U20 WC : QATAR 0 NIGERIA 4 ( FT )

Re: U20 WC : QATAR 0 NIGERIA 4 ( FT )

These players are probably with youth teams not the main team of their clubs. Only Weah and Mendez have impressed. Mendez will probably move toa big club after this tournament.

Richards is now stepping up to challenge the strikers Americans are in good shape. Finishing the game well.

Disappointed in Tab Ramos. The spaces were out wide...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

ohenhen1 wrote:These players are probably with youth teams not the main team of their clubs. Only Weah and Mendez have impressed. Mendez will probably move toa big club after this tournament.
Talking a lot of smack. The USA is going to be tough opposition for Nigeria. They are welll capable of winning. Ditto for the Ukraine

Europe and their set pieces. Nigeria got to work on it.

ohenhen1 wrote:US team lacks athleticism and skills. Also their defense is shaky.
This is mostly false. They have athleticism and skill but their main problem is defensively

YUJAM wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:These players are probably with youth teams not the main team of their clubs. Only Weah and Mendez have impressed. Mendez will probably move toa big club after this tournament.
Talking a lot of smack. The USA is going to be tough opposition for Nigeria. They are welll capable of winning. Ditto for the Ukraine

It is about matchup. Styles make fights. Nigeria is going to give them problems.

Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

txj wrote:Disappointed in Tab Ramos. The spaces were out wide...
If naija make those bad inaccurate passes against Tab Ramos savvy boys the naija U20 may be punished.

YUJAM wrote:
I am impressed with the USA team. They will give Nigeria problems with ball possession but they will have to deal with the pace of Nigerian players. USA really should have won this game v Ukraine if they had been more aggressive upfront and using some direct balls as well.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

ohenhen1 wrote:US team lacks athleticism and skills. Also their defense is shaky.
This is mostly false. They have athleticism and skill but their main problem is defensively
Correct. They have skill & athletism plus savvy & naija better not make those bad inaccurate passes against them.

His failure to put one of his best players, Tim Weah, in a position to get more touches on the ball is a head scratcher for me.

Oguleftie wrote:
If naija make those bad inaccurate passes against Tab Ramos savvy boys the naija U20 may be punished.
The game is on Monday. I expect a physical game for Nigeria. Three teams can qualify from the group

Oguleftie wrote:
Correct. They have skill & athletism plus savvy & naija better not make those bad inaccurate passes against them.
One thing you can bet on is the fact that USA’s attackers will have more space playing against us so I expect a relatively busy day for our goalie. We will have chances on the other end so it’ll boil down to whomever is more clinical. A 3-2 or 4-3 score line is within expectation.

Nigeria defense will get better with the return of Igoh. Will also like to see Ofoborh in midfield to pair with Bashiru and Kingsley. The Americans will have to earn the space they get. The FE have played better defensively at Afcon. Maybe they opened it up for Qatar.

Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

wale1974 wrote:Ikouwem Udo is the real deal :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Just 1 game
Emir,

Perhaps it is just one game for you. Ikuowen, more than any other player on this team, has been watched over and over. He was at WAFU with Eagles B, he was at the CHAN with Eagles B, he has been with Enyimba, he has been called up by Rohr. Thus, I do to know where you come up with just one game.
They do not follow players, they do not follow players personal progression, they do not follow players team appearances and yet they make comments.

Qatar is not a bad team. Watching the 2nd half now Nigeria was just superior physically .

ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

YUJAM wrote:
I am impressed with the USA team. They will give Nigeria problems with ball possession but they will have to deal with the pace of Nigerian players. USA really should have won this game v Ukraine if they had been more aggressive upfront and using some direct balls as well.
I didn't see any Nigerian player with pace today. None
ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

Oguleftie wrote:
From what I saw today, the US team were by far, better than the Nigerian team, at least technically. I think most fans always judge performance by the scoreline. We were awful in the first half. The central defender that took the place of Ogbu (salawudeen) was terrible despite scoring the 4th goal. His passes, techniques were just sub par. Tijani Mohamed was also awful as a central striker. He was lazy and did not fight for balls. If such players are fielded against the US or Ukraine, there is no way we are not losing those games. There were too many players that were not tracking back and when they did, it was lazily done. There were too many late challenges and few tackles won...
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

And Oremade MAY be the best Nigerian Goal keeper out there...….His technical skills are superb
However...I'll wait for a really tough game before I give him my full endorsement...

Olawale is better Akpeyi. Why is he not at Afcon?

BTW I just saw Rohr on the sidelines.

I disagree, Nigeria was better technically and tactically than the US. . We let the game come to us. Didn't chase the game. The team will improve as the tournament progresses. We are physically superior and Nigeria will use it.

New Zealand looking good. Another team that will beat the US.

Impressive through ball for the 2nd goal. Iniesta would be proud of that ball.