Page 1 of 2

Why Ighalo May be Primed for AFCON 2019

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 6:41 pm
by Enugu II
Here is why Odion Ighalo may be ready to explode at AFCON 2019 (including stats)
Presently, his record of 0.407 goals per game is ahead of reputed goal scorers such as Yakubu Aiyegbeni (0.362) and Ikechukwu Uche (0.396), and not far behind Obafemi Martins (0.419).
From 2017/18 season, he had scored 36 in 55 games for Changchung Yatai in China, a ratio of 0.65 goals per game, and then at Shanghai Shenhua in China he has scored 7 in 9 games, 0.78 goals per game! This is a striker that appears primed for a strong AFCON.
A look at the careers of Nigerian top goal scorers at an AFCON (Those with at least three goals), Ighalo's career goal scoring statistics do not appear to be out of place. Table 1 shows his career stats compared to those players.
For details, click on the following link:

https://eaglecity.blogspot.com/2019/05/ ... d-for.html

Re: Why Ighalo May be Primed for AFCON 2019

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 7:01 pm
by pajimoh

Missghalo primed? Anyways sha, stranger things have happened

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 7:01 pm
by 1naija
Enugu II wrote:Here is why Odion Ighalo may be ready to explode at AFCON 2019 (including stats)
Presently, his record of 0.407 goals per game is ahead of reputed goal scorers such as Yakubu Aiyegbeni (0.362) and Ikechukwu Uche (0.396), and not far behind Obafemi Martins (0.*****).
From 2017/18 season, he had scored 36 in 55 games for Changchung Yatai in China, a ratio of 0.65 goals per game, and then at Shanghai Shenhua in China he has scored 7 in 9 games, 0.78 goals per game! This is a striker that appears primed for a strong AFCON.
A look at the careers of Nigerian top goal scorers at an AFCON (Those with at least three goals), Ighalo's career goal scoring statistics do not appear to be out of place. Table 1 shows his career stats compared to those players.

If you remove the Libya games, what will the ratio be? :mad:

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 8:50 pm
by maceo4
Enugu II wrote:Here is why Odion Ighalo may be ready to explode at AFCON 2019 (including stats)
Presently, his record of 0.407 goals per game is ahead of reputed goal scorers such as Yakubu Aiyegbeni (0.362) and Ikechukwu Uche (0.396), and not far behind Obafemi Martins (0.*****).

Hexactry, we won’t be playing Libya and Seychelles at the NC.

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 9:52 pm
by Eaglezbeak

No he’ll be up against the might of Burundi, Guinea and of cause Madagascar.Argentina and Croatia won’t stand in our way so it’s not that scary, Iggy has done well in Africa so I’d prefer him over Nacho who unfortunately faded in all competitions for club and country and yes some will say he isn’t the same type of player but he’s more likely to score at least in the early stages!

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 10:06 pm
by Obong
EnuguII, some players defy statistics. It'll be awesome, though, if Ighalo could top more explosive players like Aghahowa and Emenike.

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 10:33 pm
by BAP

On top that remove the PK's and then lets evaluate ...

Guy is just not it abeg ...decent player but there are far more effective options for Naija

Personally Ahmed Musa and Onyekuru are the strikers we need nothing more .. Iheanacho is more of a playmaker

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 11:25 pm
by Enugu II
BAP wrote:

Guy is just not it abeg ...decent player but there are far more effective options for Naija

Personally Ahmed Musa and Onyekuru are the strikers we need nothing more .. Iheanacho is more of a playmaker
BAP & 1Naija,

If we remove the Libya game and the PKs, would you advocate doing the same for other top Nigerian players. Do you also think we should remove the games Ighalo played less than 60 minutes?

The bottomline is that PKs count towards a player's goals including the likes of Harry Kane and Messi. We also know that players score in a surge in a few games including the best players. Thus, it makes no sense removing this or that from Ighalo's record. He is who he is. He has shown that in the EPL and in China. He is a streaky guy but surely he has maintained a good goal scoring record over the latter part of his career. The question is will that streakiness occur at the AFCON or not?

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 12:27 am
by ANC
BAP wrote:

BAP & 1Naija,

If we remove the Libya game and the PKs, would you advocate doing the same for other top Nigerian players. Do you also think we should remove the games Ighalo played less than 60 minutes?

The bottomline is that PKs count towards a player's goals including the likes of Harry Kane and Messi. We also know that players score in a surge in a few games including the best players. Thus, it makes no sense removing this or that from Ighalo's record. He is who he is. He has shown that in the EPL and in China. He is a streaky guy but surely he has maintained a good goal scoring record over the latter part of his career. The question is will that streakiness occur at the AFCON or not?

It may just well, with Onyekuru on the left and the other spanish lad on the right; in a three-man forward.

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 1:04 am
by jette1
pajimoh wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Moderators I move that Pajimoh be suspended immediately or at a minimum be issued a stern warning for hate remarks against women. By referring to ighalo as a miss for his short comings in front of goal pajimoh essentially draws a negative parallel of women attributes by referencing ighalo shortcomings as as females attributes.

