U20 WYC: NGR 0 vs USA 2 (FT)

Re: U20 WYC: NGR 0 vs USA 2 (FT)

[color=brown]Tobi17[/color] wrote: I know at least 2 players on that Naija team with kids already...
I call bull on this. Name them. If you fail to do so then admin should ban you indefinitely. Secondly, does being U20 mean you are unable to father a child?
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Post by 404 »

Tobi17 Nigeria did not even qualify for the 2017 U17 World Cup in India! You symbolize what is wrong with Nigerians just make it up as you go! Too lazy to fact check! By the way, the 2017 U17 World Cup was won by England and the USA was thrashed in the round of 16 by Paraguay by 5 goals.

Good result for undeserving folk. Now I hope people will shut up about the age thing and just support the team and pray they win their next match.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:Historically, Nigeria has always underperformed against the US but this has got to be the worst performance ever by a Nigerian team at the U20 World Cup. The good news is there is nowhere to go but up for this Nigerian team :!:

How so? They could lose to Ukraine.

1naija wrote:You guys are full of shait sha. All of you picked the US to win, but suddenly you cant believe they beat us?
My brother I mean mehn... it is a damn shame if you ask me smh

Re: U20 WYC: NGR 0 vs USA 2 (2H)

Corruption in Nigeria has turned Nigerian analysts into lazy thinkers who precipitously ascribe everything to nebulous "corruption". :D

Anyone who actually FOLLOWED this team, instead of just showing on CE on match-days, would have been well aware that the cupboard was very thin (if not almost bare) from Day One of the qualifiers. For example, we tried so many players at RB that we ended playing a right-winger Mike Zarummu at RB at the AYC (even tried to play 3-5-2 that is uncharacteristic of Coach Aigogbun's teams, just to accommodate him as RWB), but after getting repeatedly skewered, Zaruma was then dropped from the squad entirely because we were supposedly getting former England U18 international defender Ahogrenashinme "Ash" Kigbu (now playing in the Austrian league) to play at RB. When that fell through at the last minute (as these thing invariablty seem to), we then turned a defensive midfielder into effectively an emergency RB - and when folks show up on match-day on CE they wonder why we have such a subpar RB and perhaps conclude that it is due to the ubiquitous "corruption"!

Coaches have to live and die by their decisions, and those decisions are not necessarily limited to on-field ones. Accordingly, Paul set out his stall very early with a seeming preference for foreign-born players of Nigerian ancestry (with some Nigerian 'journalists', and even CEs, lauding him as one way to overcome suspicions of age fraud). Thus, when the Flying Eagles' attack "wombled and fumbled" at the AYC, he never bothered looking inward in the Nigerian domestic leagues or academies but instead concentrated his effort on, and eventually secured the affiliation switch of German-born striker Chinedu Ekene (a former skipper of the German U18 team and current Hoffenheim youth team player, after spending his entire previous youth career at Leverkeusen), and thereafter rested on his oars. Eventually training camp opens in Germany and what happens - Chinedu Ekene pulls a no-show!

Nollywood couldn't dream up some of our ineptitude, but it ain't "corruption"! You simply reap what you sow (or did not).

1naija wrote:You guys are full of shait sha. All of you picked the US to win, but suddenly you cant believe they beat us?
My brother I mean mehn... it is a damn shame if you ask me smh

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:Historically, Nigeria has always underperformed against the US but this has got to be the worst performance ever by a Nigerian team at the U20 World Cup. The good news is there is nowhere to go but up for this Nigerian team :!:

Ukraine isn’t that good and Nigeria isn’t going to be as awful as she was today :!:

Gotti wrote:Corruption in Nigeria has turned Nigerian analysts into lazy thinkers who precipitously ascribe everything to nebulous "corruption". :D

Anyone who actually FOLLOWED this team, instead of just showing on CE on match-days, would have been well aware that the cupboard was very thin (if not almost bare) from Day One of the qualifiers. For example, we tried so many players at RB that we ended playing a right-winger Mike Zarummu at RB at the AYC (even tried to play 3-5-2 that is uncharacteristic of Coach Aigogbun's teams, just to accommodate him as RWB), but after getting repeatedly skewered, Zaruma was then dropped from the squad entirely because we were supposedly getting former England U18 international defender Ahogrenashinme "Ash" Kigbu (now playing in the Austrian league) to play at RB. When that fell through at the last minute (as these thing invariablty seem to), we then turned a defensive midfielder into effectively an emergency RB - and when folks show up on match-day on CE they wonder why we have such a subpar RB and perhaps conclude that it is due to the ubiquitous "corruption"!

