AFCON19: Updates [Uganda Loses Key Midfielder]

Re: AFCON 2019: Updates..[Gyan v Ayew Finally forces Retirem

Bigpokey24 wrote:what the heck is a general captain
A General captain is Stephen Keshi at the 1994 AFCON who was not captain on the field but stepped up to collect the cup.

A General captain is Joseph Yobo at the 2013 AFCON who was not captain on the field but stepped up to collect the cup.

You're still going to collect beatings when I catch you in Houston.
Re: AFCON19: Updates [Tunisia Requests Schedule Changes/Heat

Waddi Jaril calls for rescheduling of 2019 AFCON fixtures
https://www.aclsports.com/waddi-jaril-c ... -fixtures/

Tunisia Football Federation president Waddi Jaril says a request has been made to CAF to review kick-off times of some matches at the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt due to an expected hot weather in the North African country at that time of the year.

A report released on Sunday by medical doctors from Tunisia noted that matches scheduled for 16h30 local time could be dangerous for the health of players who could face temperatures of up to 40 degrees Celsius.

“The President has submitted a request for reconsideration of the schedule of meetings because of possible damage to the hearts of players and the negative impact of increased body heat on their performance,” Tunisia’s football body said in a statement.

CAF president Ahmad Ahmad said his medical team are currently examining the request and would make a statement soon.

The AFCON original dates were altered due to the Muslim fasting month which ends few days ahead of the opening match on June 21.

Tunisia, who are participating for the 18th time, will open their campaign against Angola in Group E before facing Mali and Mauritania.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: AFCON19: Updates [Tunisia Requests Schedule Changes/Heat

Africans! what a disgraceful and shameless lot! They sold their souls to satisfy their European masters by moving the AFCON from January to the summer, preferring to commit mass suicide of participating teams. smh... What a shameless group of people. Shey the European masters you were kowtowing for by moving Afcon from January will come and save you now. :roll:

We had an ANC period we had used for decades, but no! Lets move it! Lets not upset the Europeans! idiots!

Waddi Jaril calls for rescheduling of 2019 AFCON fixtures
https://www.aclsports.com/waddi-jaril-c ... -fixtures/

Tunisia Football Federation president Waddi Jaril says a request has been made to CAF to review kick-off times of some matches at the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt due to an expected hot weather in the North African country at that time of the year.

A report released on Sunday by medical doctors from Tunisia noted that matches scheduled for 16h30 local time could be dangerous for the health of players who could face temperatures of up to 40 degrees Celsius.

“The President has submitted a request for reconsideration of the schedule of meetings because of possible damage to the hearts of players and the negative impact of increased body heat on their performance,” Tunisia’s football body said in a statement.

CAF president Ahmad Ahmad said his medical team are currently examining the request and would make a statement soon.

The AFCON original dates were altered due to the Muslim fasting month which ends few days ahead of the opening match on June 21.

Tunisia, who are participating for the 18th time, will open their campaign against Angola in Group E before facing Mali and Mauritania.
Re: AFCON19: Updates [TUNISIA Requests Schedule Change/Heat]

Let them move the games to evening games...yes it is going to be hot...however I am glad the games are in the summer months..

Why was the tournament moved to the summer in the 1st place??? Ugh CAF sucks.

bret- hart wrote:Why was the tournament moved to the summer in the 1st place??? Ugh CAF sucks.
To placate the white masters who demanded the use of their African slaves in their European plantation in January and February.

isn't it supposed to be rainy season in June or is that not in effect in Egypt ?

bret- hart wrote:Why was the tournament moved to the summer in the 1st place??? Ugh CAF sucks.
To placate the white masters who demanded the use of their African slaves in their European plantation in January and February.
That's your interpretation abeg.
Re: AFCON 2019: Updates..[Gyan v Ayew Finally forces Retirem

Bigpokey24 wrote:what the heck is a general captain
The guy in charge of sharing monies to his team mates. He will liaise with government to negotiate and agree on allowances and will take his cut from all players and officials.

By the way shebi their native doctor say Ghena will only win if the Abedi Pele boy is captain..... why spoil the jazz?

Sure! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Keep trying to move fixtures, while your masters have already finished their season, dusted their hands and couldn't give a sh*t about whether your players die on the pitch. Wetin concern them for inside? They demanded that you move your tournament to suit them and you did! "Masssa massa! we will never inconvenience you! Massa! we will move it, even if our players perish on the pitch! Massa!" :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Slaves! Always at the beck and call of the master!

Lets test something! What do you think would happen if Africans ask the Europeans to change the date of their championship! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Let me help you, they will laugh in your face! :lol: :lol: Slaves!

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Unfortunately,, he is saying the truth. That's what part of the Pinnick led campaign for Ahmad CAF presidency. We debated this before. There was also talk of the under 20 WC, female WC and other sporting events probably over shadowing AFCON in relation to sponsorship and viewership.

