Nigerians attack NFF over U40 flying Eagles

Re: Nigerians attack NFF over U40 flying Eagles

ohenhen1 wrote:We have to put in structures that will make it difficult to cheat.

Only players that were registered with the U15 program should be allowed to play at U17 and U20.
I definitely agree with this. You cannot depend on the media to out certain players as they seemingly did with some members of this team when it was being put together. Although, no Nigerian record is above tampering the NFF has some of these players in its data base from years earlier and that should always be checked.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Otitokoro wrote:But when the bulk of this lot played in the U20 AFCON, none of these clowns said a word about them looking old.
Now they claim all of them (save for the Italian based keeper) looks over-aged, including the two young lads from England and Kingsley Micheal, who played in the U17 squad under Amunike.

Some Nigerians could be jackasses, to be honest!
One wonders why we love the pull-him-down syndrome. These mischief makers should just get a life. If you don't like the Flying Eagles, wait until the AFCON where there is no age limit and Osimhen and Chukweze are not too young to shine. Hold your individual peace.

When 9ja fans vent I dey listen well well :D :D

if these guys are 40 and they can run none stop like this, we need to study their DNA, diet, etc... a 40 year old internet CE poster like txj and co plus all the 40 year old assnal CE spammers looks like this ooooo

txj at 40

2 - 40 year old CE assanal spamming supporters, the one on the right is a site admin

if these guys were 25ish, it would have been good. But they are almost 30 and even over 30.

MInus some few exceptions like Tom, nnamdi, micheal (to a lesser extent).

They should just use the new snapchat baby filter on any picture of this team they want to post online lol

Enugu II wrote:IMO, the leap to identifying certain players as overage is just ridiculous.

I realize that Nigeria has an age cheating history not only are there players found guilty of this but officials have been recorded as participating in this. However, we cannot simply use that background to point at particular players and claim that they are age cheating without any evidence, even circumstantial. Think about this -- it is like someone looking at you, a Nigerian, and claiming that you are an advanced fee fraudster simply because you are Nigerian and some Nigerians have been found guilt of advanced fee fraud. It makes no sense.

If you are going to point fingers then please bring forward evidence, even circumstantial ones.
But Ohenhen behaves and talks like one so he is probably one ....according to his brilliant logic.
And he is Nigerian.

Somebody somewhere know each of those players.
So if he was your Primary 1 classmate in 1990, let us know.

Until then, they are legit U-20 look or no look. Poverty dey age some of our people!

Cmoke :D :D :D :D :D

Enugu II wrote:IMO, the leap to identifying certain players as overage is just ridiculous.

I realize that Nigeria has an age cheating history not only are there players found guilty of this but officials have been recorded as participating in this. However, we cannot simply use that background to point at particular players and claim that they are age cheating without any evidence, even circumstantial. Think about this -- it is like someone looking at you, a Nigerian, and claiming that you are an advanced fee fraudster simply because you are Nigerian and some Nigerians have been found guilt of advanced fee fraud. It makes no sense.

If you are going to point fingers then please bring forward evidence, even circumstantial ones.
You can have an opinion you know!

As for asking a random poster on an internet forum for evidence, that is one of the most ridiculous things peeps have ever said on CE, and there have been plenty!

You do not have to be a genius to see the overwhelming physical advantage Nigeria enjoyed over Qatar. And it is not analogous to the advanced fee fraud issue....

True, physicality alone cannot explain it, but anyone who understands how youths develop in football can tell the difference...

And most of us here know deep down that we are cheating!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: You can have an opinion you know!

As for asking a random poster on an internet forum for evidence, that is one of the most ridiculous things peeps have ever said on CE, and there have been plenty!

You do not have to be a genius to see the overwhelming physical advantage Nigeria enjoyed over Qatar. And it is not analogous to the advanced fee fraud issue....

True, physicality alone cannot explain it, but anyone who understands how youths develop in football can tell the difference...

