Re: Why Ighalo May be Primed for AFCON 2019

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 7:12 pm
by ANC
Emenike >>>> 10 times Igalo.

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 8:50 pm
by Enugu II
BAP,

Bros, na now you come. Honorary is better.

Here are Ighalo's five assists (you can verify via highlights):

March 29, 2015 v S/Africa (F)
June 13, 2015 v Chad (AFCONQ)
Sep 4, 2017 v Cameroon (WCQ)
Sep 8, 2018 v Seychelles (AFCONQ)
Oct 16, 2018 v Libya (AFCONQ)

Here are Emenike's assists (verify via highlights):

Oct 8, 2011 v Guinea (AFCONQ)
Oct 13, 2012 v Liberia (AFCONQ)
Feb 6, 2013 v Mali (AFCON)
June 21, 2014 v Bosnia (WC)
June 25, 2014 v Argentina (WC)

BAP wrote:
Enugu II wrote:BAP,

First, I am not a statistician ooo! I no go accept what I am not. :dream:

In any case, the only point I will make about Seychelles and Libya is this: First, Ighalo did not go wild v Seychelles (check the record). You can make such a case in Oduamadi v Tahiti but not Ighalo v Seychelles. Moreover, note that other Nigerian strikers, one time or the other, also encountered weakly-ranked opponents. Theoretically, then, that should cancel out.

In any case, Ighalo is not Yekini or Oba. Those guys scored more consistently for SE. Ighalo is more like Emenike i.e. a guy who may go on a streak. Then, are you ignoring his goal scoring in his first season at Watford against top EPL clubs? His streak was on and then the next season he shot blanks. In SE, he began with a drought (like Emenike) and has now exploded. Moreover, the guy has a good record as a striker at the club level.

BAP you mention assists. That is actually one thing that Ighalo does well. I did not include the assists because assists for some comparable strikers (e.g. Yekini) were incomplete and thus I left that out. However, note that he has 5 assists already. I believe (?) the only Nigerian midfielder and forward with a better assist record at the same period is Ahmed Musa. Although, I will need to cross check that but as I write now, that is my recollection. But to the matter. You used Emenike to provide an example of how assists matter! Guess what, Emenike had 5 assists over an SE career of 36 games! Ighalo has the same number of assists in less games (5 in 27)!
BAP wrote: E11 is a statistician so I am sure he can appreciate the fact that in statistics there are Averages and then there are Weighted Averages. Teams like Seychelles and War torn Libya whould get a weighting close to 1 on a 1 to 10 scale in any serious evaluation .

See bros 4 fingers are not equal .. banging in goals half of them pks against teams like Seychelles is simply not the same as banging in goals against Italy or even Ghana

And even those intangibles you mention I ask , where are the assists? where are the diversionary runs that result in goals ? where is the psychological fear in opponents when Ighalo steps on the field .

When Emenike wasnt scoring he still struck terror in defenders , he still made assists like his pass to Osaze at the 2014 WC . Where does Ighalo do this ?

Ahmed Musa's bangs in Goals from all angles and puts opponents on notice due to his pace . Have never seen him take a pk but yet he has more goals than Ighalo (Not counting Libya and Seychelles)

I like Ighalo I wish him well but he is simply not our best striker . Not even close
Ok so you are an honorary statistician :mrgreen:

I will have to take your word for it on assists . I just can recall a single assist from Ighalo leading to anything significant . Iheanacho perhaps but not Ighalo .

the underlined portion of your post pretty much sums it up.He is no Yekini /Oba but We have guys who can be Yekini /Obas heck I would even make do with an Utaka, Agahowa or an Osaze but Ighalos continued usage blocks their progress .

Your claim that "he has now exploded" almost made me fall of my seat :mrgreen: . Sorry I dont care if he scores tens goals against teams like Libya to me that is like beating up a girl and then claiming that you are ready to fight mike Tyson

As far as his club performance goes again same Libya/Seychelles dynamic applies

Posted: Fri May 24, 2019 6:43 am
by maceo4
Oga EII, the Seychelles assist no be assist o, it was an own goal. Ighalo passed to Musa who's shot hit the cross bar & came back out and hit the diving goalie's back then entered the goal...

