So called "World Class Stadium" in Benin City.

Re: So called "World Class Stadium" in Benin City.

bret- hart wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:Bret hart, once again, what's wrong with Edo names? This is the 2nd time I am asking you this question. You've crossed a path of no return

Edo names are long and full of consonants. Took me months to correctly pronounce my GF last name. Btw no be your bros be dis? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Kai! All of una don craze finish!
tell us your own name then :roll: :roll: :roll:

Damunk wrote:Looks good. Not sure about "world class" though.
Looks like a reconstruction rather than a totally new design
But it's about time Edo started reclaiming its place in Nigerian sports by bringing back the glory days of the old Bendel State.
Up Bendeh! :thumb:
True. I was part of that era.
Two weeks ago, I was in Benin, and was not aware the stadium is undergoing reconstruction, I would've visited the site and take some photos.
I used to watch top league matches at Ogbe stadium back in the late 70s and early 80s.

Sir V wrote:
Damunk wrote:Looks good. Not sure about "world class" though.
Looks like a reconstruction rather than a totally new design
But it's about time Edo started reclaiming its place in Nigerian sports by bringing back the glory days of the old Bendel State.
Up Bendeh! :thumb:
True. I was part of that era.
Two weeks ago, I was in Benin, and was not aware the stadium is undergoing reconstruction, I would've visited the site and take some photos.
I used to watch top league matches at Ogbe stadium back in the late 70s and early 80s.

Polly

Post by Polly »

bret- hart wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:Bret hart, once again, what's wrong with Edo names? This is the 2nd time I am asking you this question. You've crossed a path of no return

Edo names are long and full of consonants. Took me months to correctly pronounce my GF last name. Btw no be your bros be dis? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

A comedian, most likely. Does not sound like a real name to me, and I am a mainstream Edo/Esan man.
Aswani

Post by Aswani »

DIMKA76 wrote:When I was a kid all I used to hear was Ogbe stadium. Didn't ever hear the fill name - Samuel Ogbemudia stadium.
It was always Ogbe stadium and only changed its name some time ago.

Ogbe was never short for 'Samuel Ogbemudia'

Is this the old Ogbe stadium :?: :!:

Please update the pictures of the stadium.

Aswani wrote:
DIMKA76 wrote:When I was a kid all I used to hear was Ogbe stadium. Didn't ever hear the fill name - Samuel Ogbemudia stadium.

Ogbe stadium was named after the area, Ogbe Quarters.

Sir V wrote:
Aswani wrote:

Ogbe stadium was named after the area, Ogbe Quarters.
The full name of the stadium in Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium.
Aswani

Post by Aswani »

Dammy wrote: The full name of the stadium in Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium.
Now maybe but not when it was called Ogbe stadium.

theYemster wrote:Why do we just love to name stadiums after ourselves? That's how many now? It's like we're obsessed with it now. If you want to immortalize people, build a museum.

Why not get corporate sponsorship by offering naming rights to companies so the stadium can at least fund its own maintenance costs?
I dont have a problem with it to be honest, at least not in this particular case.
But corporate sponsorship makes far more sense.
They could get creative and name it the 'Samuel Ogbemudia TOTAL Stadium' for instance (or the 'Samuel Ogbemudia Shell/Airtel/Yemstarcorp Stadium') if they must preserve an individual's legacy.
...Nigeria is not mature (business-wise) enough to do a corporate named stadium.
I know we like to emulate western Europe, America.
But what giant company will sign on when you don't have a successful club side that play at the stadium?
Naming after past icons, for now, is way to go.
I disagree. A giant company will still sign regardless, due to the issue you raised it'll just a question of how much they will offer. It may but be as much as they would if a big club plays there regularly. After all they hire some of the players as brand ambassadors for pretty much a thirty second commercial.

However they could counter it with signing an agreement with the FA to have an agreed ol number of national team matches play there.

The officials are just incompetent, inept, corrupt and lack vision. I believe every single Stadium in the country is named after an individual or the city. Such a waste.

oyek

Post by oyek »

Dammy wrote:Please update the pictures of the stadium.
Here you go
If not for Jesus, where will i be?