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 1:27 am
by Bell
BAP wrote:

BAP & 1Naija,

I WAS GOING TO SAY THE SAME THING

You can't selectively remove matches in which Ighalo did well unless you also want to remove matches in which he didn't do well. Or remove those matches in which Salah scored multiple goals. Or Harry Kane bounding down to take PK's in which he had no involvement.

That brings me to the opening post. I'm not advocating for Ighalo one way or the other and I would allow the coach who knows him better than most to judge him on his published statistics as well stats that nobody keeps track of - in other words the intangibles such as leadership, pulling defenders away, knowing exactly what the coach wants, etc. Stats don't lie but they can be misleading if not correctly used. If a coach has to rely on published stats to make this kind of decisions, then he's not doing a good job.

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 1:29 am
by ANC

Moderators I move that Pajimoh be suspended immediately or at a minimum be issued a stern warning for hate remarks against women. By referring to ighalo as a miss for his short comings in front of goal pajimoh essentially draws a negative parallel of women attributes by referencing ighalo shortcomings as as females attributes.

:biggrin:

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 7:15 am
by pajimoh

My broda I apologize unreservedly for the total disdain I might have implied by using (Miss) to qualify such a pipe of waste called Ighalo :tic:
I should have offered more clarity that the "Miss" is not actually in relation to any female" unmarried or otherwise but the "miss" when someone is clearly incapable of hitting a barn door from an inch of distance away.

I hope the mods will consider this extreme form of groveling and allow me to maintain my status here as one of the leading lights of goon haters club and Anigbelenu/Bigporkhead Slapdown Society?

Thank you for your understanding and leniency

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 10:41 am
by Damunk
The only disrespect I see here is referring to him as Miss Ighalo instead of Mrs Ighalo.
He is married. :idea:

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 11:50 am
by Cristao II
There is presently no other Nigerian striker that I am aware of that has the ability to lead the line. We all want a Yekini clone but we deal with what we have.

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 12:02 pm
by Damunk
Cristao II wrote:There is presently no other Nigerian striker that I am aware of that has the ability to lead the line. We all want a Yekini clone but we deal with what we have.
In all honesty I don't see how Ighalo is better than any of our other options.
Not even our young Osimhen.
He is running on the past, not on anything current

And I agree his brief purple patch has distorted the picture

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 1:27 pm
by pajimoh
What people fail to understand is .issghalo had 3 goals in 21 games at one point. That is 3 goals in 3 tournaments of 7 possible matches to the final. The WC happened to be one such tournament where Missghalo failed to register a goal.
If Ighalo then score 15 goals in a game to improve e his stats' it's OK for some. The other games we were expecting him to score obviously doesn't matter much

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 1:38 pm
by Cristao II
Cristao II wrote:There is presently no other Nigerian striker that I am aware of that has the ability to lead the line. We all want a Yekini clone but we deal with what we have.
In all honesty I don't see how Ighalo is better than any of our other options.
Not even our young Osimhen.
He is running on the past, not on anything current

And I agree his brief purple patch has distorted the picture
I respectfully disagree especially if lots of names are not mentioned.

I know you mentioned Osimhen .. He can be invited alongside Ighalo. We dont need only striker.

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 3:56 pm
by john12
I don’t get holding strikers. Your main duties s a striker is to score goals or assists not to hold the ball and if the likes of onyekuru, osimehn can score goals without holding the ball then I will rather them than ighalo

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 4:08 pm
by ANC
john12 wrote:I don’t get holding strikers. Your main duties s a striker is to score goals or assists not to hold the ball and if the likes of onyekuru, osimehn can score goals without holding the ball then I will rather them than ighalo

Ideye Brown was a better holding striker

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 4:12 pm
by BAP
Bell wrote:
BAP wrote:

BAP & 1Naija,

I WAS GOING TO SAY THE SAME THING

You can't selectively remove matches in which Ighalo did well unless you also want to remove matches in which he didn't do well. Or remove those matches in which Salah scored multiple goals. Or Harry Kane bounding down to take PK's in which he had no involvement.

That brings me to the opening post. I'm not advocating for Ighalo one way or the other and I would allow the coach who knows him better than most to judge him on his published statistics as well stats that nobody keeps track of - in other words the intangibles such as leadership, pulling defenders away, knowing exactly what the coach wants, etc. Stats don't lie but they can be misleading if not correctly used. If a coach has to rely on published stats to make this kind of decisions, then he's not doing a good job.
E11 is a statistician so I am sure he can appreciate the fact that in statistics there are Averages and then there are Weighted Averages. Teams like Seychelles and War torn Libya whould get a weighting close to 1 on a 1 to 10 scale in any serious evaluation .

See bros 4 fingers are not equal .. banging in goals half of them pks against teams like Seychelles is simply not the same as banging in goals against Italy or even Ghana

And even those intangibles you mention I ask , where are the assists? where are the diversionary runs that result in goals ? where is the psychological fear in opponents when Ighalo steps on the field .