Bros, na now you come. Honorary is better.

Here are Ighalo's five assists (you can verify via highlights):

March 29, 2015 v S/Africa (F)
June 13, 2015 v Chad (AFCONQ)
Sep 4, 2017 v Cameroon (WCQ)
Sep 8, 2018 v Seychelles (AFCONQ)
Oct 16, 2018 v Libya (AFCONQ)

Here are Emenike's assists (verify via highlights):

Oct 8, 2011 v Guinea (AFCONQ)
Oct 13, 2012 v Liberia (AFCONQ)
Feb 6, 2013 v Mali (AFCON)
June 21, 2014 v Bosnia (WC)
June 25, 2014 v Argentina (WC)

BAP wrote:

First, I am not a statistician ooo! I no go accept what I am not. :dream:

In any case, the only point I will make about Seychelles and Libya is this: First, Ighalo did not go wild v Seychelles (check the record). You can make such a case in Oduamadi v Tahiti but not Ighalo v Seychelles. Moreover, note that other Nigerian strikers, one time or the other, also encountered weakly-ranked opponents. Theoretically, then, that should cancel out.

In any case, Ighalo is not Yekini or Oba. Those guys scored more consistently for SE. Ighalo is more like Emenike i.e. a guy who may go on a streak. Then, are you ignoring his goal scoring in his first season at Watford against top EPL clubs? His streak was on and then the next season he shot blanks. In SE, he began with a drought (like Emenike) and has now exploded. Moreover, the guy has a good record as a striker at the club level.

BAP you mention assists. That is actually one thing that Ighalo does well. I did not include the assists because assists for some comparable strikers (e.g. Yekini) were incomplete and thus I left that out. However, note that he has 5 assists already. I believe (?) the only Nigerian midfielder and forward with a better assist record at the same period is Ahmed Musa. Although, I will need to cross check that but as I write now, that is my recollection. But to the matter. You used Emenike to provide an example of how assists matter! Guess what, Emenike had 5 assists over an SE career of 36 games! Ighalo has the same number of assists in less games (5 in 27)!
BAP wrote: E11 is a statistician so I am sure he can appreciate the fact that in statistics there are Averages and then there are Weighted Averages. Teams like Seychelles and War torn Libya whould get a weighting close to 1 on a 1 to 10 scale in any serious evaluation .

See bros 4 fingers are not equal .. banging in goals half of them pks against teams like Seychelles is simply not the same as banging in goals against Italy or even Ghana

And even those intangibles you mention I ask , where are the assists? where are the diversionary runs that result in goals ? where is the psychological fear in opponents when Ighalo steps on the field .

When Emenike wasnt scoring he still struck terror in defenders , he still made assists like his pass to Osaze at the 2014 WC . Where does Ighalo do this ?

Ahmed Musa's bangs in Goals from all angles and puts opponents on notice due to his pace . Have never seen him take a pk but yet he has more goals than Ighalo (Not counting Libya and Seychelles)

I like Ighalo I wish him well but he is simply not our best striker . Not even close
Ok so you are an honorary statistician :mrgreen:

I will have to take your word for it on assists . I just can recall a single assist from Ighalo leading to anything significant . Iheanacho perhaps but not Ighalo .

the underlined portion of your post pretty much sums it up.He is no Yekini /Oba but We have guys who can be Yekini /Obas heck I would even make do with an Utaka, Agahowa or an Osaze but Ighalos continued usage blocks their progress .

Your claim that "he has now exploded" almost made me fall of my seat :mrgreen: . Sorry I dont care if he scores tens goals against teams like Libya to me that is like beating up a girl and then claiming that you are ready to fight mike Tyson

As far as his club performance goes again same Libya/Seychelles dynamic applies

Posted: Fri May 24, 2019 7:07 am
by Cristao II
mace - how is that not an assist?

Posted: Fri May 24, 2019 7:26 am
by maceo4
Cristao II wrote:mace - how is that not an assist?
Can you assist an own goal? Aina scored a similar 'goal' this season it wasn't given to him, his shot from the left side of goal hit the post then hit the back of the keeper and then went in as an own goal...

0:20 into this video

See Musa's 2:40 into this video