Yep, for donkey years UEFA and European clubs had been screaming for the AFCON to move to the summer so they would not lose African players in mid-season. CAF finally succumbed. This now means:

1) Every 2 years AFCON will now clash with Copa America, and

2) It now adds yet another end of season tournament the year after the World Cup - that will knacker out the players at the end of already gruelling season...
Unfortunately,, he is saying the truth. That's what part of the Pinnick led campaign for Ahmad CAF presidency. We debated this before. There was also talk of the under 20 WC, female WC and other sporting events probably over shadowing AFCON in relation to sponsorship and viewership.
Last edited by wiseone on Thu May 30, 2019 7:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

guys i understand CAF bent over backwards, but it's been done, just maybe the next CAF ogas at the top can change things, but i actually like it so those yeye clubs won't have excuses about not signing AFCON players

And the inevitable clash with the Confederations cup every two years. It won't happen with the next Confederations Cup as that will ostensibly be held in winter but we will face the prospect if an African team playing two tournaments in one summer.

aruako1 wrote:
And the inevitable clash with the Confederations cup every two years. It won't happen with the next Confederations Cup as that will ostensibly be held in winter but we will face the prospect if an African team playing two tournaments in one summer.
There's no more Confederations cup.

wiseone wrote:Yep, for donkey years UEFA and European clubs had been screaming for the AFCON to move to the summer so hey would not lose African players in mid-season. CAF finally succumbed (even though it means that every 2 years AFCON will now clash with Copa America, the Euros, and/or the World Cup...).
Just the Copa, the tournament is held in odd years.

wiseone wrote:Yep, for donkey years UEFA and European clubs had been screaming for the AFCON to move to the summer so hey would not lose African players in mid-season. CAF finally succumbed (even though it means that every 2 years AFCON will now clash with Copa America, the Euros, and/or the World Cup...).
Just the Copa, the tournament is held in odd years.
Thanks. I wasn't aware.

Just ran across this, love this guys candidness and ability to express himself

Yes they should move kick off time for two reasons. First it will be too hot and secondly I cant watch all of the games live at 1630GMT kick off time. Anything after 7 PM will work.

Africa Cup of Nations: Uganda midfielder Waiswa out through injury
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/48568428
By Momodou Bah

Uganda's Moses Waiswa is out of the Nations Cup in Egypt through injury
Uganda's Football Federation (Fufa) has confirmed midfielder Moses Waiswa will miss this month's Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt because of a knee injury.

The 22 year-old suffered the injury in Abu Dhabi where the Cranes are preparing for the tournament which kicks off on 21 July.

"The technical team has confirmed the player will not take any part further in the camp in Abu Dhabi following medical assessment of the injury," said Fufa Communications Manager Ahmed Hussein on the Federation's website.

"Plans are underway to organise his travel back home for further treatment and recovery of the injury," Hussein added.

Waiswa won the 2017/18 league title with Vipers SC and is the reigning Fufa Player of the Year.

He was a regular for Uganda in their qualifying campaign for the 2019 Nations Cup.

The Cranes will open their account in Group A of the Africa Cup of Nations against DR Congo on 22 June before facing Zimbabwe four days later and hosts Egypt on 30 June.
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

Bigpokey24 wrote:guys i understand CAF bent over backwards, but it's been done, just maybe the next CAF ogas at the top can change things, but i actually like it so those yeye clubs won't have excuses about not signing AFCON players
wanna bet that it would have no statistically significant effect on the recruitment of african players?
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
Re: AFCON 2019: Updates.....News

wiseone wrote:Egypt and Morocco are the favourites for me. Looking forward to seeing Ziyech and that Morocco team (the best technical footballing team in Africa IMHO). They were robbed by refereeing banditry at the WC and deserve better.
I agree on Morocco.

Egypt however do not have the overall quality accross the starting 11 that Morocco has, but they are the host. I think Egypt will fall in the Semis.

I chose one of Nigeria, Senegal, or Morocco to win.

Going by past precedent the favourites never win, and it is always a team under the radar.

If we look at past winners none were favourites

Cameroon - favourites Senegal
CIV - favourites Algeria
Nigeria - favourites CIV
Zambia - favourites CIV

Could it be a resurgent CIV who have an explosive offence ?

Egypt are not only the hosts, but are Nations Cup specialists. They are playing good football under Javier Aguirre, and of course have the talismanic Salah. They have to be favorites to win.

Beyond Egypt, Morocco and Senegal are the two best teams in Africa and should be the co-favourites. As for the Super Eagles, I really like our team and this is the best team we've had since the Christian Chukwu and Augustine Eguavon led teams of the early to mid 2000s. However I hesitate to see us as favorites given the question marks surrounding our goalkeeping. However, we are certainly one of the contenders and if one of our goalkeepers steps and has a good tournament, we are certainly capable of winning it.