AFCON U17: NIGERIA 1 VS UGANDA 1

Re: AFCON U17: NIGERIA 1 VS UGANDA 1

Ibraheem Jabaar is MoM.
Was also impressed with the very tall DM - Fawaz.
Reminds me of Patrick Viera (Arsenal)

Congrats to our lads. Much work still needs to be done.

Abbey

Post by Abbey »

This team is good. Was very impressed with their calmness and composure from the back to the front. A lot of ball distribution from the keeper to the defense and the rest of the team. Very few long balls. I commend the coaching staff on that. Even though the Nigerian goal was a long splitting pass to Jabber the overall ball distribution was excellent! Jabbar’s first touch on the pass was sublime. And the way he tucked the ball pass the keeper was equally impressive.
One thing the coach needs to work on is the haste of the strikers shooting at acute angles instead of cutting the ball to open team mates for easy tap ins. I counted at least four occasions at these missed opportunities.
But this team is good and will contend for medals in the World Cup.
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.

All of Uganda’s chances (and their goal) came from set plays...

ogasir

Post by ogasir »

Once Wisdom Ubani polishes his FK taking ability. He is going to be very dangerous.
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST

The NFF should try to get an invite to the Toulon tournament

Dude,
The Toulon tournament is NOT for U17s
You should know that after all these years

Besides, no African teams were invited this year to the tournament
ohenhen1 wrote:The NFF should try to get an invite to the Toulon tournament
Gadfly

Post by Gadfly »

I saw two players whose font design of their shirt number (number 5 and 13?) were different from the rest. Why are the U17 treated to discarded training jerseys?

Post by JACKAL »

The unbelievable lack of finishing is really troubling regarding this Naija team. They hold the well, pass well, movement is really good all around and somehow they cant put the ball in the back of the net with the last touch. Its just crazy !!!

Cameroon looks like a really team, not as good as us, but seem to finish their opportunities. Manu needs to figure something out before they meet a team like that...
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

Gotti wrote:GAME OVER!
WE QUALIFY!!

So Gotti..did we already qualify from the Tanzania game or we just qualifying...?? I don't understand ??

Putting head down and wiring a hot shot directly at the keeper is kinda wasted energy and they doing it over and over, they need to learn to pass the ball around in the final third until they find better scoring chances rather than wasting their energy.
megapro

Post by megapro »

JACKAL wrote:
WE QUALIFY!!

So Gotti..did we already qualify from the Tanzania game or we just qualifying...?? I don't understand ??
lol

He conceded which is something lacking on this board
Can we ALL savour this qualification together

20 minutes to the end such a promising team was on the verge of getting out and it would have been painful if this team with the direct attacking guile of 2001, 2007 finalists was eliminated...

At least we are sure of 3 games to enjoy these boys on the world stage

I'm surprised though that outlets like Vanguard were reporting that Nigeria were the first team that qualfied
megapro 2012:
Keshi should be left alone to continue his program, and seriously has a chance of casting his name in gold

JACKAL wrote:
WE QUALIFY!!

We had 6 points. If Uganda beat us, they would have qualified along with Angola ahead of us.

megapro wrote:Can we ALL savour this qualification together
We sure can! :thumb:

:D :D :D

truetalk wrote:
JACKAL wrote:
WE QUALIFY!!

We had 6 points. If Uganda beat us, they would have qualified along with Angola ahead of us.
Tiebreakers
Teams are ranked according to points (3 points for a win, 1 point for a draw, 0 points for a loss), and if tied on points, the following tiebreaking criteria are applied, in the order given, to determine the rankings (Regulations Article 72):[4]

1. Points in head-to-head matches among tied teams;
2. Goal difference in head-to-head matches among tied teams;
3. Goals scored in head-to-head matches among tied teams;
4. If more than two teams are tied, and after applying all head-to-head criteria above, a subset of teams are still tied, all head-to-head criteria above are reapplied exclusively to this subset of teams;
5. Goal difference in all group matches;
6. Goals scored in all group matches;
7. Drawing of lots.

Looking at these, if we had lost by a 1-0 to Uganda, the top 3 teams would all have lost to each other by a 1-0 scoreline. Scenario 1-4 would not have resolved the issue.
Goal difference in scenario 5;
Nigeria (5-4,1-0,0-1 GD +1)
Angola (1-0,0-1,4-2 GD +2)
Uganda(0-1,3-0,1-0 GD +3)
We would have been out based on condition #5.
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

I guess we are meeting Guinea and Cameroon is meeting Angola.

Guinea beat Morocco 1-0..Cameroon tied 0-0 with Senegal..