When Emenike wasnt scoring he still struck terror in defenders , he still made assists like his pass to Osaze at the 2014 WC . Where does Ighalo do this ?

Ahmed Musa's bangs in Goals from all angles and puts opponents on notice due to his pace . Have never seen him take a pk but yet he has more goals than Ighalo (Not counting Libya and Seychelles)

I like Ighalo I wish him well but he is simply not our best striker . Not even close

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 5:43 pm
by Enugu II
BAP,

First, I am not a statistician ooo! I no go accept what I am not. :dream:

In any case, the only point I will make about Seychelles and Libya is this: First, Ighalo did not go wild v Seychelles (check the record). You can make such a case in Oduamadi v Tahiti but not Ighalo v Seychelles. Moreover, note that other Nigerian strikers, one time or the other, also encountered weakly-ranked opponents. Theoretically, then, that should cancel out.

In any case, Ighalo is not Yekini or Oba. Those guys scored more consistently for SE. Ighalo is more like Emenike i.e. a guy who may go on a streak. Then, are you ignoring his goal scoring in his first season at Watford against top EPL clubs? His streak was on and then the next season he shot blanks. In SE, he began with a drought (like Emenike) and has now exploded. Moreover, the guy has a good record as a striker at the club level.

BAP you mention assists. That is actually one thing that Ighalo does well. I did not include the assists because assists for some comparable strikers (e.g. Yekini) were incomplete and thus I left that out. However, note that he has 5 assists already. I believe (?) the only Nigerian midfielder and forward with a better assist record at the same period is Ahmed Musa. Although, I will need to cross check that but as I write now, that is my recollection. But to the matter. You used Emenike to provide an example of how assists matter! Guess what, Emenike had 5 assists over an SE career of 36 games! Ighalo has the same number of assists in less games (5 in 27)!
BAP wrote: E11 is a statistician so I am sure he can appreciate the fact that in statistics there are Averages and then there are Weighted Averages. Teams like Seychelles and War torn Libya whould get a weighting close to 1 on a 1 to 10 scale in any serious evaluation .

See bros 4 fingers are not equal .. banging in goals half of them pks against teams like Seychelles is simply not the same as banging in goals against Italy or even Ghana

And even those intangibles you mention I ask , where are the assists? where are the diversionary runs that result in goals ? where is the psychological fear in opponents when Ighalo steps on the field .

When Emenike wasnt scoring he still struck terror in defenders , he still made assists like his pass to Osaze at the 2014 WC . Where does Ighalo do this ?

Ahmed Musa's bangs in Goals from all angles and puts opponents on notice due to his pace . Have never seen him take a pk but yet he has more goals than Ighalo (Not counting Libya and Seychelles)

I like Ighalo I wish him well but he is simply not our best striker . Not even close

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 6:58 pm
by BAP
Enugu II wrote:BAP,

First, I am not a statistician ooo! I no go accept what I am not. :dream:

In any case, the only point I will make about Seychelles and Libya is this: First, Ighalo did not go wild v Seychelles (check the record). You can make such a case in Oduamadi v Tahiti but not Ighalo v Seychelles. Moreover, note that other Nigerian strikers, one time or the other, also encountered weakly-ranked opponents. Theoretically, then, that should cancel out.

In any case, Ighalo is not Yekini or Oba. Those guys scored more consistently for SE. Ighalo is more like Emenike i.e. a guy who may go on a streak. Then, are you ignoring his goal scoring in his first season at Watford against top EPL clubs? His streak was on and then the next season he shot blanks. In SE, he began with a drought (like Emenike) and has now exploded. Moreover, the guy has a good record as a striker at the club level.

BAP you mention assists. That is actually one thing that Ighalo does well. I did not include the assists because assists for some comparable strikers (e.g. Yekini) were incomplete and thus I left that out. However, note that he has 5 assists already. I believe (?) the only Nigerian midfielder and forward with a better assist record at the same period is Ahmed Musa. Although, I will need to cross check that but as I write now, that is my recollection. But to the matter. You used Emenike to provide an example of how assists matter! Guess what, Emenike had 5 assists over an SE career of 36 games! Ighalo has the same number of assists in less games (5 in 27)!
BAP wrote: E11 is a statistician so I am sure he can appreciate the fact that in statistics there are Averages and then there are Weighted Averages. Teams like Seychelles and War torn Libya whould get a weighting close to 1 on a 1 to 10 scale in any serious evaluation .

Ok so you are an honorary statistician :mrgreen:

I will have to take your word for it on assists . I just can recall a single assist from Ighalo leading to anything significant . Iheanacho perhaps but not Ighalo .

the underlined portion of your post pretty much sums it up.He is no Yekini /Oba but We have guys who can be Yekini /Obas heck I would even make do with an Utaka, Agahowa or an Osaze but Ighalos continued usage blocks their progress .

Your claim that "he has now exploded" almost made me fall of my seat :mrgreen: . Sorry I dont care if he scores tens goals against teams like Libya to me that is like beating up a girl and then claiming that you are ready to fight mike Tyson

As far as his club performance goes again same Libya/Seychelles dynamic applies