AFCON 2019 Draw 04/12/19 SE Seeded

Re: [AFCON Group F] GHANA, Cameroon, Benin, Guinea-Bissau

balo wrote:With Cameroon in the group, do the dynamics change? Or you still think you gonna win the group?
we are winning AFCON 2019
There you have it. I tried to get you to be modest.
Just remember, 1982.
It will stay 1982.
Oga Balo
I am prepared to stack $1982 on Ghana
want to take me on?
Much as I respect James Appiah.

You aint winning Jack.

I can take you up on this. $1982
Re: AFCON 2019 Draw 04/12/19 SE Seeded

ohenhen1 wrote:Nigeria should get 9 points from Group B.
...not gonna be that easy.
All our players are foreign based and just coming off tough season.
Our opponents are local based league players and have been gelling for years.

wiseone wrote:Man, I am a prophet!
I predicted 75% of Nigeria's group! :thumbs:
wiseone wrote:Best Case: Nigeria, Mali, Madagascar, Burundi

Worst Case: Nigeria, Algeria, South Africa, Angola

Algeria and IVC lurking in Pot 2. They will give someone a bloody nose.
So you're patting yourself on the back for "predicting" Nigeria will be in Nigeria's group? :)

Excellent draw for us... :clap:

So you're patting yourself on the back for "predicting" Nigeria will be in Nigeria's group? :)

ohenhen1 wrote:There is going to be a lot of poor games in the group stages.
We warned them but they wanted more teams.

They = Enugu II and CAF

But mostly Enugu II. :D
Yeyeman,

Am I missing something? Have the games been played already? :???:
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Fantastic draw for us. :clap:

oyek wrote:
We can’t complain. Group D has it bad though.

Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

I hate this new 24-team format. The quality of the ACN was already bad with 16 teams.

Its even more predictable which teams will advance since the overall group quality has fallen given the expansion of the tournament.

Egypt, DRC, Nigeria, Guinea, Senegal, Algeria, Morocco, CIV, Tunisia, Mali, Cameroon, and Ghana will all advance with their eyes closed. Then you have 4 more teams on top of them that'll advance.

Egypt at home is a different beast so I peg us as the favourites. Nonetheless there is a lot of parity in Africa these days so its anyone's guess as to who will win. Based on what I saw at last year's WC, I'll say Morocco is good enough to win it.

I hope Nigeria finishes 2nd in their group so that Egypt can teach them a lesson in the QF round :taunt:

mystic wrote:

:rotf: You guys go kill persin

oyek wrote:
We can’t complain. Group D has it bad though.
Loving the flags in group F. All Red, yellow and green. Evenly matched :smile:

They = Enugu II and CAF

Yeyeman,

The quality has been poor in recent editions with 16 teams. Now you decided to let in 8 more teams -some of which couldn't even qualify for the poor recent editions. Why did you decide to do lower the standard? :D

They = Enugu II and CAF

Yeyeman,

The quality has been poor in recent editions with 16 teams. Now you decided to let in 8 more teams -some of which couldn't even qualify for the poor recent editions. Why did you decide to do lower the standard? :D
Yeyeman,

And BTW some of these teams made it. Oh, here are the ones who failed to make it even in a 24-team tournament:

Burkina Faso
Togo
Zambia
Gabon
Congo Republic

Bros, here are also the factors that you may have missed:

1. The gap between the top teams and others has closed considerably
2. The point above led to several supposedly top teams, including Nigeria and Egypt, failing to make the tournament in recent years.

The 24-tourney takes care of the two points above considerably. Will you have some poor teams? Yes, of course. That occurs even at the World Cup let alone the Euro or the AFCON. But overall, the tourney will be balanced. Let's wait for the tourney to conclude, IMO.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics