Page 1 of 2

How Joel Tiehi destroyed Ghana

Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 2:25 pm

one of the classic games in AFCON 94 ..the goal by Charles Akunnor was sick, he scored a similar vs Brazil in Atlanta

Re: How Joel Tiehi destroyed Ghana

Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:11 pm
by deanotito
Joel Tiehi. Now that was a baller

Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:14 pm
by Dammy
I remember Yeboah and his white boots from that game.

Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:44 pm
by Enugu II
Dammy wrote:I remember Yeboah and his white boots from that game.
Dammy,

As you mention "white boots" it reminded me of an outburst from Chikelue Iloenyosi after George Weah had taken him (Iloenyosi) to the cleaners in a WC qualifier in Monrovia against Liberia. He told the media that Bonfrere had insulted him by saying that instead of stopping Weah, he (Ilenyosi) was out there admiring Weah's boots.

Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:20 pm
by Gotti
Yep, I remember this game as one of the highlights of the 1994 AFCON... :clap:

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 1:09 am
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Gotti wrote:Yep, I remember this game as one of the highlights of the 1994 AFCON... :clap:

didnt some of our defenders tactically remove Tiehi and Abdoulaye Traore when we faced them? Same thing Italians did to us months later when Albertini took our both Amokachi and Amunike... :curse: :curse: :curse: :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry:

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 1:14 am
That CIV team was actually one of the best teams ..we finished level on points during the worldcup qualifiers....I remember the 1st leg we lost and sss refused to pass to yekini, that's when he lost his shirt, and Amo became Yekini's support striker..later sss was moved to midfield...

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 1:19 am
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Bigpokey24 wrote:That CIV team was actually one of the best teams ..we finished level on points during the worldcup qualifiers....I remember the 1st leg we lost and sss refused to pass to yekini, that's when he lost his shirt, and Amo became Yekini's support striker..later sss was moved to midfield...

they also gave us a hard time during the ANC...that Bassole of a guy was terrorizing us. Thankfully Iroha and Okocha combined for that beautiful goal. I think we eliminated them on PKs?

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 1:21 am
Yeap, with Yekini scoring the winning pk..but yeking did miss many goals in that game...

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 1:44 am
Bigpokey24 wrote:That CIV team was actually one of the best teams ..we finished level on points during the worldcup qualifiers....I remember the 1st leg we lost and sss refused to pass to yekini, that's when he lost his shirt, and Amo became Yekini's support striker..later sss was moved to midfield...
what does the three "S" in SSS mean?

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 1:46 am
growing up, how many of you first thought "Abedi Pele" was actually "Abbey the Pele?" :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 2:24 am
by deanotito
danfo driver wrote:growing up, how many of you first thought "Abedi Pele" was actually "Abbey the Pele?" :lol: :lol: :lol:

Umm, I think you dey on ya own on that one

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 2:54 am
deanotito wrote:
danfo driver wrote:growing up, how many of you first thought "Abedi Pele" was actually "Abbey the Pele?" :lol: :lol: :lol:

Umm, I think you dey on ya own on that one
probably :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:26 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Samson SiaSia

I could be wrong

I thought his nickname was SiaOne, but perhaps, SSS came after CCC?

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:55 pm
by Waffiman

they also gave us a hard time during the ANC...that Bassole of a guy was terrorizing us. Thankfully Iroha and Okocha combined for that beautiful goal. I think we eliminated them on PKs?
Yep. We did eliminate them on penalties. They were a fantastic team and unlucky on the day. Bassole was pure terror. Yekini almost cost us that ANC with his misses, like he cost us in the WC.

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 1:47 pm
by gurrano
One wonders what would have happened with the Ivorian team if Oumar Ben Salah had not been arrested in France prior to the end of their world cup qualifying campaign. I think it was rather unfortunate for Africa that we both had to be in the same qualifying group for the 1994 WC because this team would have definitely made some noise if they had made it to the tourney.

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 1:55 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
gurrano wrote:One wonders what would have happened with the Ivorian team if Oumar Ben Salah had not been arrested in France prior to the end of their world cup qualifying campaign. I think it was rather unfortunate for Africa that we both had to be in the same qualifying group for the 1994 WC because this team would have definitely made some noise if they had made it to the tourney.

dunno about that though. Ivoriens frequently carry loaded teams, only to flatter to deceive. I remember their 2006 WC team..... :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry:

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 3:32 pm
by Waffiman
gurrano wrote:One wonders what would have happened with the Ivorian team if Oumar Ben Salah had not been arrested in France prior to the end of their world cup qualifying campaign. I think it was rather unfortunate for Africa that we both had to be in the same qualifying group for the 1994 WC because this team would have definitely made some noise if they had made it to the tourney.

dunno about that though. Ivoriens frequently carry loaded teams, only to flatter to deceive. I remember their 2006 WC team..... :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry:
I concur.

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 3:58 pm
Samson SiaSia

I could be wrong

I think so. :lol: I always wondered why he wasn't just called "SS"

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:51 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Samson SiaSia

I could be wrong

you should be thankful they didnt make it SSSS...e go be like person abi na snake dey hiss

SamSon SiaSia

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 5:02 pm
Samson SiaSia

I could be wrong

you should be thankful they didnt make it SSSS...e go be like person abi na snake dey hiss

SamSon SiaSia

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 8:14 pm
by mcal
Gotti wrote:Yep, I remember this game as one of the highlights of the 1994 AFCON... :clap:

didnt some of our defenders tactically remove Tiehi and Abdoulaye Traore when we faced them? Same thing Italians did to us months later when Albertini took our both Amokachi and Amunike... :curse: :curse: :curse: :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry:
...but they nearly beat us if not for the brilliance defender Iroha and winger Finidi feeding Yekini, then the pk shootout, a thunderous last one from Yekini sealed the win.
At final Zambia with replacement side nearly shocked us again, until Amunike did double trick. Great time to be a Nigerian.

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 8:53 pm
by lukemana

Abdoulaye Traore was wounded by Benedict Iroha. It was difficult to tell whether he did it on purpose or not. However, Tiehi Joel was hurt before the gain. He could not take it anymore and was taken out on a stretcher in the second half. NOBODY TOUCHED HIM!!!

Cheers!