U-17 AFCON NIGERIA 5 TANZANIA 4

Re: U-17 AFCON NIGERIA 5 TANZANIA 4

JACKAL wrote:
Enugu II wrote:Very good beginning for Nigeria. It is never easy beating a home team in an opener. Good thing that the squad is now settled as per MRI. Even though FIFA will conduct an MRI of ALL TEAMS at the U17 WC, those results will not be used to disqualify any of the players. Instead, they are used as part of ongoing studies. Moreover, FIFA does also understand that some players at the U17 WC time will be over the age of 17 years based on FIFA policy. Moreover, I believe there will be opportunity between now at the U17 WC (if the team gets there) to find a GK if this one does not improve.
Does Fifa test everyone (Including European teams) or is it just kids from Developing countries ?
Yes, it would be interesting to see what percentage of European players with verifiable birth records fail the MRI test compared to African players. We've once had a Nigerian player born and raised in the USA fail the test.

JACKAL wrote:
Enugu II wrote:Very good beginning for Nigeria. It is never easy beating a home team in an opener. Good thing that the squad is now settled as per MRI. Even though FIFA will conduct an MRI of ALL TEAMS at the U17 WC, those results will not be used to disqualify any of the players. Instead, they are used as part of ongoing studies. Moreover, FIFA does also understand that some players at the U17 WC time will be over the age of 17 years based on FIFA policy. Moreover, I believe there will be opportunity between now at the U17 WC (if the team gets there) to find a GK if this one does not improve.
Does Fifa test everyone (Including European teams) or is it just kids from Developing countries ?
FIFA tests everyone. However, because of the possibility that several kids from Europe and Americas fail the test and yet have safeproof birth certificates, that is possibly the reason that FIFA does not use its MRI test to disqualify players. Instead, those test results are used for further study. Remember, that as many as 35% of U17 players (all over the globe) failed this test even before MRI was officially introduced.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

JACKAL wrote:
FIFA tests everyone. However, because of the possibility that several kids from Europe and Americas fail the test and yet have safeproof birth certificates, that is possibly the reason that FIFA does not use its MRI test to disqualify players. Instead, those test results are used for further study. Remember, that as many as 35% of U17 players (all over the globe) failed this test even before MRI was officially introduced.

EII:

This has been my argument since the Chukwudi saga. Folks are taking this MRI test too religiously, despite the fact that the scientific study appears to suggest to treat the findings with caution.

JACKAL wrote:

EII:

This has been my argument since the Chukwudi saga. Folks are taking this MRI test too religiously, despite the fact that the scientific study appears to suggest to treat the findings with caution.
Chief Ogbunigwe,

You are right. In fact, there is no scientific study that is foolproof. They are all based on how much confidence that one should place on its results within a given parameter. I think, as I have argued, that its use (in spite of some errors) is a great improvement over relying on passports of players from our country. While, it obviously leads to exclusion of some Nigerian players who may actually be U17, it helps exclude many that are over that age. This, perhaps, explains the Maduabuchi case that has been argued ad infinitum on this site.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Comprehensive highlights...

Courtesy of @ pastorhotr99

JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

That number 13 Amoo is a really good player....
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

That number 13 Amoo is a really good player.... I told you all...that boy is special... that close control in small quarters and ability to shoot in traffic and create chaos like that is messi like...

https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=31781

Golden Eaglets 'Little Messi' Wins CAF's First Man Of The Match Award At U17

Sidos FC super kid Akinkunmi Amoo has been recognized for his outstanding performance in the Golden Eaglets 5-4 win over Tanzania in the opening match of the U17 Africa Cup of Nations on Sunday afternoon, with the Confederation of African Football officially naming him as the Man of the Match, allnigeriasoccer.com understands.

Nicknamed 'Little Messi' by his teammates, Amoo took the accolade ahead of Giant Brillers FC striker Wisdom Ubani, who scored either side of half-time, and Tanzania U17s golden boy Kevin John 'Mbappe'.

The 2002-born Amoo had a hand in all the three goals scored by the five-time world champions in the first half.

Olatomi Alfred Olaniyan pounced on a rebounded shot from the number 13 to open the scoring in the 21st minute and Wisdom Ubani benefited from his assist when he restored the lead on the half-hour mark.

Eight minutes before half-time, the lively Amoo showed off his silky skills, beat the goalkeeper and tapped the ball into an empty net.

