Page 1 of 3

Nigeria has easier path to qualify for the second round

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 7:12 pm
by 1naija
Ukraine has already qualified and will not be breaking their backs to secure a victory. US will be meeting a much improved Qatari team that will be playing for pride. If the Flying Eagles can be composed and not try to play for European scouts, we will beat Ukraine by at least 2 goals. US will not score 4 goals against Qatar, that's if they win. I see that game ending in a tie.

Re: Nigeria has easier path to qualify for the second round

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 7:13 pm
by 1naija
Unfortunately, I think we'll meet France if we qualify and that will be it.

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 7:14 pm
by 1naija
Mods, please move.

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 7:15 pm
mods, shangalo this ish to eagles nest..bottom line we've already qualified as long as we don't get any heavy defeat in the last match

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 7:17 pm
by Mr Shows
Not sure I have the liver to sit through another performance like yesterday....

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 7:35 pm
by Ugbowo
How many teams qualify? 2 or 3?

US will spank Qatar silly.

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 7:39 pm
by blueangel
Very Sad, Very Sad
Another problem of Nigeria Football.

Nigeria football don turn everyone to mathematician for every tournament.

We go dey calculate and calculate all permutations for our National or youth teams to advance to next round.
Instead of our teams to win games they turn everybody to calculators.

We don suffer.

Wetin good remain for Nigeria ?

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 7:47 pm
by bret- hart
mchewwwww. I hope Ukraine puts us out of our misery. Useless team.

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 8:24 pm
by Rawlings
why una always look for an easy way out?

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 8:56 pm
by 1naija
bret- hart wrote:mchewwwww. I hope Ukraine puts us out of our misery. Useless team.
What's the misery? That we lost to the US? When was the last time you beat the US?

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 8:59 pm
bret- hart wrote:mchewwwww. I hope Ukraine puts us out of our misery. Useless team.
What's the misery? That we lost to the US? When was the last time you beat the US?

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 9:05 pm
by ahidjo2
1naija wrote:Ukraine has already qualified and will not be breaking their backs to secure a victory. US will be meeting a much improved Qatari team that will be playing for pride. If the Flying Eagles can be composed and not try to play for European scouts, we will beat Ukraine by at least 2 goals. US will not score 4 goals against Qatar, that's if they win. I see that game ending in a tie.
There is no point qualifying. Enough of the disgrace.

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 9:06 pm
by bret- hart

We beat them in 1989, 2001, 2008 and 2015. At all youth levels. The only US soccer team that should be beating Nigeria is their Shemale(female) team. We have no business losing to America at the mens game. This loss feels like the loss we suffered against South Africa in Uyo. Rubbish team.

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 9:08 pm
bret- hart wrote:

We beat them in 1989, 2001, 2008 and 2015. At all youth levels. The only US soccer team that should be beating Nigeria is their Shemale(female) team. We have no business losing to America at the mens game. This loss feels like the loss we suffered against South Africa in Uyo. Rubbish team.
you got a point now.. however you are still on my ish list for making fun of Edo names

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 9:08 pm
by ahidjo2
This is the first time we are losing to the US at the youth level. We beat them 1989 under 20 semis 2-1, we beat them 2008 olympics 2-1, we beat them 2015 u-17 2-0

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 9:09 pm
by bret- hart
ahidjo2 wrote:
1naija wrote:Ukraine has already qualified and will not be breaking their backs to secure a victory. US will be meeting a much improved Qatari team that will be playing for pride. If the Flying Eagles can be composed and not try to play for European scouts, we will beat Ukraine by at least 2 goals. US will not score 4 goals against Qatar, that's if they win. I see that game ending in a tie.
There is no point qualifying. Enough of the disgrace.

Kpom. Even if we sneak out of this group, France will be waiting. Abeg mek Ukraine kukuma beat us so that that useless coach will be sacked with immediate effect.

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 9:09 pm
ahidjo2 wrote:
This is the first time we are losing to the US at the youth level. We beat them 1989 under 20 semis 2-1, we beat them 2008 olympics 2-1, we beat them 2015 u-17 2-0
1naija started watching football in 2016

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 9:10 pm

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 9:11 pm

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 9:24 pm
by ahidjo2
blueangel wrote:Very Sad, Very Sad
Another problem of Nigeria Football.

Nigeria football don turn everyone to mathematician for every tournament.

We go dey calculate and calculate all permutations for our National or youth teams to advance to next round.
Instead of our teams to win games they turn everybody to calculators.

We don suffer.

Wetin good remain for Nigeria ?
I don't like it when people make this kind of arguments. The rule clearly states how a team should emerge. Despite the fact that I don't think the team deserves to progress, this constant cliche of "permutation before progressing" can be annoying. There is no calculation that is outside what is stipulated by FIFA. No team wins outright all the time. It doesn't happen and will never happen. If Nigeria has to go through as one of the best 3rd placed teams, so be it. When teams find themselves in these types of situations, there will always be permutations. it happens all the time in all sports at every level so I don't know where we get this idea that permutation connotes something terrible.

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 9:44 pm
by kalani JR
bret- hart wrote:

USA is just as good as any African team, they could easily make semi finals in the AFCON should they play in it. Somehow we have adopted an unearned form of European like condescension. No African team has had a better World Cup campaign than them. We can't expect for evening kickabouts via Obalende to match up to the programs Weah, Mendez and Soto have been afforded.

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 9:52 pm
by akamoke
I hope some of you guys realise this is an age grade tournament

For me winning is not important at this stage but cohesion and improvement

So if we get bumped out but the players use that as an opportunity to get stronger, its mission accomplished

Its this fixation on a "W" that perpetuates the temptation to cheat

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 9:57 pm
by bret- hart
bret- hart wrote:

USA is just as good as any African team, they could easily make semi finals in the AFCON should they play in it. Somehow we have adopted an unearned form of European like condescension. No African team has had a better World Cup campaign than them. We can't expect for evening kickabouts via Obalende to match up to the programs Weah, Mendez and Soto have been afforded.

Are you high?? Senegal ,Ghana and Cameroon have done better than USA at the world cup. We should be beating US at every level bar the women's team. This is like Nigeria beating them in Basketball. You think if that happens they will just fold their arms in resignation. No they would be embarrassed and rightly so. We have players that are more skilled stronger, faster, smarter that they are in Mbaise local govt alone. We ought to be ashamed that we lost to them in such a fashion and if the NFF were serious, an inquest would have begun already.