QUICKEST SE GOAL BY A DEBUTANT

8 seconds
Last edited by jette1 on Wed Mar 27, 2019 5:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
Re: QUICKEST SE GOAL BY A DEBUTANTE

What's the quickest goal scored by a Nigerian international whilst playing for Nigeria?
lacidi

Post by lacidi »

The goal was 8 seconds not 18.
Its nice when someone shoots ur murderer in the back, without asking to be paid.

lacidi wrote:The goal was 8 seconds not 18.
typo

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Eaglezbeak wrote:What's the quickest goal scored by a Nigerian international whilst playing for Nigeria?
Exactly. It had never been done by a Nigerian NT player. As a matter of fact, only four times, previously, had a Nigerian NT player scored in the first minute of play in 70 years of Nigerian NT football. See link here https://www.aclsports.com/super-eagles- ... he-record/
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: QUICKEST SE GOAL BY A DEBUTANT

EnuguII Thanks for finding this
https://www.aclsports.com/super-eagles- ... he-record/

Super Eagles Paul Onuachu: The Goal and the Record
Chuka OnwumechiliChuka OnwumechiliMarch 27, 2019Blogs, Football, Super Eagles No Comments

It took Paul Ebere Onuachu just eight seconds to score Nigeria’s goal against Egypt in Asaba. Although the massive crowd roared, it may not have been clear that they had just witnessed a record that may never be broken in their lifetime.

For 70 years of Nigerian national team football, no Nigerian goal has been scored faster than Onuachu’s goal. In that span of history, the record indicates that only four goals have come within the opening minute for Nigeria (See Table).

Until Onuachu’s goal, the most memorable goal in the opening minute for Nigeria came on February 10 in 2000 with Nigeria playing against South Africa in the semi-final of the African Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Lagos
That goal saw South Africa turn the ball over to Tijani Babangia who sped forward and turned Mark Fish inside before shooting from 20 yards to score. It was a tactical plan by Nigeria to use the pacy Babangida against the slow Mark Fish but no one was looking for such a quick yield.

In Asaba, against Egypt in an international friendly it is important to recollect Onuachu’s goal because it is bound to be in the record books for ages. Right from the opening whistle of Ghanaian referee Charles Bulu, John Ogu received a pass and launched a 40-yard volley that found Onuachu.
Without much waste of time, Onuachu controlled it once and dipped a shoulder to go past an Egyptian marker and find himself right on the top of the 18-yard box with the ball descending from about 2 feet high. His second touch was to immediately strike the ball with his right shoelaces and it zipped left into the net beyond the Egyptian goalie. It was such a stunning opener. Only three players, all Nigerians, had touched the ball before it found its way into the net.

Scoring within the first minute of an international encounter is nothing to sneeze at. It is notable that Nigeria’s earliest opening goal in its first nine years of football came in the third minute from Noquapor in a 1957 encounter against Ghana and was not matched until Joe Aghoghovia’s third minute goal against Thailand in a pre-Olympic Games friendly in Mexico City.

It will take another 12 years before Segun Odegbami’s 2nd minute goal in the AFCON final (1980) against Algeria in Lagos set the record for Nigeria’s earliest goal. Then another 20 years before Babangida’s goal in 38 seconds against South Africa represented the benchmark that Onuachu disposed of against Egypt in Asaba.

For those who saw it live in Asaba and those who watched on television, they may never see that record goal broken in their lifetime by a player playing in the Nigerian team colors. It was a moment to cherish and to bank in longterm memory.

Table1: Fastest Goals Scored by the Nigerian national team

Time Year Scorer Opponent Venue FT Score Classification
8 secs 2019 Paul Onuachu Egypt Asaba 1-0 Intl. Friendly
38 secs 2000 Tijani Babangida South Africa Lagos 2-0 AFCON Semi-Final
1 min. 2012 Efe Ambrose Liberia Calabar 6-1 AFCON Q
1 min. 2011 Peter Utaka Ethiopia Abuja 4-0 AFCON Q
1 min. 2001 Victor Agali

Eaglezbeak wrote:What's the quickest goal scored by a Nigerian international whilst playing for Nigeria?
Exactly. It had never been done by a Nigerian NT player. As a matter of fact, only four times, previously, had a Nigerian NT player scored in the first minute of play in 70 years of Nigerian NT football. See link here https://www.aclsports.com/super-eagles- ... he-record/
Thanks

His 2nd cap.

Not a debutante though...

So which football player has broken the record of scoring the fastest goal ever?

jette1 wrote:8 seconds
Playing soccer is not about showcasing how fast you can run. We should not mix sprint and soccer. They will make fun of us if we keep on playing like this. A goal should be scored after several passes. Not kick and rush. Totally disappointing goal.
Kuku Ngbendu Wa Za Banga

Jubril Ogolo wrote:
Playing soccer is not about showcasing how fast you can run. We should not mix sprint and soccer. They will make fun of us if we keep on playing like this. A goal should be scored after several passes. Not kick and rush. Totally disappointing goal.
Abegi limit your counsel to steeple-chasing... :lol:

Jubril Ogolo wrote:
Ogbolo, I see you are trying hard to compete with Roachlings for his creepy-crawly title.
Don't even crawl there. You're better than that!