FRANCE U-20 WOHWOH PASS OUR OWN

US dey score dem 3-2 :dream:
Re: FRANCE U-20 WOHWOH PASS OUR OWN

Useless French sissys

France actually outplayed the US but football is a cruel game of chances!

we defeated a bunch of pros :thumbs: :thumbs:

...so US beating Nigeria, we no need cry then :tic:

The French team is actually one of the best in this tournament but they met their match today against a USA team missing two key players. Let guys keep sleeping on the USA with the obsolete views of how ISA is not a soccer playing nation. This USA team has to be respected for this technical and tactical ability.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Ekorian wrote:France actually outplayed the US but football is a cruel game of chances!
Same as Nigeria “outplaying” Senegal?
Football comes down to taking your chances.

Enugu II wrote:The French team is actually one of the best in this tournament but they met their match today against a USA team missing two key players. Let guys keep sleeping on the USA with the obsolete views of how ISA is not a soccer playing nation. This USA team has to be respected for this technical and tactical ability.
...people said that pre 1994 world cup, and the years thereafter.
Even at the 2002 wc the shocked everyone.
What they lack in raw talent they compensate at serious training, good logistics, and grooming.

Ekorian wrote:France actually outplayed the US but football is a cruel game of chances!
...yup, final 3rd killed us off.
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

The entire 95min was played at very very very snail pace.
US slowed down the game to tortoise speed playing defensive, & stayed in their own half most of the 95min.

Enugu II wrote:The French team is actually one of the best in this tournament but they met their match today against a USA team missing two key players. Let guys keep sleeping on the USA with the obsolete views of how ISA is not a soccer playing nation. This USA team has to be respected for this technical and tactical ability.
What they lack in raw talent they compensate at serious training, good logistics, and grooming.
mcal,

The USA has talented players ooo! That narrative of lacking raw talent just isn't true. I have a son who was part of the academy and there were kids with similar kinds of skill that you will find in Nigeria. Several are hispanic kids and those with parents from Africa. Several of these kids have been playing very early in their growth. To me, the establishment of the academy training program by Klinsmann is now churning out very good players. The test is 2026 at the WC which will be taking place in the USA. The USA team must be respected because I guarantee you that they are getting to the point where they are confident playing anyone -- Brazil, France, Argentina, you name them. They will be that confident. Those sleeping on them are simply not realizing that the narrative has LONG CHANGED.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Say what?
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

Oguleftie wrote:The entire 95min was played at very very very snail pace.
US slowed down the game to tortoise speed playing defensive, & stayed in their own half most of the 95min.
FIFA should just cancel the tournament; this is ridiculous.

mcal,

The USA has talented players ooo! That narrative of lacking raw talent just isn't true. I have a son who was part of the academy and there were kids with similar kinds of skill that you will find in Nigeria. Several are hispanic kids and those with parents from Africa. Several of these kids have been playing very early in their growth. To me, the establishment of the academy training program by Klinsmann is now churning out very good players. The test is 2026 at the WC which will be taking place in the USA. The USA team must be respected because I guarantee you that they are getting to the point where they are confident playing anyone -- Brazil, France, Argentina, you name them. They will be that confident. Those sleeping on them are simply not realizing that the narrative has LONG CHANGED.
Preach on Prof.

And no one will out-prepare them.

I think what TXJ proposed years ago will come to pass in the US... they will have Offensive coordinators, Midfield Coordinators and Defensive Coordinators pretty soon.

Ps., Do you read the Washington Post sports section? Nna, I weak when they give updates on "How the Yanks Abroad are doing". Didn't know they had that many pros playing outside the country.

paj wrote:US dey score dem 3-2 :dream:
Of all the noises people made here about France, they lost to the USA. Hmm, ...
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

mcal wrote:...so US beating Nigeria, we no need cry then :tic:

Please, go tell dis 2 airwolex!!!!!!!! :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: Eem dey misyarn.

So can we conclude that the French teams are unorganized, badly coached, and their FA incompetent?
Whenever a Naija team loses, many here are quick to rubbish the team and all concerned without acknowledging
that we are in competition with the opposition. We tend to unrealistically believe that things should go our way every
time.
The only thing I expect from my team is to 'show up' and be competitive. Winning is just the icing.
The FE tried and lost, and we just need to sharpen our preparations for the next contest.

Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

:thumb: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: Say no more.
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

The French team should have walked off the field in the 1st half.
FIFA should just cancel the tournament; this is ridiculous.

mcal,

Preach on Prof.

I think what TXJ proposed years ago will come to pass in the US... they will have Offensive coordinators, Midfield Coordinators and Defensive Coordinators pretty soon.

Ps., Do you read the Washington Post sports section? Nna, I weak when they give updates on "How the Yanks Abroad are doing". Didn't know they had that many pros playing outside the country.
Cell,

Yea, there are several youngsters overseas looking to break through. IMHO, USA is at the brink of becoming one of the major soccer nations. Consider the huge number of kids who are participating in youth soccer on an annual basis, the academy program, and the regular short-term camps set up for various age groups. The point is that they have a plan and they are dedicated to it and there is a huge pool of talented players developing.
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

mcal,

I keep telling people this. :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

mcal,

Preach on Prof.

Cell,

Yea, there are several youngsters overseas looking to break through. IMHO, USA is at the brink of becoming one of the major soccer nations. Consider the huge number of kids who are participating in youth soccer on an annual basis, the academy program, and the regular short-term camps set up for various age groups. The point is that they have a plan and they are dedicated to it and there is a huge pool of talented players developing.
As a very close follower of the entire US teams (team with an "S"), that statement is not true.

joao wrote:So can we conclude that the French teams are unorganized, badly coached, and their FA incompetent?
Whenever a Naija team loses, many here are quick to rubbish the team and all concerned without acknowledging
that we are in competition with the opposition. We tend to unrealistically believe that things should go our way every
time.
The only thing I expect from my team is to 'show up' and be competitive. Winning is just the icing.
The FE tried and lost, and we just need to sharpen our preparations for the next contest.
The French team was actually the better team today but USA was no slouch either. The point is that Nigeria played poorly in several games and it was clear. Most of the domination that people attribute to our U20 came when other teams were simply attempting to protect their lead or advantage and not before. That context matters. BTW, I watched USA lose to Ukraine and the result just did not do justice to how USA outplayed the Ukrainians. That game should have been at least 2-0 to the USA but soccer results can be cruel, as someone already pointed out.