Sure...rather I talk about Chelsea and EPL rather than our own SE players, right I got you...

that is not the point , you just went on and on..nobody asked all that

Sunset wrote:
Very weird.

But na oyibo so we can't question him... :(
Why not?
You just can't accuse him of 'tribalism'.
'Dropology', you still can. :D

So you have to be asked before you can talk about a SE player on friggin Cyber Eagles? Do you ask before you post all those stupid Middlesboro posts about a friggin useless second division team that won't be promoted anytime soon? Ol boy just leave talk abeg and stop being a hypocrite, when there's no SE gist you start complaining, when I give you SE gist instead of thanking me you say na snitching...you really have issues man.

which gist did you give us? You went on about some referee, you tried to drag Ola's character... that is what you do....insult SE players. As i said you are a tell all..nobody asked you, gbosa you begin spill the beans. You are a snitch...Who knows how many people you've ratted out in your day to day activities, there is no way I would ever let you in anything..you have a huge mouth that parrots issues wey no concern you; how the heck is the ref important to Ola's injury?

Show me where I said anything about Ola's character? The original post talked about him being red carded, I gave context as to what happened for those who might not have watched the game, that it was an unfair yellow followed by a red because he said something to the ref. So why not ask the original story what his red card has to do with an injury....You are the definition of a sad hypocrite, maybe you be bipolar, so go ahead and open a thread about how theres too much talk about SE players on CE....weirdo

you tried to ridicule Ola, by saying he faked an injury, but because that wasn't going to cut it, you decided to talk about a ref , How the heck is that about the SE. Mace stop digging. Learn to be humble