MRI finds 6 AFCON U17 players overage

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:50 am
by 1naija
MRI tests find six players as being overage at CAF U17 finals15th April 2019
http://www.insideworldfootball.com/2019 ... 17-finals/

April 15 – Six players have been banned from taking part in the U17 Africa Cup of Nations in Tanzania after failing MRI tests to determine their age and eligibility for the competition. 

The hosts kicked off the competition with a spectacular 4-5 defeat at the hands of Nigeria in the opening match of the junior competition, but the early stages of the event have been overshadowed by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) stopping six players from taking part in the tournament after failing MRI tests.

The hosts had one player banned from the tournament, but Cameroon were the most affected team with three players, according to the BBC. FIFA has used MRI scans since 2009 to ensure players are eligible for youth competitions, but doubts remain over the accuracy of the test.

Pre-competitions cardiac exam (PCCA) records were also used and consulted to determine the eligibility of players as CAF tried to clamp down on any form of age-cheating.

The tournament in Tanzania also serves as the qualification process for the U-17 World Cup. The best two teams from each group will automatically book their place at the tournament in Brazil later this year. In the other group A game Angola defeated Uganda 1-0. The tournament will conclude with the final on April 28 in Dar Es Salaam, host city for all the competition’s matches.

Contact the writer of this story, Samindra Kunti, at moc.llabtoofdlrowedisni@ofni

Re: MRI finds 6 AFCON U17 players overage

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:52 am
by 1naija
After the fact, txj, how come no Nigerian player was disqualified? Abi you didnt share your own test result with CAF?

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 4:02 am
by Eaglezbeak
1naija wrote:After the fact, txj, how come no Nigerian player was disqualified? Abi you didnt share your own test result with CAF?
Nigeria has moved on from letting old men look for glory before they retire!

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 4:22 am
by 1naija
1naija wrote:After the fact, txj, how come no Nigerian player was disqualified? Abi you didnt share your own test result with CAF?
Nigeria has moved on from letting old men look for glory before they retire!
Does ATF know this?

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:21 am
by Benedict Iroha
Start threatening these players will jail time when they are caught.

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:39 am
by Kabalega

April 15 – Six players have been banned from taking part in the U17 Africa Cup of Nations in Tanzania after failing MRI tests to determine their age and eligibility for the competition.

The hosts kicked off the competition with a spectacular 4-5 defeat at the hands of Nigeria in the opening match of the junior competition, but the early stages of the event have been overshadowed by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) stopping six players from taking part in the tournament after failing MRI tests.

The hosts had one player banned from the tournament, but Cameroon were the most affected team with three players, according to the BBC. FIFA has used MRI scans since 2009 to ensure players are eligible for youth competitions, but doubts remain over the accuracy of the test.

Pre-competitions cardiac exam (PCCA) records were also used and consulted to determine the eligibility of players as CAF tried to clamp down on any form of age-cheating.

The tournament in Tanzania also serves as the qualification process for the U-17 World Cup. The best two teams from each group will automatically book their place at the tournament in Brazil later this year. In the other group A game Angola defeated Uganda 1-0. The tournament will conclude with the final on April 28 in Dar Es Salaam, host city for all the competition’s matches.

Contact the writer of this story, Samindra Kunti, at moc.llabtoofdlrowedisni@ofni
Which cardiac exams can help determine a player's eligibility?

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:21 am
by Senator WIRES
Contact the writer of this story, Samindra Kunti, at moc.llabtoofdlrowedisni@ofni
Fake!Fake! News :P :P

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:46 am
by Damunk
Kabalega wrote:

Pre-competitions cardiac exam (PCCA) records were also used and consulted to determine the eligibility of players as CAF tried to clamp down on any form of age-cheating.

Which cardiac exams can help determine a player's eligibility?
I don't think the writer knows what the hell he is talking about.
The PCCA is probably done to ensure their hearts are in good shape and that they won't collapse and die on the field as a result of a pre-existing heart condition, a la Okwaraji.

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:52 am
by Eaglezbeak
Benedict Iroha wrote:Start threatening these players will jail time when they are caught.
If we where talking about countries that where run by laws (they respected) and accountability I’ll agree but if birth certificates where available and records where kept like they are supposed to be then they would be committing fraud but since most African countries don’t really take such things seriously enough I don’t think locking them up will change much.

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:56 am
by Rawlings
I am shocked.
How the hell could this happen ?

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:57 pm
by chief nfachairman
AGain, I say, MRI is not accurate. Some woudl fail and some would pass.

those 2013 boys where NOT under 17.

And not even majority of the current set though they are better than the past sets

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:43 pm
by 1naija
Senator WIRES wrote:
Fake!Fake! News :P :P
Use Google. That's not the only report on it. Even Suya posted an article on it on his Facebook page. And he is the business.

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:55 pm
by Damunk
chief nfachairman wrote:AGain, I say, MRI is not accurate. Some woudl fail and some would pass.

And not even majority of the current set though they are better than the past sets
Feelings or backupable fact?

I think I know the answer...

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 2:18 pm
by Gotti
chief nfachairman wrote:AGain, I say, MRI is not accurate. Some woudl fail and some would pass.

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:45 pm
by kawawa

Show some data on sensitivity and specificity of MRI for this indication. No test is perfect but surely must be a lot better than a forged birth certificate. If our kids pass it, we should accept it

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:18 pm
by metalalloy

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:06 pm
by JACKAL

MRi is accurate enough....Nobody is saying its perfect...even FIFA concedes in its own studies that its 99.6% accurate...which is pretty good and better than relying on Passports or the honor system.

What's different between 2013 and 2019 is that they are now conducting multiple and more more rigorus independent and well monitored testing of the players. FIFA is also going to be testing 4 players at random after each game during the tournament.

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:51 pm
by Rawlings
JACKAL wrote:

MRi is accurate enough....Nobody is saying its perfect...even FIFA concedes in its own studies that its 99.6% accurate...which is pretty good and better than relying on Passports or the honor system.

What's different between 2013 and 2019 is that they are now conducting multiple and more more rigorus independent and well monitored testing of the players. FIFA is also going to be testing 4 players at random after each game during the tournament.
FIFA should leave Naija alone
It was not their intention to cheat

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 12:32 pm
by maceo4
Glad it’s none of our players we are doing a better job. :thumbs:

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 1:36 pm
by Damunk
maceo4 wrote:Glad it’s none of our players we are doing a better job. :thumbs:
Yes.
The only thing I'd add to that is that it would be unfair to accuse all those that 'failed' the MRI test of "cheating", i.e. being "overage".

If this test were universally applied and they performed it on ALL U17 players from all over the world, a certain percentage of those young boys with certified birth certificates will "fail" the test - even those that might have passed it a few months before.

In a youth, the bones are growing and eventually fusing at different rates and at different times.
It is an imprecise science and therefore not 100% foolproof.

It is similar to what in medicine is termed 'false positives' (which you find in highly or overly sensitive tests) and 'false negatives' which is the opposite. Who knows how many rushed to call him a "cheat".
Thank God he is now the one laughing last.