AFCON STRONGEST 11

Somebody just mentioned in another thread that SE are the strongest AFrican side on paper, but I strongly disagree.

Senegal is the best team on paper. They are the favourites.

I will rank the teams in the following areas (Defence, midfield, attack, Goalkeepers)

But I think this is a first 11 of the top players. On paper.

************************************ONANA(CAM)******************************************

AURIER(CIV)***********KOULIBALY(SEN)**********BENATIA(MOR)********************HAKIMI(MOR)

****************************NDIDI(NIG)******PARTEY(GHA)***********************************

*************************************ZIYECH(MOR)*****************************************

SALAH (EGY)*********************************************************************MANE(SEN)

****************************************PEPE (CIV)***************************************
Re: AFCON STRONGEST 11

Why not let them play before awarding titles?

List looks about right.
No particularly dominant squad as your selections show.
I also agree Senegal are the best squad, although I think I’d make Egypt the favourites based on their pedigree at home.
Then I think it’s Nigeria, Morocco, CIV and Cameroon in that order.
Nigeria’s advantage is a relatively settled squad with a fine mix of experience and youth.
The nations cup often surprises, with favourites rarely winning. This one might be the most open competition ever

Very in point, though I'll put Mahrez ahead of Pepe since he's more experienced.

waka-man wrote:List looks about right.
No particularly dominant squad as your selections show.
I also agree Senegal are the best squad, although I think I’d make Egypt the favourites based on their pedigree at home.
Then I think it’s Nigeria, Morocco, CIV and Cameroon in that order.
Nigeria’s advantage is a relatively settled squad with a fine mix of experience and youth.
The nations cup often surprises, with favourites rarely winning. This one might be the most open competition ever
Senegal is stacked in all departments with world class to very good players... How they haven't won an AFCON yet is almost a travesty, but then such is the level of competition in African football.

Top 10 Goalkeepers

1. Cameroon
2. Senegal
3. Morocco
4. Uganda
5. Egypt
6. Tunisia
7. Algeria
8. Ghana
9. CIV
10. Nigeria

Top 10 Defence

1. Senegal
2. Nigeria
3. Morocco
4. Egypt
5. Tunisia
6. Cameroon
7. Algeria
8. R Congo
9. Ghana
10. CIV

Top 10 Midfield

1. Nigeria
2. CIV
3. Morocco
4. Senegal
5. Ghana
6. Tunisia
7. Mali
8. Algeria
9. Cameroon
10. Egypt

Top 10 Attack

1. CIV
2. Senegal
3. Nigeria
4. Algeria
5. Morocco
6. Egypt
7. Tunisia
8. Cameroon
9. Ghana
10. Mali

Pepe is a winger, going by performance. Highest goal scorer in qualifications, and banging in goals for his cub. Ighalo should be in the first 11.

Only Cameroon have a better Goalkeeper than Nigeria.
Last edited by ohenhen1 on Sat Jun 15, 2019 12:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

vancity eagle wrote:Top 10 Goalkeepers

1. Cameroon
2. Senegal
3. Morocco
4. Uganda
5. Egypt
6. Tunisia
7. Algeria
8. Ghana
9. CIV
10. Nigeria

Top 10 Defence

1. Senegal
2. Nigeria
3. Morocco
4. Egypt
5. Tunisia
6. Cameroon
7. Algeria
8. R Congo
9. Ghana
10. CIV

Top 10 Midfield

1. Nigeria
2. CIV
3. Morocco
4. Senegal
5. Ghana
6. Tunisia
7. Mali
8. Algeria
9. Cameroon
10. Egypt

Top 10 Attack

1. CIV
2. Senegal
3. Nigeria
4. Algeria
5. Morocco
6. Egypt
7. Tunisia
8. Cameroon
9. Ghana
10. Mali
no Guinea in any of your top tens? their midfield and attack is top ten worthy.

vancity eagle wrote:Somebody just mentioned in another thread that SE are the strongest AFrican side on paper, but I strongly disagree.

I will rank the teams in the following areas (Defence, midfield, attack, Goalkeepers)

************************************ONANA(CAM)******************************************

AURIER(CIV)***********KOULIBALY(SEN)**********BENATIA(MOR)********************HAKIMI(MOR)

****************************NDIDI(NIG)******PARTEY(GHA)***********************************

*************************************ZIYECH(MOR)*****************************************

SALAH (EGY)*********************************************************************MANE(SEN)

****************************************PEPE (CIV)***************************************
This overrated one season wonder is still getting mentions because he plays for Juventus' bench? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

I'll consider the likes of Nkoulou, Matip, Mandi and perhaps, Bastos before him sef. Togo and Gambia did not qualify so, I cant fault you for not including Djene or Colley above this clown.
Last edited by danfo driver on Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Tobi17 wrote:Very in point, though I'll put Mahrez ahead of Pepe since he's more experienced.
We can also put Akpeyi ahead of Onana. He has more experience. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Mahrez cannot touch Pepe this season.

vancity eagle wrote:Somebody just mentioned in another thread that SE are the strongest AFrican side on paper, but I strongly disagree.

The Morocco boy at Ajax is better than Aurier.