What are our chances?

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 7:55 pm
by imehjunior
During our 2013 win can't remember who listed why he felt we will win.
He listed the opposition were not at their best amongst other reason for why he felt we will win.
Please can the person kindly state our chances this time around.

Re: What are our chances?

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:07 pm
by Lolly
Our biggest problem is lack of goals which we saw at the world cup. If we make it out of the group, we should make semis.

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:15 pm
by vancity eagle
My top 5 picks in order

1. Senegal
2. Nigeria
3. Morocco
4. Egypt
5. CIV

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:29 pm
by Odas
Lolly wrote:Our biggest problem is lack of goals which we saw at the world cup. If we make it out of the group, we should make semis.
Whaaaaat? Lolly, na wetin? If we make it out of the group? If we don't make it out of the group, not only
should the coach be fired, but the players should be BANNED from playing for us in their lifetime

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:41 pm
by imehjunior
Lolly wrote:Our biggest problem is lack of goals which we saw at the world cup. If we make it out of the group, we should make semis.
I believe we will make it out of the group. It's after that I pray for our world cup qualifiers kind of efficiency.

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:55 am
by Tobi17
If Rohr goes with a 4-4-2 formation, we should be able to score goals with the attacking talents we have...our only major problem will be a biting lack of creativity in the midfield... so all our attacks will have to come from the wings.

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:35 am
by 9jaMan
imehjunior wrote:During our 2013 win can't remember who listed why he felt we will win.
He listed the opposition were not at their best amongst other reason for why he felt we will win.

The SE will win the nations cup, the combination of experienced midfielders and fast tricky attackers will be unstoppable. Rohr is lucky to be at the SE job at a time like this. The SE will also be hard to score against and I will give rohr the credit for that. Simple and plain

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:13 am
Tobi17 wrote:If Rohr goes with a 4-4-2 formation, we should be able to score goals with the attacking talents we have...our only major problem will be a biting lack of creativity in the midfield... so all our attacks will have to come from the wings.
Delusional de grandeur...The SE wont even make it past the 2nd round..4 games and out.

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:46 am
by Damunk
9jaMan wrote:
imehjunior wrote:During our 2013 win can't remember who listed why he felt we will win.

The SE will win the nations cup, the combination of experienced midfielders and fast tricky attackers will be unstoppable. Rohr is lucky to be at the SE job at a time like this. The SE will also be hard to score against and I will give rohr the credit for that. Simple and plain
Some people will tell you that you make your own luck. You can have all the talent in the world at your disposal but first you have to identify and choose them.

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:49 am
by Damunk
Whaaaaat? Lolly, na wetin? If we make it out of the group? If we don't make it out of the group, not only
should the coach be fired, but the players should be BANNED from playing for us in their lifetime
Sacking the coach is still understandable but banning the players?
That's what we used to do in prehistoric times! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 8:10 am
by Damunk
With a breakdown of the other main contenders like Senegal, Egypt, Morocco, Ivory Coast etc

Meanwhile, here are the odds according to one website https://www.sportytrader.com/en/betting ... afcon-507/

Who will win AFCON 2019?
Egypt - 7/2
Ghana - 5/1
Nigeria - 6/1
Senegal - 13/2
Ivory Coast - 7/1

Algeria - 8/1
Morocco - 8/1
Tunisia - 12/1
Cameroon - 14/1
Mali - 14/1

DR Congo - 20/1
South Africa - 25/1
Guinea - 33/1
Angola - 50/1
Benin - 66/1

Guinea Bissau - 66/1
Uganda - 66/1
Zimbabwe - 100/1
Kenya - 125/1
Madagascar - 150/1

Burundi - 200/1
Tanzania - 200/1
Mauritiana - 250/1
Namibia - 250/1

And another... https://www.wincomparator.com/predictio ... a/can-507/
Egypt - odds of 4/1
Nigeria - odds of 13/2
Senegal - odds of 7/1
Algeria - odds of 8/1
Ivory Coast - odds of 8/1

Ghana - odds of 8/1
Tunisia - odds of 12/1
Morocco - odds of 12/1
Cameroon - odds of 14/1
Mali - odds of 16/1

DR Congo - odds of 22/1
South Africa - odds of 25/1
Guinea - odds of 33/1
Guinea-Bissau - odds of 66/1
Benin - odds of 66/1

Angola - odds of 66/1
Uganda - odds of 66/1
Zimbabwe - odds of 100/1
Kenya - odds of 125/1
Madagascar - odds of 150/1

Burundi - odds of 200/1
Tanzania - odds of 200/1
Namibia - odds of 200/1
Mauritiana - odds of 250/1

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:52 am
by ANC
Wow, one has Ghana making it to the finals while beating SE in route...

So Ghana could make it 5 before Nigeria. Man, that would be too hard on Bigpokey

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 4:33 am
ANC wrote:Wow, one has Ghana making it to the finals while beating SE in route...

So Ghana could make it 5 before Nigeria. Man, that would be too hard on Bigpokey
We know u are ghanian

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 8:12 pm
by Rawlings
ANC wrote:Wow, one has Ghana making it to the finals while beating SE in route...

The odd makers can see things

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 7:43 am
by Aswani
We have the best central midfield partnership in the tournament (Etebo and Ndidi), we just need to build around them and we would be Ok.

The attack with Ighalo leading it is pathetic, he needs to tell the rest of his team his strengths (if he has any) and they need to play to it.

The defence is Ok, we conceeded with two mistakes, not the end of the world.

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 7:49 am
by Rawlings
Aswani wrote:We have the best central midfield partnership in the tournament (Etebo and Ndidi),
Says who?
A division 2 player partnering a middle of the EPL league is the best in Africa?
God forbid bad thing

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 10:46 am
Tobi17 wrote:If Rohr goes with a 4-4-2 formation, we should be able to score goals with the attacking talents we have...our only major problem will be a biting lack of creativity in the midfield... so all our attacks will have to come from the wings.
Delusional de grandeur...The SE wont even make it past the 2nd round..4 games and out.
One game left..what do they say about a prophet? I warned you son, but you constantly disrespected me. because you were in your feelings

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:17 am
by Aswani
Aswani wrote:We have the best central midfield partnership in the tournament (Etebo and Ndidi),
Says who?
A division 2 player partnering a middle of the EPL league is the best in Africa?
God forbid bad thing
Humour me then, which central midfield partnership is better?

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:24 am
by Otitokoro
Nigeria plays 2F (meaning Ghana or Cameroon).
IF they manage to scrap through that hurdle, Egypt awaits in the Quarter Finals.
No way Nigeria wins that game !!
Stick a fork in Nigeria, she is done!

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:30 am
by Zelex
Otitokoro wrote:Nigeria plays 2F (meaning Ghana or Cameroon).
IF the manage to scrap through that hurdle, Egypt awaits in the Quarter Finals.
Never say never. It is not that far-fetched. One bad game doesn't make the SE a bad team.

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:40 am
by kajifu
Otitokoro wrote:Nigeria plays 2F (meaning Ghana or Cameroon).
IF they manage to scrap through that hurdle, Egypt awaits in the Quarter Finals.
Dude have you watch the other teams play?Tell me how are they better than SE?Egypt is where they are simple because they are the host nothing else.

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:43 am
Cameroon, ghana and Egypt will beat the crap out of a no scoring Rorh...kai emotionally men..