U23 - NIGERIA VS LIBYA 4-0 Nigeria Advances

Re: U23 - NIGERIA VS LIBYA 3-0

theYemster wrote:I'm confused, have they qualified for the Olympics or the U23 AFCON? :?
neither.

We have one more double header in June to qualify for U23 AFCON, then that tournament we have to finish top 3
Ok cos the commentators were claiming that the Olympic ticket is in the bag.

Re: U23 - NIGERIA VS LIBYA 4-0 Nigeria Advances

vancity eagle wrote:Okereke

The players who did not feature much today should be involved in tomorrows friendly

Bonaventure, Okereke, Kingsley,
Don’t think we need to field players on consecutive days...

And it looks tomorrow’s lineup is pretty much set...
Rohr at presser said GKs Akpeyi (1H)/Ezenwa (2H), andOnuachu starts for a less than 100% fit Ighalo.
Last edited by Gotti on Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

theYemster wrote:I'm confused, have they qualified for the Olympics or the U23 AFCON? :?
neither.

We have one more double header in June to qualify for U23 AFCON, then that tournament we have to finish top 3
We next play the winner of tomorrow’s Sudan vs Kenya tie in June (Sudan won first-leg 2-0)...
Last edited by Gotti on Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Next round of U23 AFCON...

To be played in Egypt in November...
And the top 3 teams qualify for the 2020 Olympics.

We face either Kenya or Sudan. Sudan won the first leg 2-0. Kenya will be hoping to reply them tomorrow.
JACKAL
Re: U23 - NIGERIA VS LIBYA 1-0

Post by JACKAL »

JACKAL wrote:Not watching ..But from the commentary it looks like Osimeh is the real deal and Awoniyi is not in the same class....
Or am I speaking too soon ??
I guess I wasn't speaking too soon.. Osimehen is the man...

Gotti wrote:Meanwhile, stadium looks mostly empty...

Monday afternoon or is the ticket price too much?
Monday Afternoon. It is HOTTTT!

Folks are hiding in the covered terraces.
I can imagine. Not sure why they didn't schedule it for evening or night.

Our people sef.
are you really seriously telling me you dont know why this favors us; have heard of Rangers vs mehallah of egypt

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

[color=brown]Gotti[/color] wrote:
[color=brown]theYemster[/color] wrote:
[color=brown]vancity eagle[/color] wrote:
[color=brown]theYemster[/color] wrote: I'm confused, have they qualified for the Olympics or the U23 AFCON? :?
neither.
We next play the winner of the Sudan vs Kenya tie in June (Sudan won first-leg 2-0)...
So Ogolo failed to mention that they chopped bottle again :mrgreen:. This time he has nowhere to hide as we will be all over that match like white on rice :rotf:.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Re: U23 QUALIFIER: NGR 0 vs LIBYA 0 (1H)

Rawlings wrote:Libya in big trouble
All the "BIG" boys are in the lineup
I see 5-0
There were several SE players in the line up.
Last edited by ohenhen1 on Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

So Awoniyi can't score one goal over two legs in a winner takes all games. Hmm.

I see 5-0
Apart from Uzoho, there were only fringe players...
And Valentine Ozornwafor is actually a U20 Flying Eagle.

I STILL WANT MY PENA!! :mad:

oscar52 wrote:So Awoniyi can't score one goal over two legs in a winner takes all games. Hmm.
Hopefully just a couple of bad days at the office...
But admittedly sorta concerning given the pressure we piled on the Libyans in both games.
Last edited by Gotti on Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

elerineye

Post by elerineye »

Gotti wrote:Meanwhile, stadium looks mostly empty...

Monday afternoon or is the ticket price too much?
Monday Afternoon. It is HOTTTT!

Folks are hiding in the covered terraces.
I can imagine. Not sure why they didn't schedule it for evening or night.

Our people sef.
Night? NEPA no go cooperate.
...work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. - Phil. 2: 12

...as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD. - Josh. 24: 15

"You need to grow up and respect the fact that people can disagree with you without you getting personal about it. People have a right to express their opinion and you have no right to try and suppress the rights of others because you do not like or disagree with it." - Waffiman

9jaMan wrote:Osimhen must be on the 23 man list for SE in Afcon. Simple and plain
He may need to be excused from June 3-11 to finish off these qualifiers...

I see 5-0
Apart from Uzoho, there were only fringe players...
And Valentine Ozornwafor is actually a U20 Flying Eagle.
Players they have been called up by Rohr.

ohenhen1 wrote:Players they have been called up by Rohr.
U23 teams have ALWAYS had players called up for the full NT...
Going back to the days of Kanu and Taribo for the 1996 Olympic qualifiers.

Rough couple of days for Libya. Losing "at home" to South Africa, to miss out on the African Nations Cup; and then surrendering a 2 nil advantage against us to miss out on the U23 Nations Cup.

Abeg someone should post the game highlights when available. Thanks in advance and kudos to the boys .

They had chances in both games to make an impact and blew it, especially their game against South Africa.
Well, too bad, so sad for them.
mystic wrote:Rough couple of days for Libya. Losing "at home" to South Africa, to miss out on the African Nations Cup; and then surrendering a 2 nil advantage against us to miss out on the U23 Nations Cup.

Speaking of which...
That's the second consecutive time that Libya will be hammered 4-0 in Nigeria. (ANCQ last year was also the same score)

Otitokoro wrote:Speaking of which...
That's the second consecutive time that Libya will be hammered 4-0 in Nigeria. (ANCQ last year was also the same score)

Also the 2nd consecutive time that our number 9 got a hattrick against them in that scenario.

Cheii!

They will dread coming to Nigeria in the future.

9jaMan wrote:Osimhen must be on the 23 man list for SE in Afcon. Simple and plain
He may need to be excused from June 3-11 to finish off these qualifiers...
So you want him to play in an age grade competition instead of the Senior African cup of nations?

oscar52 wrote:So Awoniyi can't score one goal over two legs in a winner takes all games. Hmm.

Awoniyi is a team player. U need to to understand his game. He is a quality player