Coaches have to live and die by their decisions, and those decisions are not necessarily limited to on-field ones. Accordingly, Paul set out his stall very early with a seeming preference for foreign-born players of Nigerian ancestry (with some Nigerian 'journalists', and even CEs, lauding him as one way to overcome suspicions of age fraud). Thus, when the Flying Eagles' attack "wombled and fumbled" at the AYC, he never bothered looking inward in the Nigerian domestic leagues or academies but instead concentrated his effort on, and eventually secured the affiliation switch of German-born striker Chinedu Ekene (a former skipper of the German U18 team and current Hoffenheim youth team player, after spending his entire previous youth career at Leverkeusen), and thereafter rested on his oars. Eventually training camp opens in Germany and what happens - Chinedu Ekene pulls a no-show!

Nollywood couldn't dream up some of our ineptitude, but it ain't "corruption"! You simply reap what you sow (or did not).
Zaruma played better than the current RB at AYC. Not sure what is wrong with converting a winger to a RB if he can play the role well.

FATHER TIKO wrote: Bro, the allegations of corruption in Nigeria football at the expense of meritocracy is becoming more obvious...
This youth side CANNOT be Nigeria's current best...
I observed the same with our current U-17 side at the last tournament in Tanzania...

Its alarming...years from now, we'd be wondering what happened to the SEagles...
I see no future SEagle player here...
Manu Garba literally saw a couple hundred players before settling on a 60-player pool...
That is both good/bad because it means very little attention can be accorded to each prospect.

The team Manu Garba ended up with was/is a pretty good squad, albeit it was disrupted a bit by losing 4 starters just before the U17 AFCON (to the 3d round of MRI testing - the previous 2 tests coming after after camp, and before the WAFU B tournament that served as U17 AFCON qualifiers), there is no evidence that the U17 coaches have done anything less than trying to unearth the best AVAILABLE (emphasis added) domestic talent at that level. Conversely, the shenanigans whipped by a section of the 'Press' over the exclusion of Lateef Omidiji (a player who struggled to stand out in the U15 team just the prior year) was IMHO just an obtuse distraction.
>

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:

Ukraine isn’t that good and Nigeria isn’t going to be as awful as she was today :!:

Point is it could still get worse, even if you don't think it will.

oscar52 wrote:
Gotti wrote:Corruption in Nigeria has turned Nigerian analysts into lazy thinkers who precipitously ascribe everything to nebulous "corruption". :D

Zaruma played better than the current RB at AYC. Not sure what is wrong with converting a winger to a RB if he can play the role well.

Zaruma would've been eaten alive by Timothy Weah. Despite being in over his head today, I really like Zulkifilu. He's being wasted at Right Back though.

oscar52 wrote:Zaruma played better than the current RB at AYC. Not sure what is wrong with converting a winger to a RB if he can play the role well.
While that's a relatively LOW bar...
Not sure the AYC match threads on CE would support that position.

Personally, I thought he looked a bit decent (but nothing more) when going forward, but was repeatedly at sea and seemingly lost (as well as poor tackler) when defending. Overall, just not good enough.
>

Nice try as always in putting your considerable argumentative skills in aid of cheating.

We have done honest scouting successfully in the past. I know from inside knowledge that the process was open to agents and marketing from the get go...

Coaches live and die by their decisions. Paul deserves nothing but crucifixion.

But that's just for the selection.

The tactical organization of the team was at infancy level.

Please stop with your stupid excuses!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

mystic wrote:
oscar52 wrote:

Zaruma would've been eaten alive by Timothy Weah. Despite being in over his head today, I really like Zulkifilu. He's being wasted at Right Back though.
The RB today was piss poor. I just can't imagine a poorer player at RB. What Weah was doing was pretty basic but the RB was just not calm or athletic enough to handle them. I remember Zaruma making hard tackles and doing well tracking his man at the AYC but then again that was in Africa. The issue at the AYC was the offense, the issue with this team at this tourney is offense, midfield, and defense - the whole nine yards except the goalie.

txj wrote:Nice try as always in putting your considerable argumentative skills in aid of cheating.

We have done honest scouting successfully in the past. I know from inside knowledge that the process was open to agents and marketing from the get go...

