Should Okocha help save the club that saved him?

Bolton Wanderers hope to appoint administrator this week following relegation from the Championship
  • Bolton appeared in the High Court this week over a £1.2m unpaid tax bill
    Chairman Ken Anderson filed documents to place the club into administration
    Company on behalf of late owner Eddie Davies's Trust also filed Notice of Intent
Following Bolton's relegation from the Premier League in 2012, Okocha stated that his time at the club was now rendered a waste of time, because the club had not invested and improved on the foundations that was laid during his time there
Source: https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footb ... -week.html
Re: Should Okocha help save the club that saved him?

Perfect opportunity for someone with a few millions laying around to own an EPL caliber team.

oscar52 wrote:Perfect opportunity for someone with a few millions laying around to own an EPL caliber team.
Spot on!
what's the name of the Naija billionaire who planned to buy a formula 1 side?
He should take this on

oscar52 wrote:Perfect opportunity for someone with a few millions laying around to own an EPL caliber team.
Spot on!
He should take this on

From F1 to buying Wanderers?

That's in part why you are no billionaire...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Spot on!
He should take this on
That's why u are no businessman

Buy Cheap; Fix it; Sell expensive

Bolton didn't save Okocha. Big Sam getting Okocha to move to Bolton was a real steal.

Spot on!
He should take this on

That may work with used wrecked cars. Investing in football, is not that simple, because the return is not fast and not as guaranteed. If it were that simple, American investors would have been all over English teams.

ANC wrote:
Spot on!
He should take this on
That may work with used wrecked cars. Investing in football, is not that simple, because the return is not fast and not as guaranteed. If it were that simple, American investors would have been all over English teams.
Oga, come with your A-game when debating me ..... :)
  • 1) The Glazer family(Americans), bought Manchester United in 2005; Will bank a massive profit of £2.2billion if they sell the club today
    2) Sheikh Mansour (Qatar) bought Man City in 2008 for £210 million. Today it's worth $2billion
    3) Abrahamovich (Russian) bought Chelsea in 2003 for £140 million. Today he will demand an offer of at least £2.5 billion to consider selling Chelsea
    4) Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha (Malaysian) bought Leicester in 2010 for £39m. Today it is worth $500m
    5) Andrea Radrizzani (Italian) bought Leeds United for peanuts. It's a work in progress
    6) Lebron James bought 2% of Liverpool at $6.5 million (when the club was down). That stake has grown tremendously in value to approximately $32 million. (LINK)
    ...want more?

I suppose these are all wrecked cars :laugh:
Naija businessmen don't know the business of long term investment.

Bolton is not exactly Chelsea or Man-U apples and oranges. Outside of the top teams, the investment becomes too risky.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: This is why you dont have money. You have a few millions laying about and you will sink it into a debt-ridden division 3 club? An asset where you not only purchase the assets, within, but purchase a huge debt? And start digging out? With your few millions laying about?

Oh Boy, if you ever become rich, abeg hire a financial advisor. Please. I beg you.

Spot on!
He should take this on

He thinks this is a fixer-upper! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

ANC wrote:Bolton is not exactly Chelsea or Man-U apples and oranges. Outside of the top teams, the investment becomes too risky.
  • Chelsea was a middle of the road club (like West Ham) until Abrahamovic bought it. They had not won a single English league title before Abrahamovic (I think)
    Man City was a middle of the road club before the Qataris took over
    Leicester looked like a risky investment until they won the EPL and value shot up by 1000%
    Leeds is a case of a club that was going nowhere. They are on the verge of EPL promotion
    These were all not glamorous clubs, but with the right investment and management they turned good
My point still holds: "Buy; Fix; Sell"
Last edited by Rawlings on Fri May 10, 2019 4:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: This is why you dont have money. You have a few millions laying about and you will sink it into a debt-ridden division 3 club? An asset where you not only purchase the assets, within, but purchase a huge debt? And start digging out? With your few millions laying about?

Oh Boy, if you ever become rich, abeg hire a financial advisor. Please. I beg you.
Ofcourse you do a thorough financial analysis including debt, cash flow, revenue projections etc. Lets say that they have a total debt of $30million (including the $1.2mil owed to HMRC) because if they are owing city taxes they probably owe other debts as well. An offer of $50m is not bad and if they own their stadium, I will sweeten the deal to $80m (their stadium will cost $100m+ to build today). The price paid will first settle all liabilities and owners get the rest. I will also get the city to agree to a tax holidays of 10 years or until we are back to profitability, if the club goes comatose, so many downstream jobs and their related taxes also dry up. You have to think long term here and this is not for short money guys but billionaires. Heck of you cozy up with city officials they might use city money to renovate your stadium for you for free or for a small city stake in the ownership of the stadium. The real question is that if the club is back in the Premiership, how much will it be worth? If the figure is say $400m (closer to Leicester's $500). Then it means if you can at least break even or sustain small loses while they are in D3 and the Championship, you can then cash out $320 million or 400% when they are back in the Premiership with a 10 year projection. If the said $80mil is invested in the stock market over 10 years at the average return rate of 8% you will end up with $170m after 10 years or 116% return. I will take 400% over 116% anyday. Their is always an element of risk in investment and you win some and you lose some, for every UBER their are 1000s of ventures given millions to that a penny was not reaped in return. But if you have deep pocket and invest with your eyes open and careful analysis their is profit to be had here. Are there better investments? Yes, condominiums construction for example probably will give better return over ten years if the housing market doesn't crash. That's why I used the words " a few millions laying around", this is for the like of people with a net worth of $1billion or more.

ANC wrote:
Spot on!
He should take this on
  • 1) The Glazer family(Americans), bought Manchester United in 2005; Will bank a massive profit of £2.2billion if they sell the club today
    2) Sheikh Mansour (Qatar) bought Man City in 2008 for £210 million. Today it's worth $2billion
    3) Abrahamovich (Russian) bought Chelsea in 2003 for £140 million. Today he will demand an offer of at least £2.5 billion to consider selling Chelsea
    4) Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha (Malaysian) bought Leicester in 2010 for £39m. Today it is worth $500m
    5) Andrea Radrizzani (Italian) bought Leeds United for peanuts. It's a work in progress
    6) Lebron James bought 2% of Liverpool at $6.5 million (when the club was down). That stake has grown tremendously in value to approximately $32 million. (LINK)
    ...want more?

It's a Billionaires game ( buying football clubs) or at least a multimillionaire with a few 100Million to Spare but saying that Jay Jay should be influential enough to gather some backing and work with rich partners and companies to do something!

ANC wrote:
Spot on!
He should take this on
    ...want more?

It's a Billionaires game ( buying football clubs) or at least a multimillionaire with a few 100Million to Spare but saying that Jay Jay should be influential enough to gather some backing and work with rich partners and companies to do something!
Read past the headline
I suggested the naija billionaire who planned to buy a formula one team should buy Bolton
I never suggested Jay Jay should buy.

Funny enough I was listening to a podcast last week with Sam Allardyce where he said that when he managed Bolton, Okocha was earning twice as much as the next highest paid player at the club.

oscar52 wrote:

Ofcourse you do a thorough financial analysis including debt, cash flow, revenue projections etc. Lets say that they have a total debt of $30million (including the $1.2mil owed to HMRC) because if they are owing city taxes they probably owe other debts as well. An offer of $50m is not bad and if they own their stadium, I will sweeten the deal to $80m (their stadium will cost $100m+ to build today). The price paid will first settle all liabilities and owners get the rest. I will also get the city to agree to a tax holidays of 10 years or until we are back to profitability, if the club goes comatose, so many downstream jobs and their related taxes also dry up. You have to think long term here and this is not for short money guys but billionaires. Heck of you cozy up with city officials they might use city money to renovate your stadium for you for free or for a small city stake in the ownership of the stadium. The real question is that if the club is back in the Premiership, how much will it be worth? If the figure is say $400m (closer to Leicester's $500). Then it means if you can at least break even or sustain small loses while they are in D3 and the Championship, you can then cash out $320 million or 400% when they are back in the Premiership with a 10 year projection. If the said $80mil is invested in the stock market over 10 years at the average return rate of 8% you will end up with $170m after 10 years or 116% return. I will take 400% over 116% anyday. Their is always an element of risk in investment and you win some and you lose some, for every UBER their are 1000s of ventures given millions to that a penny was not reaped in return. But if you have deep pocket and invest with your eyes open and careful analysis their is profit to be had here. Are there better investments? Yes, condominiums construction for example probably will give better return over ten years if the housing market doesn't crash. That's why I used the words " a few millions laying around", this is for the like of people with a net worth of $1billion or more.

Bro, there is just so much wrong in your projection. So, much. Anyway, when you are ready, go and make your 50 million dollar offer. :lol:

wiseone wrote:Funny enough I was listening to a podcast last week with Sam Allardyce where he said that when he managed Bolton, Okocha was earning twice as much as the next highest paid player at the club.
Did he also open his worm-infested mouth to explain that Okocha came to Bolton on a free transfer, so Bolton did not pay a transfer fee?

Allardyce is a typical tout, so not surprised that he lacks home training. He should know that it is uncouth to discuss another person's finances or any other private matter in public.