Page 5 of 5

Re: AFCON 2019: Updates.....News

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 5:09 pm
by Flex Swift
mystic wrote:
wiseone wrote:Egypt and Morocco are the favourites for me. Looking forward to seeing Ziyech and that Morocco team (the best technical footballing team in Africa IMHO). They were robbed by refereeing banditry at the WC and deserve better.
I agree on Morocco.

Egypt however do not have the overall quality accross the starting 11 that Morocco has, but they are the host. I think Egypt will fall in the Semis.

I chose one of Nigeria, Senegal, or Morocco to win.

Going by past precedent the favourites never win, and it is always a team under the radar.

If we look at past winners none were favourites

Cameroon - favourites Senegal
CIV - favourites Algeria
Nigeria - favourites CIV
Zambia - favourites CIV

Could it be a resurgent CIV who have an explosive offence ?

Egypt are not only the hosts, but are Nations Cup specialists. They are playing good football under Javier Aguirre, and of course have the talismanic Salah. They have to be favorites to win.

Beyond Egypt, Morocco and Senegal are the two best teams in Africa and should be the co-favourites. As for the Super Eagles, I really like our team and this is the best team we've had since the Christian Chukwu and Augustine Eguavon led teams of the early to mid 2000s. However I hesitate to see us as favorites given the question marks surrounding our goalkeeping. However, we are certainly one of the contenders and if one of our goalkeepers steps and has a good tournament, we are certainly capable of winning it.

Nigeria has a goalkeeper that lets in shots taken from the half way line and some people think they have a chance at winning lol the goal keeper doesn’t know the rules and picks up the ball outside the 18

Re: AFCON19: Updates [Uganda Loses Key Midfielder]

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 5:49 pm
by Kabalega
Waiswa is out with a knee injury! :shock: :shock:

Kai, Africa and the world will not see this talented lad at work.

Maybe in two years.

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:30 pm
by Bell
Flex Swift wrote:
mystic wrote:
wiseone wrote:Egypt and Morocco are the favourites for me. Looking forward to seeing Ziyech and that Morocco team (the best technical footballing team in Africa IMHO). They were robbed by refereeing banditry at the WC and deserve better.
I agree on Morocco.

Egypt however do not have the overall quality accross the starting 11 that Morocco has, but they are the host. I think Egypt will fall in the Semis.

Going by past precedent the favourites never win, and it is always a team under the radar.

CIV - favourites Algeria
Nigeria - favourites CIV
Zambia - favourites CIV

Egypt are not only the hosts, but are Nations Cup specialists. They are playing good football under Javier Aguirre, and of course have the talismanic Salah. They have to be favorites to win.

Beyond Egypt, Morocco and Senegal are the two best teams in Africa and should be the co-favourites. As for the Super Eagles, I really like our team and this is the best team we've had since the Christian Chukwu and Augustine Eguavon led teams of the early to mid 2000s. However I hesitate to see us as favorites given the question marks surrounding our goalkeeping. However, we are certainly one of the contenders and if one of our goalkeepers steps and has a good tournament, we are certainly capable of winning it.

Nigeria has a goalkeeper that lets in shots taken from the half way line and some people think they have a chance at winning lol the goal keeper doesn’t know the rules and picks up the ball outside the 18

WHAT'S ALL THIS BROUHAHA ABOUT THE GOALKEEPING?

Wasn't this the same group that managed the WC qualifiers & tournament, as wells as the AFCON qualifiers? If they are good enough then, have they become bad all of a proverbial sudden?

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 12:48 am
by mystic
Bell wrote:
Flex Swift wrote:
mystic wrote:
I agree on Morocco.

CIV - favourites Algeria
Nigeria - favourites CIV
Zambia - favourites CIV

WHAT'S ALL THIS BROUHAHA ABOUT THE GOALKEEPING?

Wasn't this the same group that managed the WC qualifiers & tournament, as wells as the AFCON qualifiers? If they are good enough then, have they become bad all of a proverbial sudden?

Our goalkeeping was poor during the ANC qualification. Uzoho was fine during the World Cup, but last season he was hardly getting games at his clubside which translated to shaky performances in goal for Nigeria. Ezenwa has some ability but is yet to show that he can be trusted with making consistently good decisions. Perhaps this will be his opportunity to prove himself if Rohr is still uneasy about Uzoho. As for Akpeyi, the less said about him, the better.

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 3:23 pm
by ohenhen1
Nigeria is the clear favorite.

Re: AFCON 2019: Updates..[Gyan v Ayew Finally forces Retirem

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 10:29 pm
by Eaglezbeak
olu wrote:With his performances for the Black Stars Gyan has certainly earned his place as a legend of African football. With that being said, he has been underwhelming this season, so I wouldn't be surprised if Appiah's plan truly was to bring him off the bench.

Gyan has a very impressive record with the Black Stars, one very few players in Africa can match. His club career on the other hand is average.
Wow,it's that easy,he may be a Legend in Ghana but having won nothing at senior level what makes him an African legend?The word legend shouldn't be thrown around like that as there are forgotten players that have scored in AFCON finals and won titles (Mba) but serial penalty blunderers are being called African legends,OK!

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 10:32 pm
by Eaglezbeak
ohenhen1 wrote:Nigeria is the clear favorite.
Not at all but they are amoungst the favourites!

Re: AFCON19: Updates [Tunisia Requests Schedule Changes/Heat

Posted: Fri Jun 21, 2019 11:17 pm
danfo driver wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Africans! what a disgraceful and shameless lot! They sold their souls to satisfy their European masters by moving the AFCON from January to the summer, preferring to commit mass suicide of participating teams. smh... What a shameless group of people. Shey the European masters you were kowtowing for by moving Afcon from January will come and save you now. :roll:

We had an ANC period we had used for decades, but no! Lets move it! Lets not upset the Europeans! idiots!

Waddi Jaril calls for rescheduling of 2019 AFCON fixtures
https://www.aclsports.com/waddi-jaril-c ... -fixtures/

Tunisia Football Federation president Waddi Jaril says a request has been made to CAF to review kick-off times of some matches at the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt due to an expected hot weather in the North African country at that time of the year.

A report released on Sunday by medical doctors from Tunisia noted that matches scheduled for 16h30 local time could be dangerous for the health of players who could face temperatures of up to 40 degrees Celsius.

“The President has submitted a request for reconsideration of the schedule of meetings because of possible damage to the hearts of players and the negative impact of increased body heat on their performance,” Tunisia’s football body said in a statement.

CAF president Ahmad Ahmad said his medical team are currently examining the request and would make a statement soon.

The AFCON original dates were altered due to the Muslim fasting month which ends few days ahead of the opening match on June 21.

Tunisia, who are participating for the 18th time, will open their campaign against Angola in Group E before facing Mali and Mauritania.
Slaves! They have gone to mortgage our players' health to please their European masters.