He was replaced by Divine Nwachukwu in second-half injury time with the outcome of the game all but decided.
mapet

Post by mapet »

The commentator kept mentioning "Olisehguni", I was wondering which Nigerian tribe bears that name.....only to discover he meant Olusegun :lol: :lol: :lol:

The second pen to Tanzania should have been a free kick. Our keeper is useless at penalties

That Nigerian goal keeper is very bad... but boy those were some phenomenal goals, especially the last one from the Nigerian kid :clap:

JACKAL wrote:That number 13 Amoo is a really good player.... I told you all...that boy is special... that close control in small quarters and ability to shoot in traffic and create chaos like that is messi like...

https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=31781

Golden Eaglets 'Little Messi' Wins CAF's First Man Of The Match Award At U17

Sidos FC super kid Akinkunmi Amoo has been recognized for his outstanding performance in the Golden Eaglets 5-4 win over Tanzania in the opening match of the U17 Africa Cup of Nations on Sunday afternoon, with the Confederation of African Football officially naming him as the Man of the Match, allnigeriasoccer.com understands.

Nicknamed 'Little Messi' by his teammates, Amoo took the accolade ahead of Giant Brillers FC striker Wisdom Ubani, who scored either side of half-time, and Tanzania U17s golden boy Kevin John 'Mbappe'.

The 2002-born Amoo had a hand in all the three goals scored by the five-time world champions in the first half.

Olatomi Alfred Olaniyan pounced on a rebounded shot from the number 13 to open the scoring in the 21st minute and Wisdom Ubani benefited from his assist when he restored the lead on the half-hour mark.

Eight minutes before half-time, the lively Amoo showed off his silky skills, beat the goalkeeper and tapped the ball into an empty net.

He was replaced by Divine Nwachukwu in second-half injury time with the outcome of the game all but decided.

Amen make our people stop this "Little Messi" thing....

pajimoh wrote:The second pen to Tanzania should have been a free kick. Our keeper is useless at penalties

Most keepers are useless at penalties

pajimoh wrote:The second pen to Tanzania should have been a free kick. Our keeper is useless at penalties

this one no even pick ball wey just pass beside him. It's like he's given up in his mind of saving the pens. Look at the first one, it hit the post and even get time come hit the goalkeeper for leg before ball roll in. The second one just stroll pass him, the ball even "mssshhheew" at the goalkeeper as it waka go inside net.
mapet

Post by mapet »

...but this goalkeeper's own is extra special....... he needs to find another calling

Gotti wrote:Comprehensive highlights...

This Ubani Kid should be in the AFCON team.

Yeah, I am an agent! There!!!

That Wisdom Ubani boy. Kai!! :clap:

The way Amoo dribbled the gk and smashed the ball in. Kai!! :clap: :clap:

I want this team to meet Ghana and spell " Federation Republico Du Short Peopulus of Gold Coast or Ghana" without conceding any.

mapet wrote:The commentator kept mentioning "Olisehguni", I was wondering which Nigerian tribe bears that name.....only to discover he meant Olusegun :lol: :lol: :lol:

Goldleaf wrote:That Wisdom Ubani boy. Kai!! :clap:

The way Amoo dribbled the gk and smashed the ball in. Kai!! :clap: :clap:
What I like about him is that he is competent with both feet.
His first goal was on his left and second his right, both high precision strikes. :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

Tobi17 wrote:That Nigerian goal keeper is very bad... but boy those were some phenomenal goals, especially the last one from the Nigerian kid :clap:
The Tanzanian goal keeper was very good, but still chopped 5 goals ...

Tobi17 wrote:That Nigerian goal keeper is very bad... but boy those were some phenomenal goals, especially the last one from the Nigerian kid :clap:
The Tanzanian goal keeper was very good, but still chopped 5 goals ...

You dey mind our Elder Youths, abi na Youth Elders?

Who remembers how Alampasu was insulted at the beginning of the U-17 tournament, before he ended up as the best GK (if my memory neva travel :sneaky: ) ?

Also, Amunike's deadly striker was called names....not only did he excel in the tornament, but has done well for the SE when called upon.

No kill me o, I just dey ask question but have these guys gone through the age testing scans? I hate to follow U-Anything, but NFF posted the pic of the no. 13 Amoo guy with MOTM award and he doesn’t look U-17 to me. Just asking o...