No more than the "overwhelming physical advantage" the Ukranians had over the US players...
And of course the old Soviet republics have long had a well-known history of cheating and doping. :lol:

Have you actually been to Qatar? Please visit Qatar and learn for yourself that Nigerians in the general population are on average physically bigger than Qataris in the general population. Furthermore, some of those "Qataris" on their U20 team today appeared to be of Southeast Asiatic origins, and thus were even more physically mismatched against Nigerians/West Africans in general.

The irony here is that Coach Paul (who btw seem to deliberately prefer physically-imposing players) actually apparently went of his way to ensure that only truly age-eligible players were selected, reportedly dropping several home based players whose documentation/eligibility were less than certain.
>
Last edited by Gotti on Sat May 25, 2019 1:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

txj wrote: You can have an opinion you know!

No more than the "overwhelming physical advantage" the Ukranians had over the US players...
And of course the old Soviet republics have had long established record of cheating and doping. :lol:

Have you actually been to Qatar? Please visit Qatar and learn for yourself that Nigerians in the general population are on average physically bigger and stronger that Qataris in the general population. Furthermore, some of those "Qataris" seemed to be of Southeast Asiatic origins, and thus even much less physically matched against Nigerians/West Africans in general.

The irony here is that Coach Paul (who btw seem to deliberately prefer physically-imposing players) actually apparently went of his way to ensure that only truly age-eligible players were selected, reportedly dropping several home based players whose documentation/eligibility were less than certain.
>
Not true; both teams were well matched physically and technically. The Soviet Union is long dead!

If this is Coach Paul being careful about player ages, I shudder to think what his players would look like if he weren't this "careful"...

I don't need to visit Qatar, thank you...This is not just about being physically imposing, but physically dominant! These are mature players, not just in terms of physique, but also their football, even though much of it is clearly without much "formal" upbringing....

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote:Not true; both teams were well matched physically and technically. The Soviet Union is long dead!

If this is Coach Paul being careful about player ages, I shudder to think what his players would look like if he weren't this "careful"...

I don't need to visit Qatar, thank you...This is not just about being physically imposing, but physically dominant! These are mature players, not just in terms of physique, but also their football, even though much of it is clearly without much "formal" upbringing....
They may have been matched "technically" but definitely NOT physically...
And the Ukranian sub appeared more physically "mature" than some of the US coaches! :P

Dude, I will not belabor this discourse because your mind was made up probably even before the Nigerian players had been selected! Nonetheless, exactly on what basis or level has Qatari football or footballers ever matched up with Nigeria? Is it as measured by Qatar's many appearances at the SENIOR World Cup? Is it the many SENIOR Qatari players that are littered across Europe? Is it the SENIOR Qatari players that appear each season in SENIOR European competitions or in other SENIOR leagues and competitions across the globe? Of course, Nigerian players are technically (and tactically) more "mature" than Qatari players across the board. How is that even a topic of RATIONAL discourse?
>

txj wrote:Not true; both teams were well matched physically and technically. The Soviet Union is long dead!

They may have been matched "technically" but definitely NOT physically...
And the Ukranian sub appeared more physically "mature" than some of the US coaches! :P

Dude, I will not belabor this discourse because your mind was made up probably even before the Nigerian players had been selected! Nonetheless, exactly on what basis or level has Qatari football or footballers ever matched up with Nigeria? Is it as measured by Qatar's many appearances at the SENIOR World Cup? Is it the many SENIOR Qatari players that are littered across Europe? Is it the SENIOR Qatari players that appear each season in SENIOR European competitions or in other SENIOR leagues and competitions across the globe? Of course, Nigerian players are technically (and tactically) more "mature" than Qatari players across the board. How is that even a topic of RATIONAL discourse?
>

You are dead right! Qatari footballers have never matched up with Nigeria.

They just made a ridiculous situation look totally absurd!!!

The irony is, we do not need to cheat. We just need to be honest and work hard at it...

scholl

Post by scholl »

Looking at the twitter comments, I can conclude that Naija is full of olodos and people who lead their lives with little or no logic at all. Shame.

