Page 1 of 2

U23: DRAFT IN THE TROOPS!

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 4:32 pm
by Obong
It might be unpopular, but desperate times require desperate measures. We foolishly lost 0-2 to Libya away and will need at least three unreplied goals in the second leg on Monday. With the Olympics football qualification on the line, I suggest the NFF field the strongest possible team. Since, fortuitously, several u23 players are in the Super Eagles camp and in Asaba for the Seychelles/Egypt matches, why not draft them in? Uzoho, Ikouwem Utin, Ozornwafor, Ndidi, Onyekuru and Osimhen could help turn the tide with superior play where we lacked in the first leg. After we eliminate Libya, the coaches can go back to restrategize for the African tournament in November. Since we struggled at goalkeeper, defence, midfield and scoring, it is worth a shot.

Re: U23: DRAFT IN THE TROOPS!

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 4:43 pm
by Rawlings
This is not the time to panic
Beating Libya 3-0 will not be a problem

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 4:48 pm
by Obong
Rawlings wrote:This is not the time to panic
I want to be that optimistic. Let's see what develops.

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 5:15 pm
by osita
At least it was a Ghana ref , what do u expect from a ref awarding a red to a west African brother

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 5:16 pm
by vancity eagle
We are having all this trouble with Libya, even with the likes of Chukwueze and Awoiniyi.

If we qualify, What will happen at the tournament proper when none of these players will be available.

This is just pure stupidity all around.

Unless foreign players could be drafted in during the tournament proper I see no reason why they should be called to qualify.

A strong homebased side should have been used, and if we qualify for olympics unfortunately most of the team would be moved aside for the european based players. Unfortunate but it would just be reality.

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 5:39 pm
by Rawlings
osita wrote:
At least it was a Ghana ref , what do u expect from a ref awarding a red to a west African brother
Oga Sa
How now?
Ghana dis Ghana dat, no taya you?
we are here to solve Naija problems :wink:

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:18 pm
by olu
Don't think drafting in new players is the solution. What they need to work on is chemistry.

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:08 pm
by Obong
olu wrote:Don't think drafting in new players is the solution. What they need to work on is chemistry.
It worked before. There is not much room for chemistry. The second leg is on Monday, so, I feel we should roll the dice. A sports journalist seems to be in agreement:

https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=31462

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:42 pm
by olu
Obong wrote:
olu wrote:Don't think drafting in new players is the solution. What they need to work on is chemistry.
It worked before. There is not much room for chemistry. The second leg is on Monday, so, I feel we should roll the dice. A sports journalist seems to be in agreement:

https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=31462
I disagree with you and the journalist

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 11:51 pm
by Gotti
Darn, agreeing with TRwalings... :mrgreen:

But dude’s right. Though not a betting man and wary of predictions, I am nonetheless reasonably confident that the team on Wednesday that dominated Libya away playing with 10 players for an entire half will DESTROY Libya in Asaba. No need to stabilize the team as it begins to build needed chemistry.

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 1:53 am
by vancity eagle
To be honest the likes of Udo and that tall U20 defender should go to help the U23 team. This team needs defenders. (Maybe even Awaziem)

How the hell do you jump from U20 straight to the SE when there is nothing even spectacular about you, yet guys playing week in week out in Spain and Belgium are playing U23.

Makes absolutely no sense.

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 10:40 am
by ogiso
This reminds me of the panic that ensued during our 1982 World Cup qualifying matches against Algeria in late 1981. We called all sorts of players - foreign-based who had never featured for us, players out of retirement, players just returning from injury, out of form players. A real hotch-potch strategy birthed out of panic. We lost 4-1 on aggregate. My thoughts are - stick with what we have. Best chance of winning. If we lose, we lose.

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 3:37 pm
by Obong
I no talk am? We must be at the Olympics and we fortuitously have the eligible Super Eagles players for the u23 available in Asaba. For those who need historical reference, check the story above where Okocha, Kanu and Taribo had to be invited to help rescue our derailing 1996 Olympic qualification. We overturned a 0-2 deficit to win 3-0 in Narobi. It is our most important match out of the three to be played in Asaba. Therefore, all hands must be on deck.

http://owngoalnigeria.com/2019/03/22/re ... libya-tie/

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 4:03 pm
by jette1
Obong wrote:I no talk am? We must be at the Olympics and we fortuitously have the eligible Super Eagles players for the u23 available in Asaba. For those who need historical reference, check the story above where Okocha, Kanu and Taribo had to be invited to help rescue our derailing 1996 Olympic qualification. We overturned a 0-2 deficit to win 3-0 in Narobi. It is our most important match out of the three to be played in Asaba. Therefore, all hands must be on deck.

Ol boi you must have fortuitously found this new word; unless it fortuitously appear in all your recent posts

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:20 pm
by Gotti
Obong wrote:I no talk am? We must be at the Olympics and we fortuitously have the eligible Super Eagles players for the u23 available in Asaba. For those who need historical reference, check the story above where Okocha, Kanu and Taribo had to be invited to help rescue our derailing 1996 Olympic qualification. We overturned a 0-2 deficit to win 3-0 in Narobi. It is our most important match out of the three to be played in Asaba. Therefore, all hands must be on deck.

Ol boi you must have fortuitously found this new word; unless it fortuitously appear in all your recent posts

And we didn’t lose 0-2 to Kenya at home...
We drew 0-0 with Kanu as the captain of that side.

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:22 pm
by vancity eagle

who will save us at the tournament in November ?

If we qualify.

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:06 pm
by Enugu II
See Otitokoro's post today in the link below. It mentions four key SE players now seconded to the U23 team.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=293914&start=92

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:11 pm
by metalalloy

Posted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 7:08 am
by Obong

I might sound dated, but the "A" I got in English Language in the WAEC exams was hardly fortuitous. :lol: :taunt:

Posted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 11:37 am
by jette1
Obong wrote:

I might sound dated, but the "A" I got in English Language in the WAEC exams was hardly fortuitous. :lol: :taunt:
now I wanna know how coach did in waec or did he settle for gce abi na ond

Posted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 11:41 am
by amafolas
ogiso wrote:This reminds me of the panic that ensued during our 1982 World Cup qualifying matches against Algeria in late 1981. We called all sorts of players - foreign-based who had never featured for us, players out of retirement, players just returning from injury, out of form players. A real hotch-potch strategy birthed out of panic. We lost 4-1 on aggregate. My thoughts are - stick with what we have. Best chance of winning. If we lose, we lose.
I agree, but if there is one particularly troublesome position, say (fullback or goalie), 1 or 2 additions can help overall but even then not on a turnaround this short

Posted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 1:40 pm
by DIMKA76
Obong wrote:It might be unpopular, but desperate times require desperate measures. We foolishly lost 0-2 to Libya away and will need at least three unreplied goals in the second leg on Monday. With the Olympics football qualification on the line, I suggest the NFF field the strongest possible team. Since, fortuitously, several u23 players are in the Super Eagles camp and in Asaba for the Seychelles/Egypt matches, why not draft them in? Uzoho, Ikouwem Utin, Ozornwafor, Ndidi, Onyekuru and Osimhen could help turn the tide with superior play where we lacked in the first leg. After we eliminate Libya, the coaches can go back to restrategize for the African tournament in November. Since we struggled at goalkeeper, defence, midfield and scoring, it is worth a shot.

Individuals!!

Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 5:01 am
by Obong
Okay, where are the doubters? Sure glad that political correctness didn't cost us the desired progress to the Olympics. Congrats, Nigeria. A big Thank you to the troops.