Dude, you seriously need to grow up and quit with the childish personal attacks and invective... :roll:

When you have FACTS that contradict those that I have set out (complete with names, as I did), then feel free to return for a SUBSTANTIVE discourse (meanwhile, I cannot find ANYWHERE on CE that I EVER defended Paul Aigogbun's tactics). Happy CHILDREN'S Day! SMH

oscar52 wrote: The RB today was piss poor. I just can't imagine a poorer player at RB. What Weah was doing was pretty basic but the RB was just not calm or athletic enough to handle them. I remember Zaruma making hard tackles and doing well tracking his man at the AYC but then again that was in Africa. The issue at the AYC was the offense, the issue with this team at this tourney is offense, midfield, and defense - the whole nine yards except the goalie.
Thanks! The team degenerated...
As I often tell OHENHEN and the CE line-up buffs, you can actually subtract from a team by addition.

txj wrote:Nice try as always in putting your considerable argumentative skills in aid of cheating.

Dude, you seriously need to grow up and quit with the childish personal attacks and invective... :roll:

When you have FACTS that contradict those that I have set out (complete with names, as I did), then feel free to return for a SUBSTANTIVE discourse (meanwhile, I cannot find ANYWHERE on CE that I EVER defended Paul Aigogbun's tactics). Happy CHILDREN'S Day! SMH

There's nothing to contradict. The facts of the team selection process speaks for itself.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Bemusing how anyone would read the following and think that I am defending Paul Aigbogun... :lol:
Wonders never end on CE, but personally I do not attribute every Nigerian shortcoming to "corruption".

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=294869&start=207
wanaj0 wrote:That our right back is our weakest link!
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Weah is using our #2 to drink garri
wale1974 wrote:See how Weah schooled our RB :D :D :D
Robbynice wrote:I swear...dem just dey enter am anyhow. That is luke the 3rd or 4th time now just in the 1st half
ahidjo2 wrote:Remove the right back. He has not had any successful tackle. Very weak. Effiong is holding onto the ball too long
Lolly wrote:The right back is the worst player to ever wear our jersey (apart from the guy from Ireland who played against Venezuela in Watford years ago).
Voiced my apprehension about that RB BEFORE the game...
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=294869
Gotti wrote:We already have a defensive midfielder deputizing at RB...
After the failed experiment of converting a right-winger to RB/RWB at the AYC.
Open another thread to complain abeg. Today it’s up FE even if out LB is goalie. :thumbs:
But EMIR the Ifa Gossiper couldn't control his yapper...
There's a difference between following a team and showing up on match-day! :lol:
>
Last edited by Gotti on Mon May 27, 2019 11:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

oscar52 wrote: The RB today was piss poor. I just can't imagine a poorer player at RB. What Weah was doing was pretty basic but the RB was just not calm or athletic enough to handle them. I remember Zaruma making hard tackles and doing well tracking his man at the AYC but then again that was in Africa. The issue at the AYC was the offense, the issue with this team at this tourney is offense, midfield, and defense - the whole nine yards except the goalie.
Thanks! The team degenerated...
As I often tell OHENHEN and the CE line-up buffs, you can actually subtract from a team by addition.
The team ALWAYS had a below average level of tactical organization.

It didn't degenerate. It just got exposed.

txj wrote:There's nothing to contradict. The facts of the team selection process speaks for itself.
Dude, you have an interesting (to say the least) definition of "facts".. :lol:

I was the one here on CE who raised alarm when the squad was selected (and perhaps going back to the archives even before that). Like I already said, coaches live and die by their decisions (attendant to their results) and so will/has Paul Aigbogun. Nevertheless, I recognize that one can actually be inept without being corrupt (and there is a graveyard full of Liverpool coaches as evidence thereof :P ). Accordingly, in the absence of facts not feelings), I would not precipitously ascribe such ineptitude to corruption.
Last edited by Gotti on Tue May 28, 2019 12:02 am, edited 2 times in total.

txj wrote:The team ALWAYS had a below average level of tactical organization.

It didn't degenerate. It just got exposed.
You do realize that it is possible for even a team with "a below average level of tactical organization" to actually degenerate or get worse (after all, several Liverpool teams did over the years :lol: )?

Tobi17 wrote:I know at least 2 players on that Naija team with kids already...
That's ok. They had the kids early.
I hear one of them played in the Lebanese league for 3.5 years. From 2015.
Last edited by Rawlings on Tue May 28, 2019 12:43 am, edited 1 time in total.