The 6 seeds for AFCON 2019

he draw will take place on 12 April 2019, on a historic place facing the Sphinx and the Pyramids, near Cairo, Egypt.[28]

The 24 teams will be seeded into 4 pots based on the CAF National Team rankings. The 24 teams will be drawn into six groups of four teams. The hosts Egypt will be seeded in Group A.[26]

The seedings approved by the Organising Committee of the Africa Cup of Nations at its meeting on Monday, 25 March 2019 at the CAF headquarters in Cairo, Egypt, was determined taking into account the performance of the qualified teams during the following competitions:[29]

Africa Cup of Nations final tournaments (2013, 2015, 2017)
Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers (2015, 2017, 2019)
March 2019 FIFA World Rankings

Egypt (hosts, assigned to A1)
Cameroon (title holders)
Ghana
Ivory Coast
Tunisia
Senegal

Morocco
Nigeria
Algeria
Guinea
Mali
DR Congo

Uganda
South Africa
Guinea-Bissau
Zimbabwe
Angola
Burundi

Mauritania
Namibia
Benin
Kenya
Madagascar
Tanzania

If CAF goes by rankings, these teams will all be seeded ... seems the top guns may be separated and we may get some good games in the knock out stages or big upsets (Algeria and CIV will get one of those teams, so we may get 2 big games during the group stages

https://www.fifa.com/fifa-world-ranking ... e/men/#CAF
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:53 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Re: The 8 seeds for AFCON 2019

Why is Ghana seeded? They haven’t done anything for years.

There are 6 seeds not 8.

Simple maths.

And they dont go by FIFA rankings. THey use a combination of FIFA rankings, and past ANC results
aykwes8

Post by aykwes8 »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Why is Ghana seeded? They haven’t done anything for years.
Why the obsession with Ghana ? Is ghana the only team on the list you think does not deserve to be there? Why is it always a threat to see Ghana doing good or being recognized by others

aykwes8 wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Why is Ghana seeded? They haven’t done anything for years.
Why the obsession with Ghana ? Is ghana the only team on the list you think does not deserve to be there? Why is it always a threat to see Ghana doing good or being recognized by others
dude relax its a joke

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
aykwes8

Post by aykwes8 »

aykwes8 wrote:
dude relax its a joke
It’s not a joke if it’s an obsession

Oga, question for you
which country is the odd one out on the list?

(Hint: It's not Naija)

Bigpokey24 wrote:1: Senegal
2: Tunisia
3: Morocco
4: Nigeria
5: Doctor Congo
6: ghana
7 : Cameroon
8 : Egypt

If CAF goes by rankings, these teams will all be seeded ... seems the top guns may be separated and we may get some good games in the knock out stages or big upsets (Algeria and CIV will get one of those teams, so we may get 2 big games during the group stages

Don't believe they will do it based on FIFA ranking.

Bigpokey24 wrote:1: Senegal
2: Tunisia
3: Morocco
4: Nigeria
5: Doctor Congo
6: ghana
7 : Cameroon
8 : Egypt

If it's via FIFA ranking them it'll likely be the top four on your list plus hosts Egypt and holders Cameroon.

Oga, question for you
which country is the odd one out on the list?

(Hint: It's not Naija)

Well, Doctor Congo is still aspiring to create a country.

Re: The 6 seeds for AFCON 2019

the pots are out and we are in pot 2 because we failed to qualify for the last 2 ANCS

Pot 1

Egypt
Cameroon
Ghana
Ivory Coast
Tunisia
Senegal

Pot 2

Nigeria
Morocco
Algeria
Guinea
Mali
R Congo

Pot 3

Uganda
S. Africa
Guinea Bissau
Zimbabwe
Angola
Burundi

Pot 4

Mauritania
Namibia
Benin
Kenya
Madagascar
Tanzania

vancity eagle wrote:the pots are out and we are in pot 2 because we failed to qualify for the last 2 ANCS

Pot 1

Egypt
Cameroon
Ghana
Ivory Coast
Tunisia
Senegal

Pot 2

Nigeria
Morocco
Algeria
Guinea
Mali
R Congo

Pot 3

Uganda
S. Africa
Guinea Bissau
Zimbabwe
Angola
Burundi

Pot 4

Mauritania
Namibia
Benin
Kenya
Madagascar
Tanzania

That's about right. Missing out on two consecutive tournaments is not a recipe for being among the top seeds.

vancity eagle wrote:the pots are out and we are in pot 2 because we failed to qualify for the last 2 ANCS

Pot 1

Egypt
Cameroon
Ghana
Ivory Coast
Tunisia
Senegal

Pot 2

Nigeria
Morocco
Algeria
Guinea
Mali
R Congo

Pot 3

Uganda
S. Africa
Guinea Bissau
Zimbabwe
Angola
Burundi

Pot 4

Mauritania
Namibia
Benin
Kenya
Madagascar
Tanzania
KPOM. The seeds are in order. Nigeria does not belong to Pot 1 based on its recent AFCON performances.

In any case, remember that two teams automatically get out of each of the six groups (12) + four of the six third-placed teams also qualify for the knockout stages. IMHO, being seeded 1 matters very little and teams like Nigeria have a very good chance of getting to the knock out stage even if they finish third as long as they have at least 3 points. Four points, IMHO is definitely enough for the knockout stage.

In essence, getting out of the group stage is much easier than the past. The only difficulty is that instead of moving on straight into the quarter finals, there is now a knockout round before the quarter-final finals.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

4 > 3

My dream group: Ghana, Nigeria, S. Africa, Tanzania

Pot 1

Egypt
Cameroon
Ghana
Ivory Coast
Tunisia
Senegal

Pot 2

Nigeria
Morocco
Algeria
Guinea
Mali
R Congo

Pot 3

Uganda
S. Africa
Guinea Bissau
Zimbabwe
Angola
Burundi

Pot 4

Mauritania
Namibia
Benin
Kenya
Madagascar
Tanzania
The pots make sense.

Every team in Pot 1 & 2 should make it to the final 16 (2nd round).

Still think 24 teams is too much for the AFCON.

4 > 3
37 > 6

truetalk wrote:Still think 24 teams is too much for the AFCON.
Agreed.

CAF should adopt what UEFA did and effectively curtail the number of friendlies by introducing a new tournament.

24 teams is too much. I am shocked at the number of East and South African teams in this tournament

Undertaker wrote:24 teams is too much. I am shocked at the number of East and South African teams in this tournament
Are you shocked at the number of west African teams that didn't make it too?

Illiterate. There are almost 10 west African teams out of 24 ....use your head

Kabalega wrote:
Undertaker wrote:24 teams is too much. I am shocked at the number of East and South African teams in this tournament
Are you shocked at the number of west African teams that didn't make it too?
2 ? Togo and Barkina Faso? Chad and Niger don't play football

Pot 1

Egypt
Cameroon
Ghana
Ivory Coast
Tunisia
Senegal

Pot 2

Nigeria
Morocco
Algeria
Guinea