I took my time to watch the team. I am upset that people's proof is how the person looks.

We need to stop deceiving ourselves. Nigeria is cheating. How can we get proof when it is easy to falsify records in Nigeria and the country dont keep good records?. A few questions I have that CE refuses to answer. Why is there.a high MRI failure rate at U17? Why is Nigeria so successful at the youth level but cant achieve the same level of success at senior level?

ohenhen1 wrote:We have to put in structures that will make it difficult to cheat.

Only players that were registered with the U15 program should be allowed to play at U17 and U20.
This is not workable because you could have late bloomers who never made the U15 cut but are better now. You could have players who started playing later or players with a late growth spurt. There are so many variables for why players get better that you cannot limit the youth teams to only those players discovered at U15.

Orion wrote:

This is not workable because you could have late bloomers who never made the U15 cut but are better now. You could have players who started playing later or players with a late growth spurt. There are so many variables for why players get better that you cannot limit the youth teams to only those players discovered at U15.
Even players that didn't make the U15 team can still register. The goal is to have records. They must submit 5 years of school records. All digitalized records with paper backup. It is a good investment

Bestplayer

Post by Bestplayer »

In my honest opinion, a lot of Nigeria players look over aged and as a result, I wasn't really excited because it seemed like deja vu all over again. This type of behavior only hampers football development. A well organized team will beat them over-aged or not. It's unfortunate that FIFA still hasn't come up with better age screening methods despite the technology available today. :idea:

Orion wrote:

Even players that didn't make the U15 team can still register. The goal is to have records. They must submit 5 years of school records. All digitalized records with paper backup. It is a good investment
Still will not work. As I said, those players may not even be on their radar at U15 or may not even be playing football seriously enough at 15 to be on anyone's register, but then suddenly take football very seriously a few years later and get really good at it.

Orion wrote:

Still will not work. As I said, those players may not even be on their radar at U15 or may not even be playing football seriously enough at 15 to be on anyone's register, but then suddenly take football very seriously a few years later and get really good at it.

Even players that are not on the radar should register. Drastic actions must be taken.

Bestplayer wrote:In my honest opinion, a lot of Nigeria players look over aged and as a result, I wasn't really excited because it seemed like deja vu all over again. This type of behavior only hampers football development. A well organized team will beat them over-aged or not. It's unfortunate that FIFA still hasn't come up with better age screening methods despite the technology available today. :idea:
A lot of Nigerians look overage, full stop.
Its called 'hard life'.
What do you think this whole 'ajebota', 'ajepaki' thing is all about? :idea:

Bestplayer wrote:In my honest opinion, a lot of Nigeria players look over aged and as a result, I wasn't really excited because it seemed like deja vu all over again. This type of behavior only hampers football development. A well organized team will beat them over-aged or not. It's unfortunate that FIFA still hasn't come up with better age screening methods despite the technology available today. :idea:
A lot of Nigerians look overage, full stop.
Its called 'hard life'.
What do you think this whole 'ajebota', 'ajepaki' thing is all about? :idea:
KPOM.

Furthermore, what is wrong in asking for fairness? Why launch attacks on people without providing a shred of evidence. Have we now given approval to Lynch-mob mentality? The reality is that we all (perhaps) recognize that age cheating goes on in Nigeria's football but that does not STILL sanction a claim that all Nigerian footballers are cheating on their age. You still must prove or provide evidence for specific claims.

I sit here and think about rudimentary lessons of how knowledge occurs. There are essential four methods of knowing, which are hierarchical. The lowest form - tenacity - is exactly where people make claims without advancing any form of support for such claims. Just above that is logic/a priori where people set up premises (which may be wrong) and then draw conclusions from it. The third is authority (i.e using a insider/a credible voice, etc) to gain knowledge, and finally (the highest) is using research (empirical evidence). Here, there are sure many who want to rely on tenacity.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics