SUPER FALCONS 1 (Oparanozie) vs CANADA 2 (FT)

Oguleftie
Re: SUPER FALCONS 1 (Oparanozie) vs CANADA 2 (2H)

Post by Oguleftie »

Adisboy wrote:
Oguleftie wrote:Canada is not at full strength, their captain is not in.
Even then do not read any meaning into the ranking. Canada is not as good as the ranking.
By the way Falcons has always beaten Canada; their best has been to force a draw.
Nigeria far from full strenght, no Oshoala, no Ordega, no Payne. At least Canada's top stars entered in the second half while ours were unavailable for various reasons.
Was about to note that the addition of Oshoala and Ordega will significantly upgrade the team...
Very happy about Payne, but we really don’t know how she’ll fit in - until the Austrian pre-WC camp.
Keep up the good work Gotti.

What a pity. First time Canada has beaten Falcons.

Really?
They just beat the #3 ranked team in the world (England) on Friday 1-0.
This shows they might actually be better than their ranking.
Oguleftie wrote:
Adisboy wrote:
Even then do not read any meaning into the ranking. Canada is not as good as the ranking.
By the way Falcons has always beaten Canada; their best has been to force a draw.
Nigeria far from full strenght, no Oshoala, no Ordega, no Payne. At least Canada's top stars entered in the second half while ours were unavailable for various reasons.
I said ......"Even then do not read any meaning into the ranking. Canada is not as good as the ranking" .....
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

Otitokoro wrote:Really?
They just beat the #3 ranked team in the world (England) on Friday 1-0.
This shows they might actually be better than their ranking.
Oguleftie wrote:
Adisboy wrote:
I said ......"Even then do not read any meaning into the ranking. Canada is not as good as the ranking" .....
Yes believe it. Do not forget that other countries not previously in women football have recently come in to join the party; countries like Spain, Netherlands, etc, etc, etc who were never in world tournaments are likely going to kick the FIFA ranking door down.
Oguleftie
Re: SUPER FALCONS 1 (Oparanozie) vs CANADA 2 (FT)

Post by Oguleftie »

Remember that in 1999 when Falcons were playing in the knockout stages of the WWC, countries like England, Canada, etc were nowhere to be found.
And when England & Canada etc later came around Spain, Netherlands etc were nowhere to be found.
Now give that a thought.

Oguleftie wrote:Remember that in 1999 when Falcons were playing in the knockout stages of the WWC, countries like England, Canada, etc were nowhere to be found.
And when England & Canada etc later came around Spain, Netherlands etc were nowhere to be found.
Now give that a thought.
what's your point? Do you know how much money those countries invest in the women game? When will you invest in women football back home?

Your argument is based on the presumption that the likes of the US, England, France have been stagnant over the last decade or so (which is clearly not the case).
The current top 15 according to the latest FIFA ranking is as follows: US, Germany, England, France, Canada, Australia, Japan, Netherlands, Sweden, Brazil, Korea DPR, Norway, Spain, Korea Rep and Italy.
I would argue that these same teams (save for China) have been in the top 10 teams over the last decade or 2.
The likelihood of a 'random' team outside of those 15 winning the world cup or creating a 'shock' is slim, if not remote.
Oguleftie wrote:Remember that in 1999 when Falcons were playing in the knockout stages of the WWC, countries like England, Canada, etc were nowhere to be found.
Now give that a thought.
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

Otitokoro wrote:Your argument is based on the presumption that the likes of the US, England, France have been stagnant over the last decade or so (which is clearly not the case).
The current top 15 according to the latest FIFA ranking is as follows: US, Germany, England, France, Canada, Australia, Japan, Netherlands, Sweden, Brazil, Korea DPR, Norway, Spain, Korea Rep and Italy.
I would argue that these same teams (save for China) have been in the top 10 teams over the last decade or 2.
The likelihood of a 'random' team outside of those 15 winning the world cup or creating a 'shock' is slim, if not remote.
Now give that a thought.
You are misunderstanding.
That is not my argument; read it again.
Answer the 1999 question first.

Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

Oguleftie wrote:
Otitokoro wrote:Your argument is based on the presumption that the likes of the US, England, France have been stagnant over the last decade or so (which is clearly not the case).
Now give that a thought.
You are misunderstanding.
That is not my argument; read it again.
Answer the 1999 question first.
1999 is not a decade ago.

I am not certain about the usefulness of these matches. The only thing we seem to be learning from them is that we can’t beat oyibo teams :!: