Mikel confirmed for Afcon!

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 8:38 pm
http://aoifootball.com/2019/05/13/break ... id-cheers/

If you don't like it feel free to hug a non Nepa transformer. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

Re: Mikel confirmed for Afcon!

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 8:48 pm
by 1naija
I like that he is willing to go and give the squad moral support.

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 8:54 pm
by jette1
1naija wrote:I like that he is willing to go and give the squad moral support.
He is not limited to moral support he is marshaling the midfield and more

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 9:09 pm
1naija wrote:I like that he is willing to go and give the squad moral support.
Don't make me reach through my screen and slap u in the face with a job application. :laugh:

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 11:31 pm
by 9jaMan
On current form the three man midfield should be mikel, ndidi and iwobi, with a three man attack of chukwueze, onyekuru, and ighalo(osimhen)

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 11:45 pm
by ohenhen1
Azubuike, Ndidi, Iwobi

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 11:48 pm
by john12
Etebo is the number 1 midfielder on our list. I was so impressed with him at the World Cup and for all ndidi hype, he was ok at the World Cup

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 3:01 am
by Undertaker
Thanks but no thanks. We don't need a walking midfielder at the Afcon

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 4:01 am
by maceo4
Undertaker wrote:Thanks but no thanks. We don't need a walking midfielder at the Afcon
He lightly jogs around lol.

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 4:05 am
Undertaker wrote:Thanks but no thanks. We don't need a walking midfielder at the Afcon
We'll take it.

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 4:06 am
by maceo4
We'll take it.
Do we have a choice lol

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 9:51 am
by Eaglezbeak
We'll take it.
Do we have a choice lol
Mikel has to attend for now!

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 11:46 am
by waka-man
We have a really good problem in midfield.
It is clear Rohr favours 4-3-3 and that he sees Iwobi, when included, as one of his mid-3.
So you are looking at 3 from:
Iwobi
Etebo
Ndidi
Mikel

First, each of these guys would be a likely starter for any team in Africa. So it’s a good problem.
We also have to agree that both Ndidi and Mikel, despite other aspirations, are best just in front of the back four with two box to box guys in front of them.

So what do you do?

You could bench Mikel and have Iwobi and Etebo in front of Ndidi but you lose the ability to dictate the pace of the game in the Egyptian heat that Mikel gives you. You also become much more predictable.

Or you could bench Ndidi but lose an incomparable ball winner.

I suspect Rohr will sacrifice Etebo or Iwobi and play Mikel ahead of Ndidi again. It’ll sow the game down and limit our work rate, as well as expose Mikel. But he’ll find passes to the front three that no one can.

It’ll be interesting to see how this pans out.

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 2:37 pm
by maceo4
waka-man wrote:We have a really good problem in midfield.
It is clear Rohr favours 4-3-3 and that he sees Iwobi, when included, as one of his mid-3.
So you are looking at 3 from:
Iwobi
Etebo
Ndidi
Mikel

First, each of these guys would be a likely starter for any team in Africa. So it’s a good problem.
We also have to agree that both Ndidi and Mikel, despite other aspirations, are best just in front of the back four with two box to box guys in front of them.

So what do you do?

You could bench Mikel and have Iwobi and Etebo in front of Ndidi but you lose the ability to dictate the pace of the game in the Egyptian heat that Mikel gives you. You also become much more predictable.

Or you could bench Ndidi but lose an incomparable ball winner.

I suspect Rohr will sacrifice Etebo or Iwobi and play Mikel ahead of Ndidi again. It’ll sow the game down and limit our work rate, as well as expose Mikel. But he’ll find passes to the front three that no one can.

It’ll be interesting to see how this pans out.
You could bench who? :rotf: Sans injury, I'd really love to see that! I think it will be more predictable than interesting...

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 2:46 pm
Etebo, Mikel and Ndidi, will start as long as they are fit

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 8:52 pm
by kolinzo
Hmm...Naija football is dead!! smhbt!

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 10:28 pm
kolinzo wrote:Hmm...Naija football is dead!! smhbt!
why? Because the best player we've had in the last decade is going to another Afcon with the SE?

Gerrarra hia mein. :roll:

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 10:40 pm
by ANC
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:http://aoifootball.com/2019/05/13/break ... id-cheers/

If you don't like it feel free to hug a non Nepa transformer. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

Them get power?